Ice and Snow Sculptures at the Fairmont Hotel

February 18, 2007 at 11:37 pm 14 comments

I was at the office last week to attend a townhall meeting.  Our office is located downtown at the corner of Main Street and Portage Avenue just in front of the TD Bank Centre.  Due to a lack of space for over 300 staff in our department, our townhall meetings are held at a huge conference room at The Fairmont Hotel, just across Main Street.  Since there is no pedestian crossing on Main Street and Portage Avenue (it is a very busy intersection), we walk there through the Shops of Winnipeg Square, an underground mall.  I can’t remember how many meetings I’ve attended at The Fairmont, but I always get lost in that underground labyrinth and I always make sure that I meet up with somebody first, usually my girl friend Elaine, and we walk together to that conference room.  But that afternoon, I walked with the other Work-at-Home Staff.

I’ve already noticed that there was a snow sculpture in front of The Fairmont a few weeks ago and since I knew that our annual townhall meeting was coming up, I planned on taking a few pictures of the sculpture.  I was tempted to go out there right after our meeting but I thought that some of the staff might see me snapping away and wonder why I’d do that and I thought it would be kind of embarrassing.  So I went back to the office with them.  But before I went home, I tried to find my way through that maze.  I took a couple of wrong turns, but eventually, I found the stairs going up to The Fairmont Hotel.  And boy, I was excited to see not only the snow sculpture, but there were ice sculptures as well. 

This one is located just before you enter the door.

icesculptureat.jpg  

That’s The Fairmont Hotel logo and on top of it is an eagle.  The one beside it where it says Winnipeg is a curling rock.  Curling is a popular winter sport here in Canada.  (You can click on this link to view a picture of an actual curling rock.) 

This is the view you’ll see when you stand at the entrance doors facing outside.  Another ice sculpture and the snow sculpture by the street.

snowsculpturec1t.jpg 

Here’s a close up of the ice sculpture.

icesculptureb3t.jpg 

That tall thing is an inukshuk.  Then there’s a polar bear, a bison, and an eagle.  (Just click on the links to view images of the actual things.)

Here are a couple more shots at different angles.

icesculptureb1t.jpg 

 icesculptureb2t.jpg

This is the snow sculpture, which I think represents the Festival du Voyageur.  But I might be wrong.  Festival du Voyaguer is the annual 10-day winter festival which takes place at the French quarter of Winnipeg.  Voyaguer means traveler and refers to those who traded fur in the past and traveled by canoe. snowsculpturec2t.jpg

snowscupturec3t.jpg

snowsculpturec4t.jpg

Mind you, I wasn’t the only one taking pictures that afternoon.  There was another guy with a camera bigger than my digital Canon camera.  I don’t know if he’s a professional photographer.  Maybe he also has a blog.

Entry filed under: Winnipeg, Winter, Winterpeg. Tags: .

Snow Sculptures at the TD Bank Centre Vimy Snow Sculpture at the Legislative Building

14 Comments Add your own

  • 1. ann  |  February 19, 2007 at 12:41 am

    OO nga pala, ice sculpture nga yung nasa star city. Parang sayang naman yang mga yan after winter, hirap din kayang gawin nyan.

    Reply
  • 2. JO  |  February 19, 2007 at 12:42 am

    wow! these are really cool! i wonder if we have these in calgary?

    Reply
  • 3. bingskee  |  February 19, 2007 at 8:09 am

    ang galeng! i often wonder how those who made them labored to produced such nice carvings.

    Reply
  • 4. mmy-lei  |  February 19, 2007 at 12:32 pm

    amazing masterpiece!

    how i wish i could watch live when they carved that.

    Reply
  • 5. haze  |  February 19, 2007 at 1:59 pm

    It seems they are real cyrstal ! Grabe talaga bilib talaga ako sa talent ng tao na gumawa nyan🙂 ! I haven’t seen one yet in France, the only thing I’ve seen are those of trees and plants !

    These are unforgettable view for you Niceheart🙂 ! Hay naku hanggang pictures na lang ako! Salamat uli sa pag share ha, inggit ako, I want to see them with my own eyes !

    Reply
  • 6. pining  |  February 19, 2007 at 2:03 pm

    Great pics, niceheart🙂 and speaking of curling.. I love watching it! I remember the Canadian team winning gold in the last winter olympics; Britain (depending champion) only came 4th😦

    Reply
  • 7. verns  |  February 19, 2007 at 8:25 pm

    wow! mas mahirap ata gawin yung ice sculpture kesa sa snow sculpture anoh?🙂

    Nice shots Niceheart…:)

    Reply
  • 8. Leah  |  February 20, 2007 at 12:08 am

    nice shots

    Reply
  • 9. vic  |  February 20, 2007 at 12:22 am

    Very nice pix niceheart. For those who wants to enjoy and witness the biggest winter carnival in the world, (this year was done) from late january to early February, 2 and 1/2 week of winter’s delight Quebec City of Quebec just your destination. It features all about winter including ice and snow sculpting. Come and visit next winter….

    Reply
  • 10. Misyel  |  February 20, 2007 at 4:02 pm

    cool shots, I haven’t seen that here kasi di naman ako nalabas lately hehe.

    Reply
  • 11. KD  |  February 21, 2007 at 4:17 am

    parang mga glass crystals, nice pics thanks for sharing

    Reply
  • 12. niceheart  |  February 21, 2007 at 10:56 pm

    Thanks for the comments, everyone.

    Reply
  • 13. Julio Mercedes  |  March 13, 2007 at 3:42 pm

    Thats what I was looking for.

    Reply
  • 14. Fidel Ramos  |  March 15, 2007 at 4:48 pm

    So Many Great Blogs and ways to customize it

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tweet!


