Spring cleaning

April 27, 2007 at 8:13 pm 15 comments

spring cleaning 

Finally all the snow is gone and time to clean the yard of all the dried leaves, dead grass and whatever was buried there under all that snow.

street sweeper

In the winter, the City puts sand on the icy roads and sidewalks to help with traction.  But when the snow melts, all that sand is left on the streets.  Today the street sweepers were in our neighbourhood to clean up that sand.

spring cleaning

I was taking a walk when I noticed that branches are also trimmed from the trees.  The other day, my husband cut down a tree in our backyard because he said it was ruining the garage.  I feel kind of sad when I see trees that have been cut.  Ah, I guess it’s just me.  I think I’m going through some sort of midlife crisis, eh? :)

The first picture was taken ten days ago and the last two just today.  Did you notice how the grass has turned greener?  Some of the trees are still leafless.  But green buds are starting to sprout on some.  I’ll share some more pictures next time.

Entry filed under: Spring. Tags: .

Shameless plugging Spring buds

15 Comments Add your own

  • 1. rachel  |  April 27, 2007 at 8:58 pm

    Yes, after snow clearing, street sweeping naman – both times when we are not allowed to park in front of our house. The street sign on the second picture reminds me of the time when our car was towed away. My husband must have overlooked the sign when he parked so the next morning, our car was gone. Anyway, happy spring cleaning!

    Reply
  • 2. Major Tom  |  April 27, 2007 at 10:41 pm

    I never thought spring could look as sunny and as radiant as in the pictures. reminds me of that adage where there is a rainvow after the rain–always.

    By the way, congratulations for being featured in the Philippines.Net and I did enjoy reading it. More power to you.

    Reply
  • 3. bingskee  |  April 28, 2007 at 1:34 am

    hi, irene! long time no bloghop. events ate my time, and until now, i am trying to find time for blogging. there are many things to do, and that includes blogging, with so little time.🙂

    congratulations for that article about you in Philippines Today. Net! you look kinder than you sound.🙂 i enjoyed reading teh article especially about the advice. so true.

    Reply
  • 4. Kyels  |  April 28, 2007 at 4:47 am

    Spring is always the best season; time to enjoy everything. And you can feel the breeze and enjoy the colors and blooming of new buds!

    [:

    Reply
  • 5. chase  |  April 28, 2007 at 7:40 am

    Well spring is usually the unstable season here. It is usually sunny but the next thing you know is you get a snowstorm or blizzard. Also I usually feel sick during this time of the year due to allergies

    Reply
  • 6. vic  |  April 28, 2007 at 8:44 am

    At least your road crew use sand in winter, ours use ice salt to melt the snow and ice and it’s murder on the vehicle’s body works and lawn grass as they dumped the excess snow on the lawns, and every springtime we have to do lots of lawn repairs, plus road repairs due to winter salts. I know in Alberta salting won’t work also because of extreme cold. Well, just keep cleaning up, no use complaining, no one’s listening anyways.

    Reply
  • 7. Shoshana  |  April 28, 2007 at 5:14 pm

    I like the streets after a sweeper have been through it. All nice and neat, and that’s my idea of a great place. Clean and orderly.

    Boring talaga na tao ako huH?

    Reply
  • 8. Betty T. Lopez  |  April 29, 2007 at 1:16 am

    Me and my family are planning to migrate to Canada but we are having second thoughts because of the weather.

    I know Canadian weather can be so harsh. Hirap maglinis ng snow ano?

    Reply
  • 9. ann  |  April 29, 2007 at 5:25 am

    Buti naman at medyo maganda na weather pala dyan, ilang months lang yan di ba? Then winter na naman.

    Reply
  • 10. niceheart  |  April 29, 2007 at 9:15 am

    Rachel, I guess you really have to be cautious when parking on the street. I can imagine your husband’s reaction when he didn’t find his car that morning.

    Thank you, major tom. Rain usually comes in spring, but yes it can also be sunny.

    Thanks, Bing. I haven’t been bloghopping much lately as well. Been really busy at work putting extra hours.

    Reply
  • 11. niceheart  |  April 29, 2007 at 10:34 am

    Yes kyels. Spring is always a welcome change.🙂

    Chase, we also sometimes get snow in May. Allergies, two of my kids have them. And it triggers their asthma. I, myself, has been feeling a little under the weather these past few days.

    Vic, there’s nothing wrong in complaining.🙂 We all whine every once in a while. I think sometimes they also mix salt with sand and yes, that causes damage to cars and lawns here too.

    Reply
  • 12. Belle  |  April 29, 2007 at 11:25 am

    spring is a wonderful time; trees starting to look green, warmer weather, everything is bursting into life, just lovely!

    did i tell you that one of my friends live in winnipeg, too? i don’t have to ask her how is the weather like there because i already knew through your blog. hehe.

    Reply
  • 13. niceheart  |  April 29, 2007 at 10:35 pm

    Shoshana, if you are boring, then pareho pala tayo.🙂 Btw, I tried to visit your blog twice lately, but I always get an error and I get kicked out of the internet. Then I have to open new windows again. It could be my computer. Sometimes I think my system is not compatible with your blog.🙂 Minsan naman kasi ang tagal mag-load. Oh well, I’ll try again next time.

    Betty, don’t be discouraged by the cold weather here in Canada. Places like this are equipped for the harsh weather naman. And you’ll also get used to it. It also depends in what part of Canada you plan on staying. Some places are milder than the others.

    Reply
  • 14. niceheart  |  April 29, 2007 at 10:40 pm

    Oh ann, don’t remind us about winter yet. Katatapos lang eh.🙂 We always try to be optimistic here. Sa November pa uli ang start ng winter. So that’s still six months from now. As of now, we look forward to the warm days of summer.🙂

    Yes belle, everything seems to come alive in spring. Hey, who’s your friend? Maybe I know him/her.

    Reply
  • 15. haze  |  May 4, 2007 at 1:00 pm

    My uncles (working in cruise ship) are right Canada is one of the cleanest country they have ever seen ! Cheer up trees will grow😉 ! at least your husband is masipag to cut them off to have a more cleaner environment ! Am sure family is ready for a barbecue party in your garden🙂 ! Invite friends to come over to take away all those midlife crisis😉 ! Enjoy the spring !

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tweet!


