My very busy February

February 27, 2007 at 9:57 pm 33 comments

I’ve had such a busy month with dentist appointments and activities here and there, and the latter part of February being called to the office for a 5-day training.  I have been exhausted most of the time and just looking at the calendar before I flip it after tomorrow makes me tired again. calfeb07t.jpg 

When the kids and I went for our semi-annual dental check-up last month, I found out that I needed a filling on one of my molars and that not only Ryland needed to have an infected tooth pulled out, but Ryan also needed to have his two baby teeth pulled out to give way to his erupting adult tooth.  So appointments for these visits were booked for this month. 

February 7th.  Ryan had his Winter Concert. The Grade 7 Concert Band played Frere Jacques, Theme from “Symphony No. 1,” Sawmill Creek, and Grandstand March.  That’s him in the middle carrying his trombone after the seventh graders finished their performance. 

ryanconcert1.jpg 

I couldn’t get a good shot of him while he was playing because he was seated somewhere in the middle of the band.  I’ve always had good shots of Reggie while playing the flute because he was always at the front.  But trombone players are seated in the middle.  Can you see him in this picture?  You get just a glimpse of him behind the two girls.

 ryanconcert3t.jpg

February 9th.  I took a half day vacation to prepare for Ryland’s 9th birthday celebration which we had that Saturday.  And if you think it’s not that bad to host a birthday party for 11 nine-year olds, think again.  Just read my experience last year and the year before that.

ryland9bday.jpg 

Ryan had also been busy with basketball practice and games.  They had morning practices on three Monday mornings, which started at 7:30 a.m.  Since it was still dark out, I walked with him to school.  I wasn’t comfortable making him walk alone when it was still dark.   

February 14th.  They had two back-to-back games on Valentine’s day.  They won both games.  Oh, Ryan was so good in those games.  He’s good at defense.  He may be small, but he’s slick at the court.

basketball4t.jpg 

perfectattend.jpgFebruary 15th.  I attended a townhall meeting at the office where I received my fifth annual Perfect Attendance Award.  Yes, thank you very much.  I now have 4 of these glass plaques sitting on top of my desk.  The first year I received the award, I was given a $50 gift certificate instead.  I also had training at the office that day.  And what was supposed to be a half-day training was extended to five and a half days.  So I had to get up really early during those 6 days that I had to go to the office and you know how much I don’t like that.

So I had to leave the house while the two younger kids were still eating breakfast.  It’s actually quite convenient now because Ryan is already 12 and Ryland, 9.  As long as I leave them a schedule that they could follow, like this one, they’re all right: 

7:30 Eat breakfast

8:00 Punas and dress up

8:30 Leave the house 

When I watched Ryan’s game at 5:00 p.m. on the 15th, Reggie wasn’t home yet and instead of watching the game, Ryland chose to stay next door at my sister’s place. When we came home, I found this note on the kitchen table: 

Read This: 

Hello! I have rehearsal with the wind ensemble at school at 7:00. 

Ryland is eating dinner at their house, their nai nai (did I spell that right) said it would be alright. 

See you later,  

          Reggie 

That’s my Reggie.  And it’s actually nanay (mother) and not nai nai. 

February 16th.  This was the morning when Ryan and Ryland had their teeth pulled out.  I told my supervisor that I was coming in late.  Although their dad drove them, us, to the dentist, I just had to be there for their first tooth extractions. And in the afternoon, I had to hurry home because Reggie had a performance that night at the Optimist International Band Festival at the Winnipeg Convention Centre.  I left the two young ones at home because they weren’t interested in watching Reggie play.  There was a time when I would drag all of them to attend Reggie’s concert, back when they were still younger and I couldn’t leave them home alone by themselves.   

reggieconventiont.jpgReggie’s Wind Ensemble Band played Havana by Robinovitch and on their second performance of a piece title Souvenir by Erb, the band players stood up and gathered at the back around the audience and by the wall.  The lights were turned off except for this sort of luminescent lamps that made everything white, like their sheet music, glow in the dark.  Then a CD was played and the band players accompanied it with their instruments and there were visual effects on the front, resembling that of what you would see inside a kaleidoscope.  Then a huge bouncing ball was thrown at the audience and we all passed it around.  It actually hit me twice on the head and the next time it came my way, I had my arms ready to pass it on to the next person.  Neon coloured pingpong balls were thrown next, and the kids who were there tried to grab and collect them from the floor.  I also grabbed a few.  Towards the end of the piece, there were also silly strings and confetti and bubbles.  It was such an exciting experience and they got a great review from the adjudicator.  That’s Reggie standing at the aisle holding his flute before their second performance. 

February 20th. Ryan had two games, 4:00 p.m. and 6:00 p.m.  And I had to attend a meeting at 6:30 p.m. at Reggie’s school regarding their upcoming Jazz Band trip to Brandon.  How could I watch the 6:00 game and also attend the 6:30 meeting?  If I could only be at two places at one time, right?  Well, I did watch the first 20 minutes of Ryan’s game.  Reggie’s school was only ten minutes away from Ryan’s school.  The meeting was only 20 minutes long and I made it back to Ryan’s school just in time to watch him make the final shot for their team that night. They lost that second game, but hey, what’s important to my son is that I saw him make that basket.

basketball3t.jpg

Entry filed under: Basketball, My life as a mom, Raising the 3Rs, Reggie and his music. Tags: .

Can he still be my friend? Playing in the snow 2

33 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Toe  |  February 28, 2007 at 8:04 am

    What a whirlwind of a month Niceheart. But your kids are really good. Their lives are well-balanced with sports and music along with school. Natawa ako sa nai nai. 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. noemi  |  February 28, 2007 at 8:50 am

    I know what you mean by busy. I write daily in my planner just so I don’t miss anything. Electronic gadgets don’t really work for me. Hope you are able to balance everything. I am sure you will since you have planned it well.

    Reply
  • 3. Kyels  |  February 28, 2007 at 9:34 am

    Wow … A series of great events.

    (:

    Reply
  • 4. pining  |  February 28, 2007 at 2:31 pm

    Oh what a busy life you lead🙂
    Musically inclined pala ang mga kids mo🙂 ang galing!

    Reply
  • 5. haze  |  February 28, 2007 at 3:15 pm

    I’ve always admire working Mother co’z it is really difficult to take care of family while working and I am really impressed you still spend quality time with them instead of busy schedules🙂 ! Some parents sometimes they cannot attend children’s activities because of busy schedules.

    Kasi ako when I had my babies til now, eto SAHM pa rin! I would be happy if you could share me your secrets Niceheart😉 ! You must be very tired at the end of weekdays!

    Ok yon ah, slang Nai Nai hihihi !

    Reply
  • 6. ann  |  February 28, 2007 at 5:15 pm

    What a very busy mom, but I admire you cause you manage them right. Andito lang din ako sa bahay pero minsan feel ko na pagod na rin ako pagdating ng gabi.

    Reply
  • 7. Belle  |  February 28, 2007 at 6:38 pm

    i know what you were talking about. i just went through it myself. i have cancelled lunches and breaks to get off early.

    if i were to give you an award, i would give you an A+++. our kids love to see us parents in the audience proudly watching them at every performance, di ba?

    Reply
  • 8. Gypsy  |  February 28, 2007 at 7:00 pm

    So this is what the life of a powermom (with a great blog) looks like…Wow.🙂

    Reply
  • 9. domestic rat  |  February 28, 2007 at 8:18 pm

    I almost flipped when I saw your calendar. That’s really ALOT going on in February. But at least I see you are enjoying yourself.🙂 So what’s up for March?

    Reply
  • 10. iskoo  |  February 28, 2007 at 8:25 pm

    you are a great nai nai! not only punctual at work, but also punctual in attending your sons’ needs and support. no wonder why they are talented kids.

    Reply
  • 11. Sidney  |  February 28, 2007 at 9:39 pm

    Indeed, a busy life!
    I agree with Iskoo, you are a great nainai !

    Reply
  • 12. verns  |  February 28, 2007 at 10:10 pm

    wow! You are truly a superNai-Nai!!! 🙂

    very hectic schedule and I’m amazed on how you manage. Like what I said…superNai-Nai

    Reply
  • 13. niceheart  |  February 28, 2007 at 11:11 pm

    Toe, it also made me laugh when I read nai nai.🙂 Yes, I guess the sports and the music keeps them occupied aside from their school work.

    Noemi, I just have to write everything down. It helps me keep track of all the appointments and activities. I haven’t tried using an electronic planner. I don’t have the tools anyway.🙂

    Kyels, thank you for thinking that they are great events. They were tiring as well.🙂

    Reply
  • 14. niceheart  |  February 28, 2007 at 11:19 pm

    Pining, it’s my oldest one who’s really into music. My middle one had to choose among Arts, Drama and Band. He wasn’t interested in the first two. And I guess he was also influenced by his brother, so he chose Band.

    I’m sorry to disappoint you, Haze. But I don’t think I have any secrets. Weekends are also busy, grocery shopping, laundry and cleaning the house. Sometimes I also work on Saturdays – overtime. We need the extra money for growing expenses on these growing children.🙂

    Ann, kahit naman nasa bahay ka, trabaho ka pa rin naman diba? And I know that you also attend to your children’s activities.

    Reply
  • 15. niceheart  |  February 28, 2007 at 11:25 pm

    Same here, Belle. I sometimes eat at my desk if we have activities later in the day. Yes, they do love to see their parents in the audience. First thing they do once they’re on the stage is to look for us in the audience.🙂

    Gypsy, yes, this is the life of a working mother. I don’t think I’m a powermom, though.🙂 Because if I were, then I’d have the ability to be at two places at one time.🙂

    DR, you’re right. Inspite of the hectic schedules, I enjoy watching them perform and play. What’s in for March? So far three more dentist appointments and a school meeting tomorrow. But I don’t think it will be as busy as February. Spring Break’s coming up soon, too.🙂

    Reply
  • 16. niceheart  |  February 28, 2007 at 11:29 pm

    Aww, thank you, iskoo. I try my best to be punctual.

    Sidney, moms always have a busy life.🙂

    Verns, thank you. We mothers always find a way to manage these things. For the sake and happiness of our children.🙂

    Reply
  • 17. Ms Fair Face  |  March 1, 2007 at 4:11 am

    your schedule is even tighter than mine on my busy month, and I am already having difficulty breathing!🙂

    Reply
  • 18. sexy mom  |  March 1, 2007 at 4:35 am

    what a crazy february, your calendar is almost full! full of loving fun. what is fulfilling is that your 2 kids are growing to be well balanced, gifted in music and in sports! congratulations, dear mom!

    Reply
  • 19. kathy  |  March 1, 2007 at 6:26 am

    Very busy month indeed! Ang galing, parehong musically inclined yung mga anak mo!
    Congrats for surviving Feb – and hope you can have a breather this month!

    Reply
  • 20. Cai  |  March 1, 2007 at 7:38 am

    I had a lot of extracurricular events in Jr High and High School too. But it didn’t occur to me how much of a time commitment they were to my parents, too.

    Reply
  • 21. rachel  |  March 1, 2007 at 8:52 am

    you have great kids, Niceheart and they have a great mom too! i also have one high school kid (2 are in university already) and her activities make us jump from one venue to another – iisa lang yang sa akin ha pano na kung sabay sabay na gaya ng mga kids mo. but you are right, our presence in all their activities helps boost their confidence and makes them feel proud. kaya kahit puyat ako (graveyard shift) i find time to be with them. btw, what schools do they go to?

    Reply
  • 22. haze  |  March 1, 2007 at 8:57 am

    It’s Ok Niceheart🙂 ! Sharing your experience is already a big help while I travel my journey to motherhood😉 ! Keep on sharing.

    Reply
  • 23. Shoshana  |  March 2, 2007 at 3:48 am

    Niceheart, what a busy schedule you have!

    I have managed to save time by having my kids dentist appointment in the same day. All 4 of the big ones.

    Then a week after, mine and David’s doctor’s appointment too.

    Then there’s the physical which I can’t mix because they’re all having different birthdays.

    Doesn’t it make you wonder what we’re going to do when this schedule involving kids are unnecessary because they’re grown and out of the coop?

    Reply
  • 24. Ferdz  |  March 2, 2007 at 9:36 pm

    I think you need more space on those dates. hehe. Thank you for reminding me. I have to see my dentist din

    Reply
  • 25. niceheart  |  March 2, 2007 at 10:42 pm

    Ms Fair Face, wait til you have kids.🙂

    Thank you sexy mom. Yes, I’d also like to think of it as full of loving fun.🙂

    I also hope so, too, Kathy. Can’t wait till Spring break – last week of March pa.😦

    Cai, we usually really don’t realize the sacrifices our parents make until we become one.

    Reply
  • 26. niceheart  |  March 2, 2007 at 10:51 pm

    Hi rachel. Didn’t realize you already have kids in university. I will also have one this Fall. About your question, sorry, I can’t tell it here. Baka kasi may pervert na nagbabasa nito at ma-stalk pa kami ng mga anak ko. Hope you understand.

    Haze, I also learn a lot from reading other moms’ blogs.

    Shoshana, that’s what I also do, have our appointments on the same day. But sometimes we need follow up appointments and they just can’t be done on the same day. You’re talking about the empty nest syndrome? Yeah for sure I have thought about that. But I’ll worry about that later. For now, I just bask in the joy of having them around.🙂

    Ferdz, I also think so. March is looking a lot better though, even if we still have a few visits to dentist.🙂

    Reply
  • 27. Leah  |  March 3, 2007 at 4:42 pm

    What a busy month indeed. Its good to keep everything written down so all can see. You are well organized.

    Reply
  • 28. eric aka senor enrique  |  March 4, 2007 at 4:35 pm

    I got somewhat dizzy reading all these activities you had for the month of February! Whoa! You are to be commended, Irene, for having the energy to do all that and then some!

    I wonder if the little one will someday get into music as well … hemmm.

    Reply
  • 29. niceheart  |  March 4, 2007 at 11:21 pm

    Leah, it really helps a lot to be organized and write everything down when you have three children who have different activities.

    I guess every mother should be commended, Eric, and not just me.🙂 Well, the little one is already wondering what instrument he’ll play when he goes to junior high. Told him that he doesn’t have to worry about that now.🙂

    Reply
  • 30. Movie Rental  |  March 4, 2007 at 11:54 pm

    Today’s Updates

    […] Normally I don’t write about other peoples blogs, but this one really caught my eye: […]

    Reply
  • 31. Jonah  |  March 6, 2007 at 3:10 pm

    Im busy with one kid and everybody tells me that I will be 3 times more busy when the next is born in August, makes me wonder how busy it will be with 3 kids

    Reply
  • […] been busy with appointments and errands these past two weeks and I haven’t really recovered from my very busy February yet and I am still beat.  I have commitments that I want to finish and besides, I already want to […]

    Reply
  • 33. Essentially Ellington « Journey to Honeyville  |  March 18, 2007 at 11:30 pm

    […] performed three Ellington pieces:  Jumpin’ Punkins, Mood Indigo, and C Jam Blues.  Like the Wind Ensemble Band’s performance at the Convention Centre two weeks earlier, the Jazz Band also received great reviews from the […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tweet!


