Of May flowers and mothers

May 11, 2007 at 10:55 pm 24 comments

After seeing a few childhood photos (for their Photo Hunt) in some of the blogs that I visited recently, I’m feeling a bit nostalgic.  And so I am re-posting this entry that I have written two years ago.

1977

May is one of my favourite months. It is the month when flowers start to bloom. And yes, it is getting greener here in Winnipeg. Not only is May the month in which we celebrate Mother’s Day, I celebrate my birthday in May, as well.

A celebrity once said, “A birthday is something between you and your mom, whoever you are in the world.” I couldn’t agree more.

Although my birthday is still a couple of weeks away, let me share with you the circumstances of my birth.

Mama was in labour with me for three days. I was a breach baby and had to be delivered by C-Section. Surgery cost a lot of money and my parents were not rich.  It took Papa three days to come up with the required hospital fee. My poor mother suffered labour pains for three long agonizing days before I was born. When I was a little girl, she would show me the long vertical scar on her stomach and she would tell me how I was born. So, you see, as a young girl, I was already aware of the suffering that my mother went through just to have me. But that doesn’t compare to the challenges that she had to deal with when she decided to leave an abusive relationship and raise sis and me as a single parent.

Seeking for greener pastures, Mama left the Philippines to work here in Canada in 1980. She left sis and me with relatives. It was hard on all of us but sis and I understood why she left. Although, being a mother now, I couldn’t imagine leaving my kids – not being there to help them with homework, going to their school activities, graduation, missing their birthdays, not being there every single day. I now realize the unselfish sacrifice my mother did just so that she could put her beloved daughters through college. I now realize the selfish acts both sis and I did back then and how we must have broken Mama’s heart.

It was in May 1989 – a few weeks before my flower birthday* – when I learned that I was pregnant with my first baby. I was 24, unmarried, and confused. Although I was reluctant to leave my beloved partner, my motherly instincts kicked in right away when I learned that my sponsorship paper had finally been approved. It didn’t take me very long to decide whether to leave or not. Life was just so hard back home and I had to think about my baby’s future. I left my partner behind – of course, hoping to sponsor him later – and I was reunited with my mother after nine long years.

*I have learned that a flower birthday is when you turn the age of your date of birth. If you were born on the 12th of the month, you have your flower birthday on your 12th birthday.

1980s

–    end     of      post   –    

HAPPY MOTHER’S DAY to ALL THE MOMS out there.  Special mention to:

– Mama and my sister, Lina

– the moms at Pinoy Moms Network

–  my sis-in-law Khelai, who is a first time mom to my new nephew, Miguel

– my beloved cousin Meann, who’s had a health scare and a tough time this past year, but is sounding very healthy now.

Related links:

In 2005, I’ve written about the birth of each of my three babies.  These posts are all special to me:

“A Special Surprise” – A Labour of Love

Our Small Miracle

The Birth of Our Baby

Entry filed under: About Me, Memory Lane, My life as a mom. Tags: .

C Jam Blues Watching Spiderman 3 on Mother’s Day

24 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Tin  |  May 12, 2007 at 2:24 am

    Happy mother’s day to you niceheart.🙂

    Reply
  • 2. haze  |  May 12, 2007 at 3:51 am

    I can relate co’z my Dad left us to work abroad to earn more (Mom took care of us) ! Dad came back and Mom left to work abroad too and tried helping my father financially (Dad managed to look after us) ! We have parents who think of our future and we understood. My brothers, eldest sister and I think that cooperation and helping each other is the key to success !

    You have touched my heart and I thank you for sharing this wonderful story Niceheart ! Your mother is lucky to have both of you and I am sure she’s a very proud Mom like you ! If not for your Mom’s courage and sacrifices you wouldn’t have gone a long long way ! A mother’s love put you where you are! Hats off to her ! HAPPY MOTHER’S DAY !

    Reply
  • 3. eric aka senor enrique  |  May 12, 2007 at 5:52 am

    Happy Mother’s Day, Irene🙂

    Reply
  • 4. ernesto  |  May 12, 2007 at 6:03 am

    that old photos really caught my attention

    Reply
  • 5. melai  |  May 12, 2007 at 6:57 am

    Happy mother’s day po Irene🙂

    Reply
  • 6. Kyels  |  May 12, 2007 at 10:16 am

    Happy Mother’s Day!

    I gotta wish my mommy, I miss her!

    [:

    Reply
  • 7. JO  |  May 12, 2007 at 11:21 am

    Happy Mother’s day to you Irene!

    Reply
  • 8. annamanila  |  May 12, 2007 at 11:56 am

    That was such a touching story … the difficult times your mom went through, your own birth, your mom leaving you for a while, your own painful decision to leave your partner. Did you get reunited later? I guess ha. 🙂

    That illustrated the struggles we all go through, the difficult decisions, the payoffs.

    So you are suhi, Niceheart. Is it true that breach-babies can relieve bikig or tinik? 🙂

    Reply
  • 9. ann  |  May 12, 2007 at 5:24 pm

    I hope with this post some children will understand why their parents have to leave and work abroad.

    Happy mother’s day Irene!

    Reply
  • 10. Daphne  |  May 12, 2007 at 11:16 pm

    Thanks for sharing with us the story of your birth🙂

    Happy Mother’s Day!

    Reply
  • 11. Belle  |  May 12, 2007 at 11:25 pm

    ahhh, a happy ending story. imagine you and your mother had been separated for 9 years! I don’t think, I can go through it myself. though i have great admiration for your mom. she did it for your future, a better future.

    happy mother’s day Irene!

    Reply
  • 12. Karen  |  May 13, 2007 at 12:08 am

    Happy Mother’s Day!

    Reply
  • 13. ipanema  |  May 13, 2007 at 2:18 am

    Happy Mother’s Day!!!

    Reply
  • 14. bingskee  |  May 13, 2007 at 4:08 am

    you look like your mom. happy mother’s day to you, irene!

    Reply
  • 15. noemi  |  May 13, 2007 at 4:43 am

    Here’s to a job well done. Happy Mom’s day. Enjoy your day.

    Reply
  • 16. kathy  |  May 13, 2007 at 4:48 am

    The pains that we mothers have to go through just to give the best to our children. It’s such a lovely story. I’ve never had the chance to be separated away from my mom at such an early age, but we did have a lot of hardships as a family. My mom worked hard in order for us to survive.

    Happy Mother’s Day to you, niceheart!🙂

    Reply
  • 17. ladybug  |  May 13, 2007 at 10:02 am

    Happy Mother’s Day Niceheart!😀

    Reply
  • 18. Rach (Heart of Rachel)  |  May 13, 2007 at 10:09 am

    Happy Mother’s Day! I admire your mom’s courage and sacrifice for bringing you into this world. It was when I became a mom myself that I learned to appreciate my mother more.

    Thanks for sharing those lovely and memorable photos. It’s nice to remember how our decisions in the past made us into better individuals.

    Reply
  • 19. rhodora  |  May 13, 2007 at 11:08 am

    Happy Mothers Day, Irene!🙂

    Reply
  • 20. Wil  |  May 13, 2007 at 9:19 pm

    Happy Mother’s Day, niceheart. 🙂

    Reply
  • 21. niceheart  |  May 13, 2007 at 11:45 pm

    Thank you for the comments and greetings, everyone.

    Yes, anna. I am suhi. I don’t know about bikig. But yes, my mother would bring people to the house kapag may natinik at ipinapahilot sa akin ang leeg para daw maalis ang tinik. Minsan nga pinapahiran pa ng Vicks. Minsan nga kahit hindi ko kilala yung tao, pinapahilot sa akin. Nawawala naman daw yung tinik. Which I think is gumagalaw lang kapag hinilot ko and then eventually nalulunok din nila. But looking back now, I think anybody can do it, not just the suhi.🙂

    Reply
  • 22. Chateau  |  May 14, 2007 at 5:29 am

    The old photo by a plant! LOL So you had them too… Our folks jsut loved posing by ’em. hehe
    belated happy mother’s day!

    Reply
  • 23. Toe  |  May 14, 2007 at 6:42 am

    You have a very strong and noble mother, NIceheart. Her decision was really brave and saved you and your sister. This is a very beautiful tribute for her.

    Oh, I didn’t know that about flower birthdays.

    Reply
  • 24. tutubi  |  May 16, 2007 at 6:00 am

    quite late but may every day be a mother’s day🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tweet!


