A Frosty Morning

January 8, 2007 at 10:51 pm 24 comments

Today, Winnipeggers woke up to a frosty morning.  It was a chilly minus 19 C but the view outside was so lovely.  There was frost on all the trees.  It started out cloudy but the sun started to peek out at around 10:00 a.m.  I couldn’t resist it and I just had to go out there for a walk and take these pictures before the sun melted all that beautiful frost.

frosty morning

frost on the branches

frost on the evergreens

Entry filed under: Winnipeg, Winter, Winterpeg. Tags: .

Snow route parking bans The boyfriend

24 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Karen  |  January 8, 2007 at 11:00 pm

    wow, you were able to take pictures. i’m jealous! i just locked the door behind me to go the bus stop when i was able to see the frosted trees in my neighbourhood. i almost went back inside to get the camera, but i didn’t want to miss my bus, so i went. almost everything melted when i got home. agh. maybe next time.

    Reply
  • 2. domestic rat  |  January 9, 2007 at 1:44 am

    It’s so fairytale like…. similar to what Enid Blyton would describe in the books. I wish I were there to take in the cold, the dampness of the ground and hahah, blowing into the cold air!

    Reply
  • 3. eric  |  January 9, 2007 at 4:07 am

    The top picture is gorgeous, Irene!

    I love it, but I don’t like the snow🙂

    Reply
  • 4. kathy  |  January 9, 2007 at 7:22 am

    great shots! thank you so much for sharing these pics. it’s only barely above zero C here in japan, and we’re already freezing! how much more would a minus 19 C feel?

    but i take it back…i don’t really want to know! ”🙂

    Reply
  • 5. pining  |  January 9, 2007 at 12:30 pm

    hi niceheart🙂 yes, what gorgeous pics.. I guess Winnipeg is not affected by global warming then 🙂

    Reply
  • 6. Jeff  |  January 9, 2007 at 12:30 pm

    Gorgeous photos.
    I wish it was this cold in Ottawa, because they’res absolutely no ice on the Rideau Canal. The world’s longest skating rink is a river at the moment.

    Reply
  • 7. JO  |  January 10, 2007 at 12:57 am

    wow! nice!

    you know, with the temp like that, I wouldn’t even dream of taking a walk. i’d rather stay home and be warm.

    Reply
  • 8. Major Tom  |  January 10, 2007 at 1:51 am

    I wonder how it feels to be out there in the snow; I use to see pictures of my cousins prancing round em in Vancouver and it must have been real fun by the smiles on their faces. It gonna take a miracle to have snow fall here somewhere in the Philippines so for the meantime, I’ll just be having that dream of a fun wade into the snowy lanes.

    Reply
  • 9. Major Tom  |  January 10, 2007 at 1:53 am

    It must be real fun to wade into the snowy lanes. My cousins in Vancouver used to send us pictures of em playing and prancing round hills of snow.

    Reply
  • 10. mmy-lei  |  January 10, 2007 at 4:45 am

    GALING!!!

    wish we have snow here in the desert! hehehe

    Reply
  • 11. watson  |  January 10, 2007 at 5:09 am

    Ang ganda niceheart. Reminds me of the time winter started to leave Narnia sa The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe

    Reply
  • 12. bw  |  January 10, 2007 at 8:34 am

    good pics. We just had our first negative temp this morning -6 deg but no snow but won’t last long..forecast for weekend is +8🙂

    Reply
  • 13. ipanema  |  January 10, 2007 at 8:41 am

    Lovely photod niceheart! And what a lovely sight those trees are. Ang ganda.

    Reply
  • 14. tin  |  January 10, 2007 at 8:44 am

    lovely shot! sana may winter din dito sa Pinas. Hehehe!

    Reply
  • 15. iskoo  |  January 10, 2007 at 9:30 am

    i must say that the picture in photo number 1 is really beautiful, at first i thought that the tree is cherry blossom but after i read and saw the next picture, it was just frost. ganda talaga ng view, yung effect ng frosting sa puno🙂

    Reply
  • 16. Toe  |  January 10, 2007 at 8:31 pm

    It’s like a Winter Wonderland Niceheart! That site is worth all the shivers. 🙂

    Reply
  • 17. niceheart  |  January 10, 2007 at 11:13 pm

    Thank you for all the comments. It really was a wonderful sight that morning, though only temporary. By afternoon, all the frost were gone.

    I still feel excited when the snow is falling, and it’s a nice feeling to walk out there, as long as it’s not that cold. Minus 19 C is not that bad as long as you’re properly dressed.

    Reply
  • 18. haze  |  January 11, 2007 at 3:07 am

    I wish that we will have snow on February going to the Alps. In Marseille it’s like Spring we have 20° (shaded) during the afternon! Thank you Niceheart for sharing to us a taste of Snowy Winnepeg…. It’s always nice to have snow during winter!

    Reply
  • 19. Swipe  |  January 11, 2007 at 5:37 am

    just blog hopping. those are really nice shots. Although I’d like to see snow in my lifetime, I can’t imagine having to go through what the guys in your previous post had to. It’s just too much snow.

    nice blog, by the way.

    Reply
  • 20. Sidney  |  January 11, 2007 at 5:38 pm

    Indeed, very beautiful!

    Reply
  • 21. noemi  |  January 12, 2007 at 1:05 am

    you captured the photos so well. I wish I could touch them. I am just bowled over.

    Reply
  • 22. Kyels  |  January 12, 2007 at 3:33 am

    I was just wondering what would it feel like to wake up on a frosty morning.

    (:

    Reply
  • 23. Leah  |  January 12, 2007 at 3:11 pm

    Hi,
    galing naman ng mga photos. Love it..love it!
    Can I feature the last one in my blog?

    Reply
  • 24. niceheart  |  January 12, 2007 at 8:53 pm

    Thanks again, guys, for the comments. I was really glad that I was able to capture these sights. When I first set out that morning, the sun would sometimes hide in the clouds and it was only on my way back home when it got sunny again. And my last few shots turned out the best.

    Swipe, thanks for dropping by.🙂

    Sure, Leah. Go ahead. You can use the photo.🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tweet!


