My Top Ten TV Shows of 2006 – Pinoyatbp.

January 14, 2007 at 11:59 pm 2 comments

February 24, 2008 update:

This article was originally published in Pinoyatbp.

In my spare time, I love to read, blog and watch TV. A few of my favourite talk shows are The View, Oprah, and The Ellen Show. But most of the shows I watch are shown at night.

So here are

My Top Ten Prime Time TV Shows of 2006:

1. Survivor: Cook Islands – 20 contestants were initially grouped into four tribes by race: African-American, Asian-American, Caucasian and Latino. This generated a controversy in the beginning. But the contestants were soon merged into other tribes other than their race. This is the first time a Filipino-American made it into this reality show, Jenny, a real estate agent. In the first episode, it was the Asian-American tribe who won the first immunity challenge. And who’s the sole survivor in the end? Yul Kwon, from the same tribe.

2. The Amazing Race 10 – Twelve teams of two raced around the world for a chance to win a million dollars. The first team that caught my eye was Peter and Sarah. She is an amputee, with only one leg and I just admired her for being such a competitor in spite of her disability. But towards the end, Peter’s true colours emerged and he was just mean to Sarah. They lost. After that I focused my attention to the last two remaining all-women teams, particularly on the Alabama moms, Lyn and Karlyn. Because I am a woman and a mother and I’m all for girl power. But it was Tyler and James who won in the end.

3. Dancing with the Stars – The celebrity contestants were better in the third installment of this ballroom dancing show. Jerry Springer had been an unlikely favourite when viewers saw his softer side as he shared how he wanted to learn the waltz so he could dance with his daughter on her wedding day. So far from the character we saw on The Jerry Springer Show. In the end, it was a battle between Mario Lopez and Emmitt Smith, who were both great, the former having a previous dancing background but the latter, an ex-football player who evolved into a great dancer and was even nicknamed Twinkle Toes. I think that’s why people voted for him. He’s your everyday guy and it shows you that if you just try all your best, you can be great at whatever you do.

4. Ugly Betty – Betty Suarez wears orthodontic braces and red-rimmed eyeglasses and she has bushy hair and bushy eyebrows. Yet I love it when she says, “I am an attractive, intelligent, confident business woman.” She was hired as an assistant to the editor-in-chief of Mode fashion magazine but what she didn’t know was that the father of the editor hired her because he didn’t want his son to be tempted to sleep with his beautiful assistants anymore. What I love about Betty is that she’s beautiful inside. And I also love the bond that developed between her and her boss Daniel Meade and how they help each other in sticky situations

5. Everybody Hates Chris – The title of this series is a spoof of another favourite TV sitcom, Everybody Loves Raymond. Everybody Hates Chris is based on the teen-age life of comedian Chris Rock while he was growing up in an inner city neighbourhood in New York. It’s a favourite of mine because not only are the characters very funny but the topics are always timely, just like any family shows.

6. Desperate Housewives – Drama, comedy, thriller, soap opera. What more could you ask for? Desperate Housewives is a show about the lives of five women in a suburban neighbourhood. There’s Susan Mayer, a single mom who’s dying for love; Bree, the perfect housewife, ala Martha Stewart; Lynette who’s trying to be a super mom; Gabrielle, the ex-model who’s not satisfied with her comfortable life and had an affair with her teen-aged gardener; and Edie, the husband/boyfriend stealer.

7. Lost – Strangers are stranded on a remote island in the Pacific after their plane crashed. Doesn’t this remind you of Survivor? The first few episodes hinted of a mysterious monster that lives in the island. But each character is also just as mysterious and we learn more about them in a series of flashbacks. I love this show because it always keeps me on the edge of my seat. There’s always a cliffhanger at the end of each show.

8. The Office – The cast is headed by Steve Carrell, who by the way, I love in The 40 Year Old Virgin. He plays, Michael Scott, the regional manager of a paper company. He acts foolishly and he can sometimes be insensitive. The other characters are also very interesting. But what I love the most is the love interest between Pam and Jim.

9. The Nine – Nine people, mostly strangers, are linked together after a bank robbery. The story of what happened inside the bank during the 52-hour standoff is slowly revealed in each episode as the characters continue to meet after the ordeal.

10. Brothers and Sisters – The cast is headed by the wonderful Sally Field who plays mother to five grown up children. In the first episode, her husband dies and the children discover his affair with another woman and his embezzlement of money in the family business. Not only is this family grieving but each one of them is also struggling with their own lives. There is a gay brother, a war veteran who suffers from addiction, a daughter who has opposite political views with her mother, and two others who are trying to fix the family business. It has a great ensemble cast, which also includes Calista Flockhart.

Entry filed under: Books, movies, music, TV, Pinoyatbp.. Tags: .

My Top Ten TV Shows of 2006 Random thoughts on our weekend gathering

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. My Top Ten TV Shows of 2006 « n i c e h e a r t  |  February 24, 2008 at 4:04 pm

    […] February 24, 2008 update: You can now view this article here. […]

    Reply
  • 2. niceheart  |  February 24, 2008 at 4:07 pm

    These are the responses to my article “My Top Ten TV Shows of 2006 as published in Pinoyatbp.

    Wil on January 14th, 2007 at 9:05 pm:

    I also like Everybody hates Chris. Haven’t seen it in a while, but it’s one of the few shows I watch. I also like Dancing with the Stars 3 since I used to dance ballroom a few years back. hehe.

    Karen on January 15th, 2007 at 12:12 am:

    uy, desperate housewives! love ko yan. favourite housewife ko si lynette and then si bree jus coz she’s so funny. during finals when i study for 8 hours, i’d schedule my dinner around that time so i could watch it too.

    Ferdz on January 15th, 2007 at 9:49 am:

    On your list I also watch Lost and Amazing Race. Betty Lafea (Ugly Betty) is showing there?! It’s a really funny series and was a hit here many years back.
    I’d add smallville and doctor house on that list

    eric on January 16th, 2007 at 1:27 am:

    Nos. 5, 6, 7, and 8 were the ones I favored, but I hardly watch TV these days. I have this on again off again relationship with television

    JO on January 16th, 2007 at 2:57 am:

    # 2 6 7 are my favorites!!!!!!

    irene on January 16th, 2007 at 7:31 am:

    Wow Wil! So you’re a dancer pala. My husband’s uncle who’s here in Winnipeg also dances-ballroom. I just admire people who dance. Because I can’t.

    Karen, pareho pala tayo. I enjoy watching all of them, but the one I can relate to the most is Lynette.

    irene on January 16th, 2007 at 7:35 am:

    Ferdz, yes, Ugly Betty is one of my favourite new shows. And it just won the Golden Globe for best comedy TV show. America Ferreira also won best actress in a comedy series for her role as Betty.
    I also love Smallville. Only reason it’s not on my list is because it’s not shown on prime time here. But I always have a date with the gorgeous Tom Welling on Sundays from 5-6 pm.

    irene on January 16th, 2007 at 7:40 am:

    Eric, so you also watch the housewives pala. My kids also love Chris and they have no choice but to watch Lost because it’s on while we’re having supper on Wednesday nights.

    watson on January 16th, 2007 at 7:43 am:

    Niceheart, I haven’t had time to catch up on TV, but I also enjoyed watching your Nos. 1 and 2. The others … medyo di ako familiar. I’m so out of touch already with TV. When I moved house, my TV went to my wife in Baguio (they also moved house at the same time as I did), so now I just watch whatever is showing with my pad buddy. Unfortunately, he’s one of those people who can’t decide what to watch and constantly switches channels. Bummer.

    Irene on January 16th, 2007 at 7:46 am:

    Hey, watson. That’s the same reason I can’t watch with my husband. He’d also switch the channels and it’s better if we watch our shows separately. Yes, Survivor and The Amazing Race have both been my all-time favourites.

    Lani on January 16th, 2007 at 10:35 am:

    I love Amazing Race and Ugly Betty (here it’s Betty LaFea). Did you know na meron na ring The Amazing Race Asia, kaya lang di ko pa napapanood. 2 Filipino teams ang kasama doon, unfortunately, walang pumasok sa finale.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tweet!


