Basketball tournaments start

January 27, 2007 at 9:59 pm 27 comments

basketball1.jpg

Junior high school basketball tournaments started this week.  My son, Ryan, made his school team.  And it’s been a very busy week.  Five games in four days.  We have been particularly very busy today, Saturday.  He played in two games and we had dentist appointments for me and all three kids in between.  We started the day at 8:30 a.m. and I only got home at around 5:30 p.m. after I had done my grocery shopping.  I’m beat.  So I guess I’ll retire early tonight.  And if you don’t see me blogging that much in the next two months, you know where I am – in some school gym watching and cheering my boy.  That’s him – number 63.

Entry filed under: Basketball, Life is a game, Ryan in the middle. Tags: .

Garbage Day Nature does not hurry, yet everything is accomplished

27 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kyels  |  January 27, 2007 at 11:07 pm

    Basketball rocks!

    And congratulations to Ryan ’cause he’s in the school team, he’ll play well, definitely!

    (:

    Do rest well, ayt?

    Reply
  • 2. Prab  |  January 27, 2007 at 11:35 pm

    Cool, he’s in a basketball team. Buti pa sya. I never made my school’s basketball team. Come to think of it, there never was any formal team anyway. ‘Coz there were no competing schools to play with, lol.

    Rest well, btw.🙂

    Reply
  • 3. ipanema  |  January 27, 2007 at 11:57 pm

    Oh that’s swell. Now you’re a proud mom. All of us are if our children made good. That’s about 9 hours in school! Tiring huh?🙂

    Reply
  • 4. ann  |  January 28, 2007 at 12:07 am

    Oks yan, moral support for Ryan. Pag may gf na yan meron ng cheerleader at support ka na lang…hahaha!

    Reply
  • 5. zeroimpact  |  January 28, 2007 at 12:22 am

    Congratulations to him🙂
    I remember my basketball games when I was still holding text books
    It’s really a great game and you must be so proud
    Good luck for him in the games and I’m sure you will be spending so much enjoyable time just watching him in action
    Go 63

    Reply
  • 6. bugsybee  |  January 28, 2007 at 6:29 am

    Wow! Lucky Ryan to get all-out support from you. Mom-cook-cheerleader-big fan all rolled into one!🙂

    Reply
  • 7. pining  |  January 28, 2007 at 8:52 am

    Hi niceheart🙂, life of a mummy eh, busy busy busy.. no wonder you’re beat..

    Reply
  • 8. Belle  |  January 28, 2007 at 11:22 am

    Go, Ryan go! He looks cute!

    I made sure I attended every single show of my children. It was such a great feeling watching them perform. Enjoy while you can.

    Reply
  • 9. Cai  |  January 28, 2007 at 12:11 pm

    Go Ryan! And wow, what a busy day you had yesterday.

    Reply
  • 10. eric  |  January 28, 2007 at 7:12 pm

    Boy, he’s getting taller, huh?

    I remember whenever my brother asked me to take my nephew to his little league games whenever he and his wife couldn’t.

    Probably mistaking my nephew as my own son, it was rather strange how I’d often get more favorable glances from the ladies with my nephew along as opposed to when I was alone. It’s weird. I wonder if most fathers notice that as well?

    Reply
  • 11. vic  |  January 28, 2007 at 10:19 pm

    Canada has only now one NBA team after the Vancouver Grizzlies folded down and moved south and now is known as the Memphis Grizzlies and still the Remaining Team , the Toronto Raptors don’t have any Canadian Contents. All players now are mostly foreigners, with the best of the Europeans players giving it a Decent season. Won’t it be wonderful the first Canadian Player to play with the Raptors is A Filipino named Ryan? rah rah for you and your son Ryan…

    Reply
  • 12. bw  |  January 28, 2007 at 11:07 pm

    Nice to know that your son is participating in sports events at school. Not many people know that kids who participate in sports events learn a lot about character development – teamwork, the thrill of victory, the agony of defeat. Experiencing these at their formative years in the context of having fun will have a positive impact on the child🙂

    Reply
  • 13. Sidney  |  January 28, 2007 at 11:09 pm

    Enjoy the games !

    Reply
  • 14. verns  |  January 28, 2007 at 11:25 pm

    wow! way to go Ryan!!!!

    Take a good rest Niceheart….

    Reply
  • 15. KD  |  January 29, 2007 at 4:04 am

    Naalala ko tuloy high school days while playing this wonderful sport, it sure do bring back a lot of memories.
    Ang haba ng reach ni Ryan…way to Go. Goodluck sa games.
    Enjoy the games tita NH

    Reply
  • 16. rhodora  |  January 29, 2007 at 9:20 am

    Good your son is into sports. He’s the flutist too, right? Ummmm.. well rounded boy, indeed. Good luck to him! And don’t tire yourself too much. Moms need strength.🙂

    Reply
  • 17. niceheart  |  January 29, 2007 at 10:11 pm

    Thanks for the comments everyone.

    Yes, Eric, he is getting taller. Although he is still one of the small players in his grade level. I guess he takes after mom when it comes to height, or the lack thereof.🙂

    You’re right, BW. My two youngest sons played in the Spring League two years ago and I also went to every practice and games. They did learn a lot about teamwork, playing fair, how playing is more about having fun and not just about winning, etc.

    No, Rhodora. Ryan is the one who’s into sports. It’s my 17-year old son who’s into jazz music and the flutist.🙂

    Reply
  • 18. iskoo  |  January 29, 2007 at 10:46 pm

    looks like ryan is enjoying the game. kung maibabalik ko lang ang nakaraan sana nakisali ako sa mga tournaments, hehe. relax relax, pagkatapos ng hard work pahinga naman.

    Reply
  • 19. haze  |  January 30, 2007 at 10:58 am

    Go team go! I love playing basketball too🙂 ! Goodluck to Ryland’s team and go for the gold ! Niceheart, you must have a very hectic schedule so take time to rest too during WE😉 !

    Reply
  • 20. Toe  |  January 30, 2007 at 10:26 pm

    Wow, Ryan’s a real Pinoy. Basketball! 🙂

    Congratulations to him… I’m sure it’s not easy to get into the team. 🙂

    Naku, I doubt if you’d stop blogging because of this… if anything, you’d probably have a lot of exciting things to blog about because of basketball. 🙂

    Reply
  • 21. tin  |  January 31, 2007 at 3:36 am

    Wow! Cool! Sana manalo sila!

    Reply
  • 22. mmy-lei  |  January 31, 2007 at 5:32 am

    congrats to Ryan! hooray!

    So lucky for ryan to have you around to cheer for him. Dont stop blogging, we want to see more of ryan in action.😀

    Reply
  • 23. kathy  |  January 31, 2007 at 6:50 am

    Basketball, wow! Good luck to Ryan and his team! I understand very well about its effect on your blogging activities. Family comes first!🙂

    Reply
  • 24. Abaniko  |  January 31, 2007 at 10:10 am

    But you should chronicle the games of your kid on your blog. So there’s no point abandoning the blogosphere for two long months.🙂

    Reply
  • 25. niceheart  |  January 31, 2007 at 11:34 pm

    Thanks again for the comments, guys.

    So far their team won 5 games out of 7. They were 4th place on Saturday’s tournament out of 8 teams. So I think that’s pretty good.

    I am not stopping blogging. 🙂 I am just cutting back my blogging time.

    Reply
  • 26. manual nissan xterra  |  March 27, 2007 at 7:35 am

    manual nissan xterra

    Search results for ‘manual nissan xterra’.

    Reply
  • 27. mercedes or westmont  |  March 27, 2007 at 2:01 pm

    mercedes or westmont

    mercedes or westmont foundation

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tweet!


