Avocado and Pineapple

January 18, 2007 at 11:30 pm 34 comments

Do you remember my fruit platter from New Year’s Eve?  We had 13 different kinds of fruits and it took us over a week to eat all of them.  Of course I didn’t buy just one apple or one orange.  I bought a bag of each.  Except for some of the fruits.  The kiwi, I only bought two; avocado, three; and one each of the watermelon, cantaloupe and the pineapple. 

This is how I prepare our avocados.  First I slice it in half.  I take the pit out with either a spoon or a knife.  I scoop the flesh out with a spoon. 

avocado1.jpg 

I add sugar, milk and ice cubes.  It’s good.

avocado22.jpg  

We don’t buy this often though.  It’s not cheap.  This was $1.28 each on New Year’s Eve. 

Another fruit we seldom buy is the pineapple.  We only started seeing pineapples in the supermarket here about five years ago.  Before that, the only pineapples my children knew were the canned ones.  On New Year’s Eve, I bought only a small one.  This was just as tall as my hand, not including the leafy top. 

pinya1.jpg 

First thing I do is cut the top off.  Then I cut off the skin like this.

pinya20.jpg 

I make diagonal slits to cut the eyes.

pinya21.jpg 

Then I slice them.  I dip them in salt even if they are sweet.

pinya31.jpg

Entry filed under: Food. Tags: .

Random thoughts on our weekend gathering Five things you might NOT want to know about me

34 Comments Add your own

  • 1. tin  |  January 19, 2007 at 1:39 am

    Weeee! perst ako!!🙂

    Ganyan din ang ginagawa ni mama sa Avocado since nasira ang blender namin. At ang tawag namin dyan ay Avocado con Yelo! Hahaha!

    Dito kasi sa Pinas, nagtaas yung mga presyo ng prutas so imbis na 13kinds, 5kinds of fruits nalang ang nabili ni mama.

    Reply
  • 2. ann  |  January 19, 2007 at 6:38 am

    3pcs lang each ang binili ko sa ibang fruits pero may mga nasira pa rin at naitapon lang.

    I’m just imagining you while cutting that pineapple, after ng bawat hiwa mo ay picture muna…hehehe. Unless meron kang photographer dyan sa tabi mo.

    Meron dito sa mismong supermarket, yang pineapple pinapasok sa isang machine then paglabas ay maliit na lang, parang size na lang sya nung nilalagay sa lata. Ang daming nasasayang. Each is worth sr7 (P98). Galing daw ng pinas.

    Reply
  • 3. rhodora  |  January 19, 2007 at 7:21 am

    naglaway ako dun sa pineapple…. aahhhh.. this made me crave for something sour — manggang hilaw kaya with bagoong? whow!

    Reply
  • 4. kathy  |  January 19, 2007 at 7:45 am

    That picture of the “avocado con yelo” brings back childhood memories! There used to be an avocado tree right outside the house where we stayed for a couple of years in Baguio. Everytime an avocado became ripe enough to eat, we would take it and prepare it in exactly the same way you mentioned. And we always used condensed milk for that extra sweetness!🙂

    Reply
  • 5. cruise  |  January 19, 2007 at 8:35 am

    di mo pa rin pala talaga nakalimutan ang pinoy style, thats good. parang di pa npanahon ng avocado ngayon dito sa pinas. pero yan pinya parang all year round na crops na ngayon dito at matatamis na.

    Reply
  • 6. Hsin  |  January 19, 2007 at 8:54 am

    I’ve never had avocado that way before. We eat it just on toast with a little sprinkled salt. And of course, in salads. But your sounds quite yummy.

    You cut your own pineapple? Wow. I don’t even know how. Fortunately, being here in Asia, I can buy cut pineapple easily. And yes, we eat ours with salt too. It’s to prevent your tongue from stinging, I believe.

    Reply
  • 7. JO  |  January 19, 2007 at 10:26 am

    That’s how I eat my avocado too, but not too much milk. I miss avocado, it is sooooo expensive here… parang $3-4 a piece! ouch.

    Reply
  • 8. pining  |  January 19, 2007 at 10:33 am

    Hi niceheart🙂 I like eating avocado that way , too. Sometimes I would put yoghurt and honey or sometimes use it as a dip, you know like guacamole
    Dito rin, mahal ang fresh pineapple, kaya I just buy the tinned ones.. pero mas masarap ang fresh one, di ba?

    Reply
  • 9. Sunshine  |  January 19, 2007 at 11:30 am

    Yummy!

    Reply
  • 10. haze  |  January 19, 2007 at 2:33 pm

    We Filipinos consider avocado as a fruit but in france it’s vegetable ! I was used eating avocado with milk and sugar and I feel strange when I eat avocado in France with mustard, olive oil, salt and pepper (they make salad out of it) ! Maybe you should try, tell me what you think !🙂

    Reply
  • 11. Michelle  |  January 19, 2007 at 3:25 pm

    Yum! I miss avocado, since I came here in canada di pa ulit ako nakakain nyan😦

    Reply
  • 12. vic  |  January 19, 2007 at 3:31 pm

    That’s exactly how we prepared the pineapple for snacks back in the 60s. I remember we had a lot and lots of them. I’m from Iloilo and Capiz was famous for pineapple growing during those years.

    Avocado is very expensive, and have it very seldom too. I’ll stick with Banana chiquitita, we have it in abundance and they are very healthy…

    Reply
  • 13. zingtrial  |  January 19, 2007 at 8:00 pm

    Hi my friend you always have something nice.Believe it or not,avocado is not a vegetable, but a fruit.And yes I like mine with milk and avocado Ice Cream 🙂 .I am hungry now.Thanks for sharing.I wasn’t blogging for a while.Things are cool now
    Wish you well

    Reply
  • 14. Kyels  |  January 19, 2007 at 8:02 pm

    Wow, the photos are making me hungry.

    Is the avocado some kinda dessert?

    (:

    Reply
  • 15. Belle  |  January 19, 2007 at 10:09 pm

    yummy dessert! here in AZ., avocado sells 2 for a dollar, sometimes 68 cents a piece. i make salsa out of the avocado, plus tomatoes, cilanto, onions, orange and lemon juice, and dash of tabasco. i chop them all up and voila…delicious salsa!

    Reply
  • 16. niceheart  |  January 19, 2007 at 11:08 pm

    Tin, hindi ko alam na may tawag pala diyan ha. Hindi na bale kung 5 fruits lang. Mahal nga kasi ng prutas ngayon.

    Ha ha ha, Ann. Ako nga rin ang photographer at panay nga ang tigil ko para kunan ng picture. Natawa tuloy ako sa sarili ko ngayon.🙂 Napapailing na nga lang itong mga kasama ko sa bahay kapag nahuhuli akong kumukuha ng pictures.🙂

    Rhodora, gusto ko rin ng manggang hilaw. Kaya lang hindi ako kumakain ng bagoong, asin lang ang sa akin.

    Btw, I have been visiting your blog and I don’t know why my comments always get rejected. I share your sentiments about your rocker son because my oldest one is also passionate with his music.🙂

    Reply
  • 17. niceheart  |  January 19, 2007 at 11:13 pm

    Kathy, I haven’t tried it with condensed milk. Now, I might next time we buy avocado. I use lots of sugar in mine.

    Cruise, syempre naman hindi ko nakakalimutan ang pinoy style. Kaya iyan din ang alam ng mga anak ko.

    Hsin, I’ve never tried avocado in salad. So that must be the reason we eat pineapple with salt. I know it kinda bites your tongue when you eat it. But I always used salt with my fruits, like mangoes and strawberries, I also eat with salt.

    Reply
  • 18. niceheart  |  January 19, 2007 at 11:20 pm

    Wow, JO. That is way more expensive. I also don’t think I’d buy avocados if they cost that much.

    Pining, I agree. Fresh ones taste better than the canned ones. I haven’t tried guacamole and I was wondering what that would taste like.

    Yes Sunshine, they’re both yummy.🙂

    Haze, maybe I’ll try it with salad next time, but minus the mustard, which I don’t like.🙂

    Reply
  • 19. niceheart  |  January 19, 2007 at 11:25 pm

    There’s no avocado there in Toronto, Michelle? O mahal din ba diyan?

    Vic, that’s the only way I know how to prepare pineapple. So I guess avocado is expensive everywhere.

    Zingtrial, nice to see you back. Avocado ice cream? Now I want a taste of that.🙂

    Reply
  • 20. niceheart  |  January 19, 2007 at 11:26 pm

    Kyels, yes, we serve avocado as a dessert.

    Belle, I saw that picture of salsa on your blog and it looks yummy.🙂

    Reply
  • 21. bw  |  January 19, 2007 at 11:37 pm

    These two fruits are very Pinoy indeed. I could turn that avocado concoction into avocado shake🙂 Sabi aphrodisiac raw ang avocado🙂

    Reply
  • 22. Prab  |  January 20, 2007 at 1:46 am

    Nagutom ako bigla. Makes me crave for avocado. I put more milk with mine though. Kaya sometimes after eating to much, I find that nature suddenly calls me. lol

    Reply
  • 23. mmy-lei  |  January 20, 2007 at 2:04 am

    never tried eating avocado like the way you prepared, always do it with blender.

    hmmm, i’ll try it nga.

    Reply
  • 24. Toe  |  January 20, 2007 at 2:41 am

    You’re really a good mom Niceheart. I buy my pineapples sliced already. I think I’d cut all my fingers if I do what you did. 🙂

    Avocados look yummy! 🙂

    Reply
  • 25. Enteng  |  January 20, 2007 at 3:07 am

    Dabes talaga yung avocado!Nakakamiss!

    Reply
  • 26. KD  |  January 20, 2007 at 4:26 am

    Yung supermarket dito like geant & carrefor pagbumili ka ng pineapple (galing sya sa pinas) pwedeng ipabalat at ipaslice sa machine kaya lang ang daming nasasayang. Okay talaga yung sliced by hand kaya di namin sinubok yung machine.
    Akala ko sa unang picture eh yung ilalagay sa face ung avocado na parang pampa beauty hehehe

    Reply
  • 27. Sunshine  |  January 20, 2007 at 5:03 am

    Here in Sweden, avocado is also considered as avegetable and not a fruit. They have it in their salad and of course as “guacamole” in tacos. =D Rather good actually.

    Reply
  • 28. iskoo  |  January 20, 2007 at 9:23 am

    wow kapag i blend yang gawa mo mong avocado sa yelo, wow ang sarap na shake nyan!

    Reply
  • 29. niceheart  |  January 20, 2007 at 11:47 pm

    BW, aphrodisiac ba? I’ve never heard that before.

    Prab, lol.🙂

    Mmy-lei, I’ve never tried it in the blender. I might try that too.

    Toe, we don’t get it sliced here, kasi.

    Reply
  • 30. niceheart  |  January 20, 2007 at 11:54 pm

    Enteng, so bili na. Hindi pa ba panahon diyan?

    KD, marami ngang maaaksya kung sliced by machine, ano? Ikaw talaga, pampa-beauty ba? I only use cream on my face.🙂

    Sunshine, I should try guacamole one of these days.

    Iskoo, masarap bang avocado shake? I think I should try that too.

    Reply
  • 31. dimaks  |  January 22, 2007 at 3:22 am

    I saw avocados being used by a mexican friend in making sauce/dip for fried chicken and grilled fish and for vegetable salads too. Also, lemon juice is a very good partner of avocado sauce/dip.

    Reply
  • 32. rhodora  |  January 22, 2007 at 11:49 pm

    thanks for tagging me…

    yes, i have problems with my comments, and the “low-tech” that i am, i am still figuring out how to fix it.

    thanks for visiting my blog. yes, my son is a rocker. lol! he keeps a day job, though.

    i have seen photos of your son here in your site, he plays the flute, right? galing! ganyan yata talaga – talented parents have talented kids… hehehe.

    Reply
  • 33. Lazarus  |  January 24, 2007 at 2:00 am

    I really like avocados. My grandparents have five trees in Mindanao, and we harvest them every August or September. I used to make avocado flavored ice candies when I was in elementary school.

    Reply
  • 34. niceheart  |  January 24, 2007 at 8:43 pm

    Dimaks, looks like avocado is very popular as sauce and dip. Thanks for dropping by.🙂

    You’re welcome rhodora. And thank you also for mentioning me in your post.🙂

    Lazarus, so I guess avocado is also a popular flavour for ice cream and ice candies.🙂 Hope they’re not as expensive over there as it is here.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tweet!


