Nostalgia in Times Square

May 7, 2007 at 10:58 pm 14 comments

This is not a Duke Ellington selection.  But this was performed by the River East Collegiate Senior Jazz Band at their Ellington Night Benefit Concert last month.  The proceeds of which helped finance their trip to New York. 

The band also played this Charles Mingus piece at the Optimist Jazz Band Festival in March.

This is how the band director introduced this piece:

This selection is entitled Nostalgia in Times Square.  This is actually right from the Charles Mingus book.  Charles Mingus is one of the most important figures in American music.  One of his earliest influences was actually hearing Duke Ellington on the radio when he was eight years old.  Mingus was the only musician Duke Ellington ever fired.  This happened after a fight with a trombonist during rehearsal.  This tune is Mingus’ reflections from New York when he settled there in 1975.”

This is nine minutes long.  Sorry guys, I didn’t know what part to cut.  I guess I am just excited to share the entire selection with you. And please excuse my shaky hands. 

Thank you to my brother-in-law for patiently teaching me how to transfer my video from my camcorder to my computer.  I know you are busy but you took precious time out to help me.

Next time: An Ellington selection!

Entry filed under: Reggie and his music. Tags: .

Letting go C Jam Blues

14 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kyels  |  May 8, 2007 at 2:25 am

    Damn, nice video!

    [:

    I love Jazz!

    Reply
  • 2. eric aka senor enrique  |  May 8, 2007 at 3:55 am

    I have a slow Internet connection. Have to check this out somewhere else to enjoy it!

    Reply
  • 3. Major Tom  |  May 8, 2007 at 7:08 am

    The piece is good, the boys certainly know their music.

    Reply
  • 4. annamanila  |  May 8, 2007 at 8:44 am

    Aw shucks .. it doesn’t play well with my computer and speakers. BIt keeps stopping. I had better experience it with a pc that will give justi8ce to it. I am sure its great music or you wouldn’t have shared . And I like jazz too.

    Reply
  • 5. pining  |  May 8, 2007 at 8:45 am

    that was brilliant! for someone who’s not a really into jazz , I can say I thoroughly enjoyed that🙂
    No wonder they qualified to compete in New York!

    Reply
  • 6. Ms Fair Face  |  May 8, 2007 at 8:54 am

    hey you’re doing very well already! I just learnt how to upload a youtube video into my blog! Otherwise i am as clueless as can be.🙂

    Reply
  • 7. haze  |  May 8, 2007 at 9:42 am

    Their music made me dance while writing my comment😉 ! I so love Jazz very well played ! They’re all excellent players ! Congratulations and hurrrraaayyyyy to the Band !!

    Reply
  • 8. enoc  |  May 8, 2007 at 7:31 pm

    nice piece!

    Reply
  • 9. Belle  |  May 8, 2007 at 10:24 pm

    niceheart, i enjoyed it immensely especially the second piece. ang galing galing nila. i was hoping you would zoon the camera Reggie. let us know how the New York trip went.

    Reply
  • 10. Wil  |  May 9, 2007 at 2:19 am

    Mingus definitely has a unique sound. Must be the baritone sax he seems to favor. 😀 Also, it sounded like the three soloists were improvising in the middle of the piece. Am i right? 🙂

    Reply
  • 11. kurokuroatbp » Oh, My Beauty!  |  May 9, 2007 at 6:27 am

    […] jazz, check out Niceheart’s video of the River East Collegiate Senior Jazz Band performing Charles Mingus’ Nostalgia in Times Square. Her son Reggie had a fabulous flute solo. He’s in New York now, about to perform in a music […]

    Reply
  • 12. rachel  |  May 9, 2007 at 7:30 pm

    Wow! That was great. I’m not really a fan of jazz music but I enjoyed watching the video. I viewed it all the way waiting for Reggie’s rendition – he sure has the talent! You must really be proud seeing him on stage, performing like a pro. Good for Reggie, he already knows what he wants to pursue after high school. Let him chase his dream as long as you guide him as he takes his flight.

    Reply
  • 13. niceheart  |  May 9, 2007 at 11:04 pm

    Thanks for the comments everyone. I know jazz is not for everybody. I, myself, am not into jazz music. But after hearing Reggie play at their school concerts and at competitions, I have enjoyed listening to it too.

    Major Tom, actually there are also girls in this group.🙂

    Belle, they’re back from NY. They didn’t win, but that’s okay. It has been quite a good experience for them. I didn’t zoom in to Reggie because this is actually the second time I recorded them playing this piece. The first time, nakatutok sa kanya yung camera.🙂 So this time, I wanted to capture the entire band.🙂 And actually, this is just one long piece.🙂 Nag-applause kasi agad yung audience eh hindi pa naman tapos.🙂

    Wil, I think you are right. They were improvising there.

    Reply
  • 14. Essentially Ellington « Journey to Honeyville  |  May 28, 2007 at 11:46 pm

    […] Nostalgia in Times Square and C Jam Blues  […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tweet!


