After the snowfall

January 2, 2007 at 11:12 pm 25 comments

If you have visited this blog last winter, you may already have seen me use the term Winterpeg.  This is the nickname coined to the city of Winnipeg because of its very cold and long winters.  Winters that usually start on October 31 and last up to April.  Winters in which temperature of minus 30 C is normal.  If you click on Winterpeg under my Categories on the right side of this page, you’ll see some pictures of snow, ice, snow sculptures, more snow, and heaping piles of snow. 

As I have mentioned in my previous post, we were dumped with 30 cm of snow on New Year’s eve.  It’s a good thing that it was a Sunday when it happened and it was still the Christmas holidays.  Otherwise, all that snow would have caused major disruptions in traffic, businesses and schools. 

This is our deck and backyard.  Look at all that pile of snow and also some on the garage roof.

snow 

The husband only managed to shovel a narrow pathway from our front door to the sidewalk.

snow 

After lunch, I took a walk around the neighbourhood.  It is a great opportunity to take pictures of the snow just after a snowfall like this.  The snow is still so clean and white. I started out on this sidewalk and my feet went deep under.

snow 

Although some has already been cleared of snow.  It was a lot easier to walk here.

 snow 

And then I came upon this path when I have to go to the other street.  I think that was about two feet deep of snow.  My socks and the bottom half of my pants were wet by the time I got home.

snow 

This is how long that path was.  I worked up a sweat just walking that short stretch.

snow  

To be continued.

Entry filed under: Winnipeg, Winter, Winterpeg. Tags: .

Our New Year’s Day 2007 My top ten posts of 2006

25 Comments Add your own

  • 1. JO  |  January 3, 2007 at 1:12 am

    oh wow! that’s too much snow!

    i’m just glad that we don’t have that much snow YET.

    Reply
  • 2. Rey  |  January 3, 2007 at 2:51 am

    Happy New Year!

    Grabe ang snow… Padala ka rito!🙂

    Reply
  • 3. Gypsy  |  January 3, 2007 at 3:55 am

    We may not have snow in Davao, but its been a pretty wet New Year, what with the amount of rainfall! But great to have cool weather after a sweltering hot, summery Christmas day! Happy New Year, Niceheart!

    Reply
  • 4. manilenya  |  January 3, 2007 at 7:49 am

    sus grabeh naman pala dyan …nakakakita lang ako ng ganyang snow kapag nanonood ako ng Little Bear sa Disney Playhouse🙂

    Reply
  • 5. cruise  |  January 3, 2007 at 8:02 am

    -30 deg, grabe. sa trabaho yung machine namin binubuhahan namin ng hangin (LN2) par mag stabilized yung internal temp ng machine to -30c grabe parang di ko maimagine na pumasok sa loob ng machine dahil sa sobrang baba ng temperature.

    Reply
  • 6. pining  |  January 3, 2007 at 2:16 pm

    ..so that’s where all the snow went! we were hoping for a white christmas but all we got are strong gales and miserable rain. I haven’t seen that much snow here, I tell you.. Oh well, just hope you got used to it, by now🙂

    Reply
  • 7. Cai  |  January 3, 2007 at 2:25 pm

    That’s a lot of snow…

    It’s warm here in Northeastern US. Sunny, and like spring.

    Reply
  • 8. bw  |  January 3, 2007 at 4:34 pm

    I left Toronto 2nd week of Dec in a 10 deg C weather and came back Jan 3rd in a +5 deg C🙂 Didn’t see a drop of snow since I felt and came back. Hope it stays this way until spring !

    Reply
  • 9. ann  |  January 3, 2007 at 5:16 pm

    Di na lang siguro ako lalabas…hehehe. Dito nga nag 3*C di na makapagsalita ng maayos si Josh, nanginginig ang baba…hahaha!

    Reply
  • 10. eric  |  January 3, 2007 at 7:09 pm

    You are very very lucky to have a husband that shovels the snow without complaining. That is not an easy task to do. I’ve done it and didn’t enjoy it one bit.

    13 Celsius below — are you serious? and all that snow. Whoa! However, for the kids I’m sure it is fun🙂

    Keep warm guys!

    Reply
  • 11. Toe  |  January 3, 2007 at 9:27 pm

    That snow is so white and beautiful Niceheart! But I wouldn’t want to shovel it. 🙂

    Reply
  • 12. niceheart  |  January 3, 2007 at 9:53 pm

    JO, and we’re only in the middle of winter. There’s more to come.

    Rey, kung pwede nga lang i-Fed EX. Kaya lang siguradong matutunaw.🙂

    Gypsy, I also heard that there were parts of the US and Canada that had a wet New Year’s Day.

    Reply
  • 13. niceheart  |  January 3, 2007 at 9:58 pm

    Grabe nga, nalen. And considering na nasa southern part pa kami ng Canada. Eh di lalo na duon sa Northwest Territories.

    Cruise, I didn’t realize that you can create a minus 30 temperature na binubugahan lang ng hangin. We have thick and warm winter jackets naman to protect us from the cold.

    Uh oh, pining. We didn’t mean to rob you of a white Christmas.🙂 Yeah, we’re already used to this kind of weather.

    Reply
  • 14. niceheart  |  January 3, 2007 at 10:02 pm

    Cai, you wouldn’t believe this. But after that snowfall, we broke the record today for the highest temperature on January 3. High of plus 5 C. The snow was actually melting. I was out walking today and I was sweating.🙂 But of course, that’s only temporary. Back to freezing temperatures starting tomorrow.

    BW, as I was just saying to Cai, we also had a plus 5 today. But don’t you want to see snow even just for a little while?🙂 I don’t blame you though.

    Reply
  • 15. niceheart  |  January 3, 2007 at 10:08 pm

    Ann, I’m sure you’d also get used to it. I know what you mean with Josh.🙂 Kapag bago pa lang lumalamig dito, nanginginig din kami. Sometimes it also takes time to get the hang of it.

    Eric, I don’t think anybody ever enjoys shovelling the snow. And I haven’t shown you guys our driveway. It’s a long one. You can fit like five cars in it. Yeah, it’s that long. Ilan nga silang tulong tulong na nag-shovel that morning, my brother in law, nephews, husband and even Reggie.

    Toe, I didn’t think you’d enjoy shovelling snow, either.🙂

    Reply
  • 16. Jesy  |  January 4, 2007 at 2:24 am

    Ooo!How much snow!In my country yestarday we also had the first snow, but it is enough warm now and the snow is thawing😦 While staying in Russia I see the real snow! My mom told me that in some winters the snow covered entire villages, so in order to come out from a house you should have put a shawl on your face, open with all your forces the door and then, like under the water, tread out a way for yourself. I would like to be in such a situation. I think it is cool to be under the snow and then, after making a way, emerge on the snow surface, gulp the air and squint in front of the blinding sun…oh..dear Russia and all countries where there are big precipitations of snow!

    Reply
  • 17. Jayred  |  January 4, 2007 at 1:11 pm

    That’s a lot of snow out there. I don’t know if I can live in “Winterpeg.”🙂

    There’s still no snowfall in Switzerland — well, at least in our area (Biel-Bienne).

    Reply
  • 18. haze  |  January 4, 2007 at 2:28 pm

    We have less snow this winter, alps is not completely covered they have added snow in most of the ski resort😦 ! People are unhappy coz of a non snowy alps we have.

    Reply
  • 19. Kyels  |  January 4, 2007 at 7:32 pm

    OMG … Grabe ang snow!

    I’d love to walk on the snowy path, I’d love leave my footsteps there … Man, awesome!

    (:

    Reply
  • 20. niceheart  |  January 4, 2007 at 11:22 pm

    Hi Jesy, it’s also been warm here these past two days and snow is melting, but of course not all that snow.🙂

    Be careful what you wish for. We’ve experienced blizzards here and they’re no fun. You might think it’s cool to be submerged under the snow, but snow can be heavy too, you know.

    Reply
  • 21. niceheart  |  January 4, 2007 at 11:26 pm

    Jayred and Haze, I’ve been hearing about places that usually get snow and they don’t have snow yet as of now. And I also heard that 2007 will be the warmest year so far, around the world. Ah, I think it’s global warming. And it’s pretty scary too.

    So come to Winnipeg, next time, Kyels.🙂

    Reply
  • 22. kathy  |  January 5, 2007 at 6:10 am

    super snow! when i was in grad school, i lived farther up north in japan. that place also gets a lot of snow, although not as bad as in winterpeg.😉 nakakatuwa nong una kasi first time ko makaexperience ng snow. pero after a while, i started hating it hehe. do you also have hot water sprinklers on your streets?

    Reply
  • 23. Snow Removal « Journey to Honeyville  |  January 5, 2007 at 11:29 pm

    […] 5th, 2007 After a major snowfall like the one we had on New Year’s Eve, streets are immediately plowed here in Winnipeg.  The priority, of course, is the main […]

    Reply
  • 24. niceheart  |  January 5, 2007 at 11:40 pm

    Kathy, I know what you mean by hating the snow. 🙂 No we don’t have hot water sprinklers. Never heard of it before. There are a lot of fire hydrants. I think they are on every other block.

    Reply
  • 25. kathy  |  January 6, 2007 at 1:22 am

    niceheart, the hot water sprinklers are used to thaw the frozen ice on the streets to make them easier for vehicles to pass through. hmm. i thought this was something you can find in any country which experiences a lot of snow. seems like i was wrong.🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tweet!


