Watching Spiderman 3 on Mother’s Day

May 13, 2007 at 11:54 pm 36 comments

Spiderman 3Don’t worry.  There are no spoilers here.

I wanted to wait til next week (long week-end) to see Spiderman 3, but my 12-year old son, Ryan, wanted to watch it now.  Most of his friends at school have already seen it and I guess he couldn’t wait to tell them what he thinks about it.  My nine-year old, Ryland, was also excited to see it and so was I.  I was so intrigued by this Venom character and the black Spiderman suit.  I wasn’t sure if my 17-year old, Reggie, wanted to come with us, but he did.

So we agreed to watch it today.  And since it’s Mother’s Day, I thought that it’s a nice way to spend the day out with the kids.  I did ask their dad if he wanted to come, “Naku, wala akong hilig manuod ng sine,” was his reply as usual.  He didn’t want to go.

I looked at the entertainment section of the paper last night to check the show times at the Famous Players at Kildonan Place.  11:40 am, 12:00 noon, 3:00 pm, etc.  Why not go at the earlier showing? I thought.  This way, we’d also be done early and we could still do some of our Sunday chores and relax a bit after. 

Ryan’s initial reaction was he didn’t want to go at 12:00.  “What time will we eat lunch then?”  He asked.  “We’ll have a heavy breakfast,” I said.  “We’ll eat rice and I’ll cook eggs and hotdogs. It will be a combination of breakfast and lunch.  It’s called brunch.”  It took a couple of hours before I finally convinced him.  “Then we’ll have brunch,” I said.  “What about lupper?  For lunch and supper.” Now he was being funny.

We had brunch this morning.  And while we were taking turns in the shower, I asked Ryland to wash the dishes.  This is our schedule for washing dishes on Sundays:

Morning: Ryland
Noon: Ryan
Evening: Reggie

I don’t know if Ryan pointed it out to him, but Ryland came to me and said that he didn’t want to do the dishes because his Kuya Ryan won’t be doing his turn since we wouldn’t be home at lunch.  He thought that it’s not fair. 

So you see all the hassle we have to go through when we want to go out and see a movie?  Before I could get back to Ryland, I heard his dad doing the dishes in the kitchen.  That saved me from facing this “mini-dilemma.”

Their dad drove us to Kildonan Place.  We bought our tickets and the overpriced popcorn and drinks.  This is the damage:

Four tickets at $8.50 each = $34.00
Two large popcorns (we had to share) plus 4 drinks: Orange Kool-aid slushie, Sprite, Nestea, bottled water = $28.39

Total = $62.39.  This is Canadian dollars (or US $55.00).

This is the reason why we seldom go to the movies.  It’s so pricey.  We go to the movies only once or twice a year.  Unlike in the Philippines where people can go see Spiderman 3 up to three or more times.  If we want to see it again, we’d just have to wait for the DVD release.

When we got out of the theatre, I asked the boys if they liked the movie.

“Yes,” Ryland said happily.

“It was just okay,” was Ryan’s reply.

Which part of the movie did they like the best?

They both like the part where Jameson had to take his pills and also when he bought the camera from the girl for $100.  You know, the funny parts.

Ryland also likes the scene at the church tower when Peter was trying to separate the black substance from himself.  But he was sad at the end when you know who died.

Ryan likes that there are more fighting scenes.  He likes the scene when Peter caged Venom with the steel bars and he made that sound imitating the ringing bell from the church tower.

I asked Reggie if they went to that jazz club in New York, the one that was in the movie.  He said no.  And I wonder if it is an actual jazz club or if they just made that up.

I like the plotline that transforms Peter into his dark side and vengeful personality.  Because don’t we all have that?  Well, not the vengeful part.  But don’t we all have a dark side?

I’ve read quite a few bad reviews about the movie.  But I enjoyed it, the movie, I mean.  I was already hooked on the opening credits alone.  I like how they showed scenes from the two previous movies on pieces of broken glass.  I thought that was cool.  I enjoyed watching the main characters mature.  They were just in high school in the first Spiderman movie.  And now they are adults trying to fit in into the real world.  It was also fun watching the lovable Topher Grace (most popularly known as Eric Foreman from That 70’s Show).  And I just love the very cool spectacular effects.  But then again, mababaw lang ang kaligayahan ko.  I’m very easy to please.

My favourite quotes from Spiderman 3:

Aunt May to Peter: Uncle Ben wouldn’t want us living with revenge in our hearts, it’s like a poison. It can take you over and turn us into something ugly.

Aunt May to Peter: Before you can begin fixing anything, you must first start by doing the hardest thing… forgiving yourself.

MJ to Peter: That was our kiss!

Man in Times Square to Peter: You know, I guess one person really can make a difference… (then he pats Peter on the shoulder) ‘Nuff said!

Aunt May to Peter: You must be ready to put her before yourself. Are you ready to do that Peter?

Peter: I don’t need your help.
MJ: Everybody needs help. Even Spider-Man.

Peter: No matter what comes our way. No matter what battle we have raging inside of us, we always have a choice. My friend Harry taught me that. He chose to be the best of himself. Our choices are what make us who we are. And we always have the choice to do what’s right.

Photo courtesy of Yahoo! Movies

Entry filed under: Books, movies, music, TV, Special Occasions. Tags: .

Of May flowers and mothers My favourite reality show contestants

36 Comments Add your own

  • 1. ladybug  |  May 14, 2007 at 12:21 am

    It’s really expensive to watch movies nowadays. Aside from the tickets, there’s also popcorn and drinks. Watching a movie will not be complete without popcorn.😀 And of course, it’s difficult to enjoy if you’re watching alone. What if a family of 8 wants to watch a movie? Grabe, ang mahal na nun. And “lupper”? Haha, Ryan is funny.

    Reply
  • 2. Wil  |  May 14, 2007 at 2:14 am

    We also had problems with the dishwashing chores when i was a kid. I think we solved the problem when we got a dishwasher… the mechanical device, that is. 😀

    you’re right about the expensive movie prices along with the concession-stand food. It’s more like a rip-off so I tend to avoid buying any food, although nacho chips do sound tempting. 😀 As for the movie, i’ll probably wait for the DVD.

    Reply
  • 3. Chateau  |  May 14, 2007 at 5:26 am

    We also went to see Spiderman on Mother’s Day. It was more a treat for the kids, but we had fun. It was a good movie. Movies here now cost a lot too – p160 compared to p90 a few years ago. But yes, it’s still a lot cheaper here than there!

    LOL @ turuan blues on who does the dishes. We used to be like that too when we were kids. haha

    Reply
  • 4. Toe  |  May 14, 2007 at 6:31 am

    Happy Mother’s Day Niceheart! I think the cost of your bonding with your 3 wonderful sons was well worth it. 🙂 Kami nga… when we want to watch a movie, kasama ang plane ticket and hotel to Bangkok sa budget. 🙂

    Reply
  • 5. vic  |  May 14, 2007 at 7:38 am

    happy mother’s day niceheart!! exactly what my sister did with her two sons and daughter and of course the driver, dad , watched spiderman (only one son, the other can’t wait) the night before cuz mother’s day happens to be her B-day too. and they have a wonderful weather in northern california by the bay area…

    Reply
  • 6. pining  |  May 14, 2007 at 8:24 am

    Nice way to celebrate mother’s day🙂
    Yes, it’s too dear to go to the movies nowadays– we also prefer watching films on DVD, either rented or bought
    My husband ‘s suppose to watch that film but reading the reviews, he opted not to; that’s the trouble with those reviews, it spoils the excitement… oh well, as long as you enjoyed it, that’s the most important thing!
    I like the sound of “lupper” too🙂

    Reply
  • 7. Kyels  |  May 14, 2007 at 11:23 am

    I wish I was back home to celebrate Mother’s Day with my Mommy but due to exams I could not go home.

    But I am glad that you guys had fun!

    Will be waiting to watch Spidey 3 … Hehehe!

    Reply
  • 8. Belle  |  May 14, 2007 at 1:04 pm

    my daughter and I watched Spiderman, too last night. it was good, though, not my type of movie. i was hoping that the press guy would not die. i thought Harry is cuter than Peter, don’t you think?

    you remembered all those lines word for word? you are amazing!

    Reply
  • 9. haze  |  May 14, 2007 at 2:46 pm

    My husband and son went to see the movie last week and I stayed with my 2 yrs old daughter. Imagine they only paid 10 euros sila ng dalawa yon ha kasi maaga silang nanuod ! But normally, 10 euros /person minimum at depende pa sa sinehan ! Mahal na talaga ata kahit saan, anyway, worth it naman ! Mom and children bonding kayo😉 ! That’s is a very sweet way to celebrate Mother’s day ! Next week I will probably watch it🙂 !

    Reply
  • 10. ernesto  |  May 14, 2007 at 9:33 pm

    Ive been so excited about the S3

    Reply
  • 11. JO  |  May 14, 2007 at 10:41 pm

    I rarely watch movies in the theater too… way too expensive.

    though i’ve been wanting to watch spiderman 3 in the theater, my husband decided to just use the money to buy patio table and chairs for our BBQ get together last weekend.

    I guess I will have to wait till we can download the movie from the internet. “,)

    Reply
  • 12. niceheart  |  May 14, 2007 at 11:14 pm

    Ladybug, my children don’t see the point of going to the movies without the popcorn.🙂

    Wil, I was also eyeing the nacho chips when we bought our popcorn and drinks. They are indeed very tempting. As for the dishwasher, this is my reasoning: I already have three, so why buy the machine?

    Chateau, going to the movies is also a treat for us, not just for the kids, but for me as well.🙂

    Reply
  • 13. niceheart  |  May 14, 2007 at 11:20 pm

    Toe, watching Spiderman 3 = $62.39, bonding with the kids = priceless. Parang yung commercial ng VISA ba yon ?🙂

    Thank you for the greetings, Vic. It must be nice to live in California huh?

    Pining, it’s really getting expensive to go to the movies. Even just going out to the mall. You’re always tempted to buy something and sometimes can’t help to eat out too. Everything is expensive. Hay!

    Reply
  • 14. niceheart  |  May 14, 2007 at 11:25 pm

    That’s too bad, kyels. But at least you got to talk with her on the phone. Goodluck on the exams.

    Oh no, belle. I didn’t memorize them. I was looking up on the internet Peter’s last words (the one about choices) and I found the other quotes from the movie too. So I just picked out my favourite ones. I still think Peter is cuter. But that’s me, I’m a nerdy kind of girl kasi.🙂

    Reply
  • 15. niceheart  |  May 14, 2007 at 11:31 pm

    Haze, that’s called the matinee. Minsan naka-tiyempo din kami. Half price lang ang ticket. Ang hirap talaga kapag maliliit pa ang mga anak mo ano? Salitan kayong mag-asawa sa paglabas ng bahay. I’ve been there too.

    Ernesto, it’s all worth the excitement.🙂

    Jo, a patio table and chairs is a good exchange for watching the movie. You can always watch it later naman.🙂

    Reply
  • 16. watson  |  May 15, 2007 at 12:20 am

    Inay, ang mahal manood ng sine dyan…. at least hindi ka na tulad ng mga nagbabakasyon dyan. Pag nalaman kung magkano, calculate agad sa pesos. hehehe. Kung ganun, baka di na kayo nakapanood.

    Belated happy mother’s day!

    Reply
  • 17. tin  |  May 15, 2007 at 12:46 am

    Wow, the movie is so expensive. Better watch here in the philippines. Each movie ticket is only 150php or $3.

    I also love the quotes there. Happy mother’s day niceheart.🙂

    Reply
  • 18. Ms Fair Face  |  May 15, 2007 at 3:05 am

    ah I wanna watch but almost all the time the tickets are sold out at the cinemas!! Here in singapore, each ticket on a weekend is SGD10 per person.

    Reply
  • 19. Lazarus  |  May 15, 2007 at 4:06 am

    I haven’t watched spidey 3 pa.

    anyway, belated happy Mother’s Day, niceheart!

    Reply
  • 20. Ferdz  |  May 15, 2007 at 9:30 am

    Grabe! Ang mahal pala ng sinehan dyan. parang 3 ticket na sa isang price dito. I have’t seen spiderman yet din, though I still plan to see it soon din. It’s nice din that you guys spent a quality time together there. Belated mothers day to you!😀

    Reply
  • 21. Joy  |  May 15, 2007 at 5:59 pm

    Belated Happy Mother’s day to you!!!
    Been lurking for the most part lately. Just too busy to bloghop nowadays.

    We don’t go to the movies too often either because of the steep price.

    Reply
  • 22. Major Tom  |  May 15, 2007 at 9:20 pm

    Spiderman 3 was a spectacular event,likeit had a phenomenal opening day. Everyone seems to be talking about it,in the sidewalks,in malls, in every public places. The last time I remember such kind of happenstance was when E.T. was about to be shown. So much excitement in the air.

    I hope perhaps that it had lived to its expectations….My kids were so excited that they couldnt wait for it to come into the movies that they asked their mom to get some pirated copy. Which was so muddled and bad thatInever wanted to see it.

    Reply
  • 23. ann  |  May 15, 2007 at 11:55 pm

    Mahal nga , kaya nga mas practical na mag dvd na lang, kaya pala ayaw sumama ni daddy (isa pala ito sa mga opposite ni kd no?) Pero oks lang once in a while para sa family bonding.

    Reply
  • 24. tutubi  |  May 16, 2007 at 2:15 am

    dito mura nga lang movies (saka DVDs)🙂

    saw spidey just last saturday (avoided the inital “me first” attitude of people to watch the movie

    i ended up narrating missing pieces in the story since my companions were not knowledgeable in the first 2 installments of the movie

    Reply
  • 25. verns  |  May 17, 2007 at 1:59 am

    Niceheart that man in Times Square is actually Stan Lee…the creator of Spiderman🙂

    Anyway I felt bad giving a spoiler..I hope it didn’t really “spoil” the moment. I’m glad you like it.

    Ang mahal pala jan. Kami thrice nanood..imagine…then if you want to buy the pirated dvd copy, PhP50 lang binebenta ng mga pirates dito hehe Hayyy. But I believe it’s all worth it🙂 Glad you had a good time.

    Reply
  • 26. niceheart  |  May 17, 2007 at 8:09 pm

    Thanks for the greetings Watson. Tagal ko na kasi dito kaya hindi ko na alam mag-convert sa pesos. But now that you mentioned it, I just might start calculating and then lalo na akong hindi manood ng sine. he he he.

    Thanks, but no thanks Tin. Going back there is much more expensive, so I’ll just watch my movies here.🙂

    That’s too bad, Ms Fair Face. Then I guess it would also be better for you if you just wait for the DVD.

    Reply
  • 27. niceheart  |  May 17, 2007 at 8:16 pm

    Thank you Lazarus.🙂
    Thank you for the greetings Ferdz. Now pinag-iisip nyo na talaga ako. So my four tickets pala was like paying for 12 tickets there. Wah!
    Joy, thank you. I think I greeted you already. Same here, I’ve cut down on bloghopping because I’ve also been too busy.
    Major Tom, yes, Spiderman 3 is quite a phenomenon, breaking box office records. I guess it takes a while for movies to get there in your place. I don’t think I would also enjoy watching a muddled copy of a movie. Better wait for it in the theatre.

    Reply
  • 28. niceheart  |  May 17, 2007 at 8:21 pm

    Totoo nga ann. Kaya marami rin dito ang bihira na ring manood ng sine.

    Tutubi, sometimes DVDs can also be expensive. I usually wait for them to go on sale. I hope you didn’t annoy people at the cinema when you were narrating to your companions.🙂

    Thanks for that piece of info, Verns. It’s alright with your spoiler. People do it all the time. There are spoilers all over the internet. And it can’t just be avoided. I am one of those who wants to be surprised.🙂 But I still enjoyed the movie. So don’t worry about it.🙂

    Reply
  • 29. Jayred  |  May 18, 2007 at 12:42 pm

    Belated Happy Mother’s Day, Niceheart!

    We were supposed to watch Spider-Man 3 last week, but decided not to at the last minute. My sister said kasi it was not that nice. And there were some bad reviews I read online. But maybe I’ll watch it just the same since you seemed to like it.

    A movie ticket here in Switzerland costs around USD14.00 per person.

    Reply
  • 30. niceheart  |  May 18, 2007 at 9:21 pm

    Thank you for the greetings, Jayred. People have different reactions on Spiderman 3. But I enjoyed it.🙂

    Whoa! Movie tickets there cost a fortune.🙂 And here I am complaining with our $8.50.🙂

    Reply
  • 31. Daphne  |  May 18, 2007 at 10:14 pm

    I liked Spidey 3. It was entertaining enough for me. Not really my genre of film. I guess the best part was that I had a movie date so that was a cool treat.😉

    Reply
  • […] post by niceheart Share and Enjoy: These icons link to social bookmarking sites where readers can share and […]

    Reply
  • 33. niceheart  |  May 21, 2007 at 12:16 am

    Daphne, I think a movie date is always a cool treat.🙂

    Reply
  • 34. Arthur  |  May 25, 2007 at 5:54 am

    I have loved Spiderman and Spiderman 3 established my fanaticism to it. Spiderman movies do not only give us the actions and thrills. The best thing I love about it is that it never failed to give bits of life lessons. What movie. superhero movie at the least, tried to tackle the ‘considerations’ of marriage? It is really cool! God bless Spiderman.😀

    Reply
  • 35. niceheart  |  May 28, 2007 at 12:24 am

    Hi Arthur. Thanks for dropping by. I think the other superhero movies also give us bits of life lessons. But yeah, I think you’re right. So far, Spiderman is only the one that has tackled “considerations” of marriage.

    Reply
  • 36. Watching Spiderman 3 on Mother’s Day « My Movie Room  |  July 10, 2007 at 4:02 pm

    […] Read the rest of this entry. […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tweet!


