My top ten posts of 2006

January 3, 2007 at 9:31 pm 15 comments

WordPress has this feature called Blog Stats, which tracks down the hits on my posts.  And I am also able to add that feature to my side bar and watch which of my posts is getting the most hits each day.

The following is my top ten posts of 2006: 

  1. Tickle Me Elmo – It’s Tickle Me Elmo’s tenth year anniversary and Fischer Price released its new line of Tickle Me Elmo, the TMX.  Seeing Elmo on TV brought back memories of how I got my son his own Tickle Me Elmo ten years ago.
  2. Secrets of Mother/Daughter Relationships – This was also the title of an ABC 20/20 show, which discussed the most complex female relationship.  Mothers and daughters – sometimes they’re enemies, sometimes the best of friends.  You love her, sometimes you hate her.  A lot of mothers and daughters related to this.
  3. Can men and women be just friends?The first time Harry met Sally, he said to her, “Men and women can’t be friends because no man can be friends with a woman that he finds attractive.  He always wants to have sex with her.”  This started out as a light post about a movie titled, When Harry met Sally.  And in the end I threw this question:  Is it possible for a man and a woman to be friends without turning into a romantic relationship?  I was surprised that people shared their experiences.  And although I didn’t intend to share mine, it somehow came out of me.
  4. Downtown Winnipeg – Portage Avenue – I played tour guide on this post and showed some of the establishments on Portage Avenue, both old and new.  I said there’d be more to come but I somehow got busy and didn’t have time to show the rest of Downtown Winnipeg.  But I will try to do that sooner or later.  And another unpleasant remark from anothergene won’t stop me from doing that. (See comments # 30, 31 and 33 of this post.) 
  5. The Price of my Vanity – I shared how I had a facial mole removed last spring and I got a few reactions and questions.
  6. Why does the cold weather make us pee?  After watching a basketball game with my two sons at the MTS Centre, they both refused to use the washroom before we headed to the bus stop.  Then just a few minutes before our bus was supposed to come, Ryan kept pacing back and forth and I knew he had to pee.  I made him use the washroom and told him over and over that since we already had the cold weather, he had to pee before we had to leave the house or wherever place we are.  And he asked me that question.
  7. Cool treats and a cool birthday party – I showcased a few cool treats from Dairy Queen and I also shared how we celebrated Ryan’s 12th birthday party.
  8. First Communion – I related how I attended parents’ meetings in preparation for my youngest son’s First Communion and how we had to share memories of our own First Communion.  It was very interesting to hear how each parent remembered his/her own experience.  And as my son received this sacrament, I also wondered what his memories would be of this special day.
  9. A communal celebration of reconciliation – This was the last of a three-part post in which I related how I prepared my youngest son for his first reconciliation (confession).  My son didn’t receive this Sacrament in the confessional box, but rather, it was a communal celebration in which parents and children lined up to the altar and whispered their sins to the two priests who were standing there.
  10. Forgiveness comes from the most unexpected place – I related a very personal story of how my father’s alcoholism destroyed our family, and the anger and pain that it brought.  And then later on, the healing process that we all went through.

I also want to take this opportunity to thank everybody who have visited this site and shared their views, comments and reactions to my posts, both good ones and bad ones. I have also visited many sites and met many blog-friends from all over the world.  It’s been great bouncing back ideas with people who have the same interests as me.  And I’ve enjoyed exchanging views, as well, with anybody who didn’t agree with me on any occasion.  As I’ve said a few times before, I respect everybody’s opinion. 

And I guess that is the beauty of blogging.  So here’s to many more posts and many more visits to each other’s blogs.  Cheers!

Entry filed under: Detour. Tags: .

After the snowfall Snow Removal

15 Comments Add your own

  • 1. JO  |  January 3, 2007 at 11:11 pm

    Hi. Thanks for sharing these posts. I just recently started reading your blog and have browse through your archives once before but have not really read them.

    I am simply touched with the story you share about your father. Thank you for sharing that story.

    Reply
  • 2. Sunshine  |  January 4, 2007 at 4:01 am

    Every posts/contribution you write makes me stop for a while. Thank you so much for the “stop and feel”-time you provide me.

    (the br 2 is something I soon must read.)

    Reply
  • 3. vina  |  January 4, 2007 at 4:42 am

    happy new year ms. niceheart!

    Reply
  • 4. Toe  |  January 4, 2007 at 5:27 am

    I love all your stories about your beautiful family Niceheart. They’re all very touching and honest and funny and heart-warming. I also like the stories about your past. It breaks my heart but it also opens my eyes. Thanks for sharing your life with us.

    Reply
  • 5. Jayred  |  January 4, 2007 at 1:08 pm

    Keep on blogging, Irene. Thanks for sharing your stories and insights with us. Nice meeting you on the Net through this fun (and therapeutic) activity called blogging.🙂

    All the best in 2007!

    Reply
  • 6. haze  |  January 4, 2007 at 2:23 pm

    Happy New Year Niceheart and to the whole family ! Just got back from a long trip (didn’t have internet connection), naku I’ve been missing my online friends & blogging😦 ! But hey i’m back and will keep on blogging ! ! Thanks a lot for sharing these nice read…I keep learning a lot from here🙂 !

    Wish you all the best this 2007 !

    Reply
  • 7. ipanema  |  January 4, 2007 at 5:52 pm

    That’s good list. Looking forward to the next top 10 of 2007!🙂

    Reply
  • 8. Kyels  |  January 4, 2007 at 7:33 pm

    Looking forward to read more posts from you Niceheart!

    (:

    Reply
  • 9. niceheart  |  January 4, 2007 at 11:31 pm

    JO, thanks for taking the time browsing through my archives.

    You’re welcome, Sunshine. I’m glad you enjoy reading my posts.🙂

    Happy new year too, Miss Vina!

    You’re welcome, Toe. I’m also glad you like my stories, both past and present.

    Reply
  • 10. niceheart  |  January 4, 2007 at 11:35 pm

    Nice meeting you too, Jayred. Yes, this blogging thing is quite therapeutic. I’ve had an emotionally draining year and blogging has been a very pleasant distraction.🙂

    Welcome back, Haze. And happy new year too. Wish you all the best in 2007.

    Thanks, ipanema and Kyels. I also look forward to reading more of your posts.🙂

    Reply
  • 11. ann  |  January 5, 2007 at 6:45 am

    Hello Irene! I’m glad I met you on line. Isa ka sa mga una kong link when I started blogging.

    More posts to come.

    Reply
  • 12. Jesy  |  January 5, 2007 at 8:14 am

    Hi, niceheart, yeh, I completely agree with Harry. Women and men for sure can’t be friends because of the sexual attractions. Even those who grew together, have a lot in common and considering themselves brother and sister, in the awkward age they will forget about all promises and start think over how to get much closer and finally grasp this unknown word “sex”.
    However, if after sexual relations they continue to love each other as before, in this very case we can speak about friendship.
    It would be an unusual kind of friendship, combining sex.
    So, I hold to opinion-no friendship without sex(between women and men)
    Cheers!
    Thanks for visiting me!

    Reply
  • 13. Abaniko  |  January 5, 2007 at 7:17 pm

    Great posts. I wonder what list I’ll come up with on my blog. Maybe, top 10 senseless entries of 2006? God, it’s gonna be a difficult thing to do. Lahat kaya ng posts ko, candidate. Hehe.

    Reply
  • 14. niceheart  |  January 5, 2007 at 11:44 pm

    Same here, Ann. Am also glad to know you.🙂

    Hi Jesy, thanks for your input. But there are also a lot of women who say that it is possible to be just friends with men.🙂

    Thanks Abaniko, I’m sure you’ll come up with a great list. Your top ten senseless entries would be a very interesting read for sure.🙂

    Reply
  • 15. Yfkon  |  May 20, 2007 at 2:17 pm

    helloy

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tweet!


