Snow route parking bans

January 7, 2007 at 11:57 pm 16 comments

We live in a residential area and we usually see quite a few cars parked in front of the apartment buildings across the street. 

This is one of the cars that was covered in snow after that snowfall we had on New Year’s Eve.

car covered in snow 

We were eating breakfast on the morning of New Year’s Day when my husband called my attention to the living room window and pointed out this guy trying to drive his car out of the street where he parked it overnight.  We watched this poor man try to get out off there but his front wheels just kept spinning in the same place.  He got out of the car and shoveled the snow under the wheels.  He tried to drive again but the wheels just kept getting deeper in the snow. He got out again and shoveled some more.    guy’s car stuck in snow

My husband started laughing. “Instead of laughing, why don’t you go out there, help him, and give him a push?”  I said a little irritated because I pity the poor guy.  But that was just me trying to squabble with my husband.  Because after I said that, I went and got my camera and took a couple of shots.  Just a couple because I was worried that he might catch me taking his pictures and then give me the finger. He he he.  Why is it that we sometimes laugh when others are in trouble?  Well, anyway, he finally got the car moving after about ten minutes and we squealed a silent “Yehey!” (Hurrah) for his success. 

Parking on the side of the streets, especially on most residential areas, are allowed here in Winnipeg.  You just have to watch out for the signs, which indicate what times of the day and/or days of the week and how long you can park your vehicle.  Like the right side of the sign below.  snow route parking ban

But also notice the left side of the sign.  That sign means that it is a snow route and you can not park there if there is an overnight parking ban, which is usually issued after a major snowfall. 

This is an excerpt from the Winnipeg Public Works website: 

Snow Route Overnight Parking Ban 

This parking ban is currently ON. 

snow routeWinnipeg has a system of important routes designated as Snow Routes.  These routes typically carry high volumes of traffic and are particularly important to ensuring rapid movement of emergency vehicles such as Police, Fire and Ambulance. 

From December 1st to March 1st, parking on city streets designated as Snow Routes is prohibited between 2:00 am and 6:00 am.  This ban is in effect annually.  Snow Routes are clearly marked with signs similar to the one shown here. 

Violators may be ticketed.”  

Aside from the overnight ban, there is also a 

Major Snowfall Parking Ban 

When major plowing is required on Snow Routes, the Director of Public Works may declare a Major Snowfall Parking Ban.  This ban prohibits any parking on Snow Routes between midnight and 6:00 am.  When declared, this ban will be announced on local radio stations and other news media. 

A Major Snowfall Parking Ban will normally only last one night, but may be extended as required. 

Violators may be ticketed and TOWED.” 

After that major snowfall we had on New Year’s Eve, a Major Snowfall Parking Ban was in effect for, I think, three days.  Yeah, it took that long to clear all the streets of Winnipeg.  And it cost the City $4 million to clear away all that snow.  Well, at least I know where part of my taxes went.

Entry filed under: Winnipeg, Winter, Winterpeg. Tags: .

Snow Removal A Frosty Morning

16 Comments Add your own

  • 1. JO  |  January 8, 2007 at 12:20 am

    oh wow! i pity the guy. same thing happened to me when we were just new to canada. i got stuck in a pile of snow and i was alone then, helpless with nobody to help me. our car didn’t have a shovel too so I can’t even dig myself out. since then, i vowed that i will never drive during heavy snowfall again.

    Reply
  • 2. ipanema  |  January 8, 2007 at 1:06 am

    wow. look what nature can do huh? lol. i was laughing at the man. and yes, it’s good that he didn’t catch you!🙂

    Reply
  • 3. cruise  |  January 8, 2007 at 10:02 am

    kung matabunan ng sasakyan tulad ng nasa picture#1 ang hirap siguro alisan ng yela yan no?

    Reply
  • 4. Ferdz  |  January 8, 2007 at 10:52 am

    Ganyan pala dyan pag me snow! Ako parang natutuwa makakita ng snow pero nagiging hassle rin minsan. Hehehe. Siguro ganun lng talga, nakaka-aliw minsan panoorin magkamali ang tao. Buti di ka nahuli kumukuha ng pictures.😛

    Reply
  • 5. pining  |  January 8, 2007 at 11:38 am

    Oh I say, aren’t you one nosey neighbour, he he he.. but it sure is funny though, anyway, poor thing😦

    Reply
  • 6. Kyels  |  January 8, 2007 at 7:30 pm

    I pity the guy, cause he had to shovel all the snow again in order to get the car wheels to move. But I guess that happens when there’s a snow fall, aye?

    (:

    Reply
  • 7. Toe  |  January 8, 2007 at 8:26 pm

    Ah dito, you can park anywhere… even in the middle of the street. 🙂 That first picture likes like a car cake with icing on top. 🙂 Poor guy! But I suppose the residents in the apartments don’t have indoor garages that’s why they have to park overnight in the streets?

    Reply
  • 8. Shoshana  |  January 8, 2007 at 9:16 pm

    Although I love snow pictures, I would be miserable in it. I just know it. I don’t like having to dig out my car to go anywhere.

    That said, this is really a good picture!😛

    Reply
  • 9. manilenya  |  January 8, 2007 at 10:25 pm

    waaahh bad kayu ni hubby mo bad!!! tsk tsk tsk!!

    hirap pala dyan buti na lang di ako marunong magdrive kaya di ako bibili ng kotse kaya okey lang kahit grabeh ang snow lol!

    Reply
  • 10. niceheart  |  January 8, 2007 at 11:03 pm

    JO, I was also stuck in snow before I was to take my first driving test. I was with my instructor then and I felt so bad. Then I got nervous during the road test and failed it and also the second one. Kaya siguro nagka-phobia na akong mag-drive.

    Ipanema, it was really funny watching him. I’m also glad that he didn’t catch me.🙂

    Reply
  • 11. niceheart  |  January 8, 2007 at 11:06 pm

    I’m not sure, cruise. Hindi pa kasi nangyari sa amin yan. This is the first winter that we ever had a car. I think it depends if the snow is heavy.

    Ferdz that’s true. Snow is lovely but it can be a such a hassle. Ewan ko kung bakit nga ba nakakatawang panooring magkamali ang isang tao.🙂

    Reply
  • 12. niceheart  |  January 8, 2007 at 11:10 pm

    Pining, I’m not usually nosey naman. So don’t worry about being my neighbour.🙂

    Kyels, the lesson here is don’t park your car in the street overnight.🙂

    Toe, this particular apartment has an underground parking lot. I think this guy was a visitor so he had to park in the street.

    Reply
  • 13. niceheart  |  January 8, 2007 at 11:12 pm

    Thanks, Shoshana. You only have to dig out naman after a heavy snowfall like this one.

    Manilenya, we’ve been bad nga.😦 Ako rin takot mag-drive sa snow.

    Reply
  • 14. dee  |  January 9, 2007 at 12:33 am

    Wow…we just had our first bit of snow today. It has been in the fifties and sixties here most of the month of dec. and all of this month til today.

    Reply
  • 15. zeroimpact  |  January 9, 2007 at 4:29 am

    Snow snow snow
    I’d like to have snow but I don’t want to shovel my way through🙂

    Reply
  • 16. niceheart  |  January 10, 2007 at 11:38 pm

    Dee, you must be excited with your first snowfall.🙂

    Zeroimpact, I didn’t think you’d also like to shovel.🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tweet!


