Birds of a feather

April 21, 2007 at 11:44 pm 25 comments

birds11.jpg

We’ve been having warmer temperatures lately.  And by warm, I mean up to plus 19.  Yay! 

It’s nice to finally go out there in just a shirt and flipflops.  And of course also some kind of bottom garments, silly you.  And yeah, there are also people wearing shorts now.

birds22.jpg 

One of the first signs of Spring is the arrival of the birds that migrated to the warmer South in the Fall.  Yup, these birds have been around for a few weeks now.  Oh, I just love hearing the sound of the chirping birds first thing in the morning when I go downstairs to the kitchen while I prepare breakfast.  And I also love the honking of the Canada geese as they hover around all over the city.

birds33.jpg  

I was at Kildonan Place on Friday after work when I saw these birds on the parking lot.  I immediately took my camera from my purse and slowly approached them.  I took three shots, one after the other, as I walked closer, being really quiet because I didn’t want them to fly away, as those black birds in our backyard do when I try to take their pictures. I was glad that these birds just stayed there.  The pictures are not that sharp because I started clicking when I was still far.  Besides, it was windy that afternoon and I was carrying three bags, two on my left hand and one hanging on my shoulder, holding the camera with only on hand.  I thought that the pictures would be blurry, but they turned out all right.

And yeah, Nanay Ayo is also back.  She’s our family friend who’s already retired and she goes back to the Philippines every Fall, spends time there while we freeze here in the winter, and comes back here in the Spring.  Lucky her, huh? 

Entry filed under: Birds and bees, Spring, Winnipeg. Tags: .

Applying for a Canadian Passport Shameless plugging

25 Comments Add your own

  • 1. GirlyGirl  |  April 22, 2007 at 12:03 am

    Wow, those are really cool-looking birds!

    WE don’t see much of that here.

    Reply
  • 2. Phil  |  April 22, 2007 at 12:13 am

    Those are seagulls. Throw ’em some crackers or chips and they’ll practically follow you home. They can actually catch the chips in midair. When I was a boy I once saw some especially cruel boys do this, and then once the birds were conditioned, these creeps would throw them a lit firecracker. It was horrible. Any wonder I’m NOT a “people person?”

    Reply
  • 3. Karen  |  April 22, 2007 at 1:00 am

    miss irene, yan ang mga pinapakain namin ng mga fries sa parking lot ng burger king. bwahaha. sabi ko nga sila yung mga ibon na mataas ang cholesterol. hindi sila umaalis kasi they expect people to feed them. sometimes, we buy an extra order of fries to feed them. kahit nga potato chips, hindi nila pinapatawad.

    Reply
  • 4. Kyels  |  April 22, 2007 at 2:18 am

    It’s time to enjoy the breeze and nice temperature!

    (:

    Reply
  • 5. kathy  |  April 22, 2007 at 4:18 am

    Your Nanay Ayo is very lucky to have the resources to leave and avoid winter entirely by spending time in the Philippines instead! I guess I’d do the same…although when I’m retired I wish I could just spend all the time at home (Pinas of course!).🙂

    Reply
  • 6. annamanila  |  April 22, 2007 at 7:53 am

    19 C is warm?! Oooh. And here we are sizzling at 38-39 C. I feel so oppressed. And I allso wonder how come our bodies haven’t really adapted to the heat. Everywhere, all the talk you hear is ‘ang init!”

    So those are Canadian geese. Ang gaganda nila. Maingay din ba pareho ng pinoy na gansa? For a while we have several pairs of them and oh my, daig pa ang mga aso …ang ingay pag may tao at nanghahabol at nangangagat.

    I can imagine you walking quietly to capture them in photos. Nice!

    Reply
  • 7. zeroimpact  |  April 22, 2007 at 8:07 am

    Nice birdies🙂
    I guess it’s time to hit the beach or just walk around in shorts

    Reply
  • 8. Gypsy  |  April 22, 2007 at 10:13 am

    I actually thought of exactly the same comment sa annamanila–19c is warm?! Geeez…but I guess warm (as with cold) is relative! I can take warm more than cold. So, do you always bring your camera with you wherever you go? I should do the same now I have a nice one.🙂

    Reply
  • 9. Belle  |  April 22, 2007 at 11:49 am

    hi Irene, your nanay ayo is one lucky lady. i intend to do the same thing when i retire or earlier financially permitting. ahhh, nice photos, a sign that spring is there for good. we have nice weather here, too, about 50 degrees F. can’t wait to start my gardening after the danger of frost is over.

    Reply
  • 10. Wil  |  April 22, 2007 at 3:23 pm

    we also have those seagulls here in the bay area of california. they were the first thing that struck me (not literally a la Fabio and the goose) when I came to the states. I always associated seagulls with an ocean nearby. Is winnipeg by the ocean? I always thought it was more inland.

    Reply
  • 11. haze  |  April 22, 2007 at 5:07 pm

    Let us embrace the Spring Niceheart ! Wow geese, hmmm ewan ko lang kung meron kami dito nyan ?! Spring is my fave season, not hot nor cold and we can see booming flowers it’s an added attraction din🙂 ! Sarap ng feeling but I am a bit worried because here in our place it’s like summer kasi we are 27°C to 28 °C na ! We are getting ready for a very very hot summer, to avoid dehydration ! great shots !

    Reply
  • 12. ann  |  April 22, 2007 at 10:02 pm

    We almost have the same temperature now, but summer is coming , I mean not just warm but boiling summer…hehehe.

    Hindi naman bird flu carrier yang mga yan siguro no?

    Reply
  • 13. Toe  |  April 22, 2007 at 10:43 pm

    19 is perfect… like Baguio, maybe? And the birds are beautiful! Spring and summer sure raise up the spirit.

    Reply
  • 14. niceheart  |  April 22, 2007 at 11:51 pm

    Girlygirl, I also like looking at those birds.🙂 They are pretty, no?

    Phil, thanks. I actually didn’t know what kind of birds they are. And those boys were really mean.

    Karen, kaya pala hindi lumipad. Akala siguro bibigyan ko sila ng pagkain.🙂 But oh my, fries?

    Kyels, it is. People are spending a lot of time outdoors now. Just today, our neighbour was barbequing already.

    Reply
  • 15. verns  |  April 22, 2007 at 11:56 pm

    wow…and here its like 35+…so hot!🙂

    Reply
  • 16. niceheart  |  April 22, 2007 at 11:57 pm

    Kathy, she is really lucky. She still has one child there kasi, so that’s one other reason to go back home.

    Annamanila, those birds in the pictures are seagulls, as Phil has nicely pointed out.🙂 I wrote about the Canada geese in a previous post and you can see a picture on this link https://niceheart.wordpress.com/2006/10/21/the-canada-geese/. And yes, they are also noisy. You’ll hear them honking all the time.🙂

    Zeroimpact, I think the water at the beach will still be cold around this time. But definitely, time to bring out the shorts from the closet.🙂

    Reply
  • 17. Chateau  |  April 23, 2007 at 4:14 am

    What wonderful weather you have! As annamanila said, it is scorching-hot here.
    great photos! You must have held your breath to shoot that close😀
    Yes, lucky Nanay Ayo, and lucky you too for having her!

    Reply
  • 18. pining  |  April 23, 2007 at 6:56 am

    19C is just lovely…the last 3 weeks we have been having a mini heatwave up to 24; doesn’t last long though it got a bit colder now and drab😦 which is usually the norm
    those seagulls are proper scavengers, eh🙂

    Reply
  • 19. vic  |  April 23, 2007 at 7:37 am

    Canada Geese are migrating birds. They fly south in V formation sometime as many as 100s fowls. They are much more faithful to their partners than most animals, including humans, only changing partners on the loss of their love ones.

    Lately, due to disappearance of Predators during winter, some variety of the Fowls skip migrations and adapt to living in winter by becoming scavengers and increasing their number that may take their status as Protected species for culling purposes someday. They are blame for increase fecal concentration on fresh water beaches that some or most of them are closed for an extended period during summer.

    But once the Parent leading their chick crossing the road, it’s a scene, you want to watch. All traffic scretcth to a halt (sometimes causing collisions)and watch the Graceful march of the Troops, in perfect rhythm.. a one -a two- a three keep marching….
    Hi niceheart, we have a high 22 C today… and 13 in yours..time to bring out the Batiks…

    Reply
  • 20. niceheart  |  April 23, 2007 at 11:01 pm

    Gypsy, after 5 long months of subzero temperatures, plus 19 is really warm for us.🙂 And yes, I always bring my camera with me. You just never know when a great photo op will come your way.🙂

    Thanks, Belle. Lucky for you also if you will be able to do what Nanay Ayo does. And I also hope that Spring is here to stay. There are times when we’d get snow in May. Hopefully not this year.

    Reply
  • 21. niceheart  |  April 23, 2007 at 11:09 pm

    Wil, yes we are inland, but there is a Lake Winnipeg which is about an hour drive from the city.

    Haze, spring is also my favourite season.🙂 And those are not the geese in the picture. Those are seagulls, as have been pointed out by phil.🙂

    Ann, I don’t think these birds carry any flu.🙂

    Reply
  • 22. niceheart  |  April 23, 2007 at 11:13 pm

    Toe, maybe this is Baguio-like climate. Nakalimutan ko na eh.🙂 And yes, Spring is a welcome change. Winter can be so long and dreary kasi.🙂

    Verns, that’s really hot. We also get that kind of temperature here in the peak of summer.

    Thanks Chateau. Didn’t really hold my breath, just tried to keep it cool.🙂

    Reply
  • 23. niceheart  |  April 23, 2007 at 11:15 pm

    PIning, it’s the same over here. We had a couple of warm days, and now it’s getting a bit chilly again.🙂

    Vic, I haven’t witnessed a line up of geese crossing the street in person, but it must be cool.🙂 I have written about how the Canada geese fly in V formation and it’s really amazing how they do that.

    Reply
  • 24. Rach  |  April 24, 2007 at 2:04 am

    Glad you’re experiencing nice weather. I love flipflops too! Perfect now that summer is here. Take advantage of the lovely weather. Take care!

    Reply
  • 25. ipanema  |  April 24, 2007 at 4:23 pm

    Nice to see soil in your posts again.🙂 Grabe yung snow for several months huh? Enjoy the new weather!🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tweet!


