The Concert

April 9, 2007 at 9:09 pm 21 comments

It is 3:05 p.m. and there are only three girls left in Room 1206.  They are busy at work at their respective computers.  They will be leaving in an hour.  Isabel gets up to use the phone.  She wants to check on her kids at home. Eric Clapton at the MTS Centre

He answers instead. 

Why are you still there?  She asks.  

I’m not going to work, he says. 

Why? 

I’m watching a concert. 

What concert? 

Eric Clapton, at MTS. 

There is a pause.  She starts to get choked up. 

Why didn’t you tell me? 

This is the only time I’ll be watching a concert. 

Who are you going with? 

Rico. 

Why didn’t you ask me to go instead? 

She hangs up the phone.  Her eyes start to well up, but she tries to hold back the tears.  She needs to let the pain out from her chest. 

My good husband is watching the Eric Clapton concert tonight, she blurts out. 

The two girls look up. 

I didn’t even know that Clapton’s here, she continues. 

He’s going without you?  Gigi asks. 

Yeah, he didn’t tell me that he was going. 

That’s not fair, Heather chimes in. 

I know, here I am slaving away at work and he’s playing hooky and didn’t ask me to go. 

If that were my husband, I’d smack him on the head, Gigi says. 

He’s like that, he would go off to somewhere and I wouldn’t know where to find him. 

My husband couldn’t do that to me.  He knows I’d get mad at him, Gigi says. 

It’s not like I don’t get mad at him.  He’d just do whatever he wants.

That’s not fair, Heather says again. 

Isabel goes back to her desk to let the two girls finish their work. 

Why does she put up with him?  It’s not like she always let it go.  In fact, they always have heated discussions about this kind of behaviour.  She just wants him to bring her out also once in a while.  When was the last time they went out on a date?  Before they were married.  And that was what 18 years ago?  Then the children were born.  He thought it was such a hassle to bring along the kids to eat out or watch a movie.  Money has always been tight and they were not really willing to pay for a babysitter just so they could go out.  But the kids are older now to be left home alone.  And she’s been really craving to have date nights once in a while.  But he’d always say that he’d rather eat in or watch DVDs at home. 

Why then would he go to a concert without telling her and asking her if she wanted to go?  She would love to see Eric sing Wonderful Tonight in person, even if that’s the only Clapton song that she knows.  She just wants to feel that excitement of going out with her husband and feeling special.   And when was the last time he told her that she’s wonderful?  Oh it seems such a long, long time ago.

Photo courtesy of www.mtscentre.ca

Entry filed under: Books, movies, music, TV, Roadblocks. Tags: .

Choose your friends by character Applying for a Canadian Passport

21 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Gypsy  |  April 9, 2007 at 9:45 pm

    That is so sad!!!!!!!😦

    Reply
  • 2. Belle  |  April 9, 2007 at 11:04 pm

    Not fair! She should start going out with someone, too, just to let him know how it feels. Or better yet, go to parties with her friends and come home late. Let’s see how he reacts.

    Something is wrong! It is not just right.

    Reply
  • 3. Kyels  |  April 10, 2007 at 4:39 am

    Oh my God …

    I love Eric Clapton. But I guess he should have brought her along, noh?

    Reply
  • 4. vic  |  April 10, 2007 at 9:56 am

    Hey, what’s good for the Goose, good for the Gander and that’s section l5 of our Charter.

    Reply
  • 5. ipanema  |  April 10, 2007 at 2:21 pm

    Some men are just insensitive. Others feel better going out with friends than tagging their wives. Somehow there’s something missing there or some tell-tale signs of what and how things are between the couple.

    Reply
  • 6. Sidney  |  April 10, 2007 at 9:43 pm

    Well, I guess some couples are not able to keep the romance alive after 18 years of marriage… sad.

    Reply
  • 7. Shoshana  |  April 10, 2007 at 11:07 pm

    That is sad. I think couples should keep on dating even after they’re married. It’s when they must date…other wise, how could “old” couple keep the romance alive if not by romancing each other?

    Reply
  • 8. iskoo  |  April 10, 2007 at 11:21 pm

    very sad story. hope the guy read this story to make him feel sorry about what he had done.

    Reply
  • 9. kathy  |  April 11, 2007 at 5:06 am

    I thought this post was about Eric Clapton’s concert.😛 Anyway, that is some sad story. Married couples should always find the time to date and enjoy themselves once in a while…otherwise, they’d tend to forget how wonderful their company could be. Familiarity breeds contempt indeed.

    Reply
  • 10. Leah  |  April 11, 2007 at 7:37 pm

    I’m going to the APO concert this w/e and I asked my huby first if he’d come with me but he refused (he’s not into Pinoy stuff).

    In your post That was a very bad thing for that husband to do. At least tell the wife what he’s goiing to do before doing it. Some women just put up with this…I wont.

    I think APO is having a concert in Winnipeg too.

    Reply
  • 11. bw  |  April 11, 2007 at 8:03 pm

    Not a good idea to leave out your spouse for a concert – that to me is selfish😦 There was one concert I watched by myself, only because my wife didn’t want to come – a James Taylor concert and man, I felt like a dork sitting 10 rows from the stage with everybody looking like they had partners except me😦

    I also watched an Eric Clapton/Bonnie Rait concert with a girl… but that was before I married my wife hehe🙂

    Reply
  • 12. cruise  |  April 11, 2007 at 8:47 pm

    naku masa maganda talaga kung couple ang aattend sa concert na yan, maganda kasi. nakaka relax at inlove.

    Reply
  • 13. angelblush  |  April 11, 2007 at 10:33 pm

    sad story… tsk.. tsk…

    Reply
  • 14. verns  |  April 11, 2007 at 10:48 pm

    ahhhh…I agree with BW..pretty selfish of the husband and insensitive too.

    I guess the wife needs to talk to him and tell him what she feels.

    Reply
  • 15. ralphT  |  April 12, 2007 at 1:14 am

    so that’s how eric clapton looks like… lol😉

    Reply
  • 16. eric aka senor enrique  |  April 12, 2007 at 5:15 am

    That is sad. I feel so bad for the wife.

    Reply
  • 17. julie  |  April 12, 2007 at 6:36 am

    Sad.

    Knowing they both work hard, they both have the right to relax too. But even then, the husband going off on his own without telling the wife, I don’t know, maybe something is not right. If he is impulsive and has poor relationship issues, then, he may have some underlying problems that needs to be dealt with. Baka me adult ADHD. I know of someone with such behavior. Sometimes the wife would just get a call from the husband that he suddenly is in HK just because he wants to or would go abroad with his family on a whim. But more often than not, he doesn’t ignore his wife and kids.

    Reply
  • 18. niceheart  |  April 12, 2007 at 9:40 pm

    Thank you everyone.

    Isabel appreciates very much all your comments and input.

    Reply
  • 19. annamanila  |  April 14, 2007 at 8:58 pm

    Spouses need spaces in their togetherness (sabi ni Gibran). But not in an eric clapton concert! !!!! Tell Isabel not to get angry but to get even … kailan ba yung concert ng U2 or El Divo or whatever dyan.

    Reply
  • 20. Rach  |  April 17, 2007 at 9:40 am

    I feel sorry for her. I would have felt hearbroken if that happened to me. It would have been a nice and romantic concert for a couple to watch.

    Reply
  • 21. Chateau  |  April 17, 2007 at 7:35 pm

    This reminds me to pester hubby that we have not gone out in over a month! We always see to it that we go out on dates once in a while (2x a month to be exact). Good for the heart😉
    There must be something wrong between isabel and hubby. She need to let it out and let him know.
    Very nicely written🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tweet!


