Walking home from school

March 6, 2007 at 11:33 pm 25 comments

I have mentioned quite a few times here that my sister and I are neighbours.  We live in a duplex house, side by side, next to each other.  Our kids (mine, 3 and hers 7) would switch houses and play with each other.  And as you’ve seen in my previous post, they’d play in our backyard, which we also share. 

There was a time when my sister and I lived with my aunt’s family and we became really close with our three cousins who were all girls.  We were like sisters to each other.  We have such fond memories growing up with our cousins. 

I’m sure that when our kids get older, they will also have fond memories of togetherness and laughter.  And of course, just like any siblings, they’ve had quite a few spats too.  

Last week, after a long break from patrolling (three weeks of a cold spell and another week at the office), I was kind of excited to be back at my post.  I brought my camera with me and took pictures of the kids while they were walking home from school. 

Their school is only a ten-minute walk from home.  But these five cousins take forever to get home.  From my post, I could see them from three blocks away as they make a right turn.  And it’s like watching a slow motion movie.  They are always the last group of kids that I have to cross.

My 11-year old niece usually walks ahead.  And usually, the youngest, my six-year old nephew, trails behind.  They sometimes have to stop until he could catch up with them.  And of course, they also stop to goof around and play with the snow.

walkhome1t.jpg

 walkhome2t.jpg

 walkhome3t.jpg

walkhome41t.jpg

Entry filed under: Raising the 3Rs, Winter. Tags: .

Playing in the snow 2 Internet break, good news, and more

25 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Rey  |  March 6, 2007 at 11:49 pm

    I’d love to play in real snow with my boy! But now I just have to be contented playing iced snow in SNOW CITY here.

    I hope our winter vacation next time will push through na.

    Reply
  • 2. zeroimpact  |  March 7, 2007 at 12:01 am

    They look like they are really enjoying the company🙂
    I’m sure they will be really close together

    Reply
  • 3. bw  |  March 7, 2007 at 12:01 am

    the kids are pretty well dressed and bundled up in theire snow suits so they can dilly-dally for a few minutes before heading home🙂

    Reply
  • 4. verns  |  March 7, 2007 at 12:13 am

    hahahahaha they are sooo cute🙂

    I got bunch of fond memories with cousins too. Swimming in the river, riding a carabao, riding a big truck…too bad digicams were not yet popular during those times. We got pictures but very few only🙂

    Reply
  • 5. rhodora  |  March 7, 2007 at 2:03 am

    That is your youngest son doing a ‘clown act’ in the last photo, right? hahaha! He knows you are taking their pic…

    I’m sorry Irene, I’m not familiar with your patrolling task, but why do you have to cross the kids?

    Reply
  • 6. Jayred  |  March 7, 2007 at 2:44 am

    The family setup you have there in Canada is so ideal. I think I wouldn’t be as homesick as I am now if I had my sister or brothers living in my Swiss neighborhood!

    It’s nice that your kids are close to their cousins. That’s a relational blessing.

    So much snow there. We’ve been experiencing a very mild winter since December. It feels like spring here. No snowfall whatsoever of late.

    Reply
  • 7. tin  |  March 7, 2007 at 4:40 am

    Im glad your kids had a great time with their cousins.🙂 It makes me miss my cousins. It’s been quite a long time since I’ve seen them.

    Reply
  • 8. eric aka senor enrique  |  March 7, 2007 at 4:52 am

    I’m sure your kids will always cherish their growing up memories in such a tightly-knit family. What a blessing!

    Reply
  • 9. Kyels  |  March 7, 2007 at 8:23 am

    Man, I’d love to be there, goofing around and playing with the snow.

    They look really, really happy.

    ;D

    Reply
  • 10. Leah  |  March 7, 2007 at 9:08 am

    It really is nice to have cousins around. My daughter is always with her cousins so she has kids to play with. I am glad of this since I dont think I’ll have another child.

    re: walking ; It seems like so much fun so they take their time playing and goofing. Wow, you got so much snow.

    Reply
  • 11. Cai  |  March 7, 2007 at 11:21 am

    Wow, 7 cousins! That must be fun for your kids.

    In the Philippines, I grew up with my brother, who’s 1 year older, and cousin, 2 years younger. They were my playmates, and I even called my cousin “sister.”

    My other older brother is 7 years older, so he wasn’t our daily playmate.

    Reply
  • 12. sexy mom  |  March 7, 2007 at 12:00 pm

    it must be really fun playing in snow that thick. the only snow i experienced was the start of winter in beijing,,,not much.

    Reply
  • 13. pining  |  March 7, 2007 at 5:24 pm

    Looks like they ‘re enjoying themselves🙂
    Nothing like playing (and growing) with cousins or relatives for that matter🙂

    Reply
  • 14. foobarph  |  March 7, 2007 at 11:31 pm

    if you have snow there, we have alikabok here.

    the difference snow and alikabok

    snow, it’s from US! alikabok? nevermind.
    snow is white, alikabok is dark
    snow is funny, alikabok is meany
    snow is i love, alikabok is i hate.

    (super barok. lolz)

    Reply
  • 15. Sidney  |  March 8, 2007 at 12:05 am

    Happy kids!

    Reply
  • 16. Rach  |  March 8, 2007 at 7:56 am

    How nice that you live so close to your sister. It’s wonderful that all your children are close to one another.

    I also have many fond memories with my cousins. Now that we have children of our own, we still manage to enjoy get togethers with the kids. Hopefully, they will grow up close too.

    Reply
  • 17. Belle  |  March 8, 2007 at 10:44 pm

    Irene,

    It must be nice living next to your sister. My relatives are all back home.

    How many kids do you cross? Do you do it daily? Counting the goofing around, the throwing of snow ball, I bet the 10-minute walk becomes half an hour long or so.

    Reply
  • 18. bugsybee  |  March 9, 2007 at 6:37 am

    My sister has 4 daughters; my brother has 3 sons. They’re very close to each other even if they live in opposite ends of our city but it’s a pity that we get to see each other only during special occasions.

    It’s good that your kids and their cousins are also close to each other. They can watch after each other like my nephews and nieces do.

    Reply
  • 19. Ferdz  |  March 9, 2007 at 9:05 am

    I envy those kids playing in the snow. Even if I’m not a kid I’ll still play there. Hehe

    Reply
  • 20. ann  |  March 9, 2007 at 3:24 pm

    Kahit siguro ako enjoy muna sa snow bago makauwi…hehehe.

    Reply
  • 21. Toe  |  March 10, 2007 at 12:14 am

    Those pictures make for really good memories Niceheart. 🙂 Your children and their cousins are really lucky to have each other. 🙂

    Reply
  • 22. Abaniko  |  March 10, 2007 at 4:19 am

    The kids take forever to get home prolly because they enjoy each other’s company well that they tarry and play along the way. Reminds of a scene in “To Kill A Mockingbird.”🙂

    Reply
  • 23. haze  |  March 10, 2007 at 2:32 pm

    Finally I’ve gone to the Alps at nakakita na rin ako ng snow! It’s always fun to play with snow together with family & friends ! Cute ng mga bata ! This is what I can priceless souvenirs🙂 !

    Reply
  • 24. niceheart  |  March 10, 2007 at 11:10 pm

    Thank you for the comments guys.

    This will just be one big reply to everybody. It seems that lately, I only get a couple of hours a day to blog.

    Rhodora, yes, that is my youngest. Kenkoy talaga yon. Actually, caught in the act lang talaga sya diyan sa picture.🙂

    Regarding patrolling, I volunteer to cross the children before and after school. Here in Winnipeg, and I think in every city or town here in Canada, there are school patrols who help children cross the street within the vicinity of the school, for their safety. I have written a post about this at this link :https://niceheart.wordpress.com/2006/11/25/school-patrolling/

    Jayred, yes, I think this is the very reason why I am not as homesick as other expats.🙂

    Foobarph, you’re funny.🙂

    Belle, I think I cross around 15 – 25 kids at my post. Sometimes, less. I only do it twice a week. My sister does it three times a week. The 10-minute walk usually becomes 20 minutes and there are times that it takes half an hour. They are told to wait for each other infront of the school and just that waiting sometimes takes time too.

    Toe and Haze, it’s really nice to capture precious moments like this.🙂

    Abaniko, yes, I also remember that scene.

    Reply
  • 25. iskoo  |  April 17, 2007 at 2:32 am

    parang ang sarap maglakad lakad sa anow lalo na kung full battle gear naman, magandang tanawin.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tweet!


