The Da Vinci Code

December 27, 2006 at 10:46 pm 10 comments

The Da Vinci CodeIt’s only when the kids are on vacation that I get to catch up on my movies.  You wouldn’t believe how many movies I have rented (and I also bought a few) this past summer vacation.  Maybe I will post a list here later.  So once the kids started their Christmas break this past weekend, I went right away to Rogers Video to rent two movies, The Da Vinci Code and The Door in the Floor. 

I have wanted to watch The Da Vinci Code since it came out in May this year, but I wasn’t able to see it in the theatres.  Actually, I checked with my sister first if she already has this movie so that I could just borrow it from her.  But no, she didn’t and she didn’t seem to be interested in watching it at all.  I just find it interesting because there she is, this very religious person and she wouldn’t watch The Da Vinci Code.  I on the other hand, who is not as religious as she is, wouldn’t watch The Passion of the Christ.  I don’t think I can stand the violent scenes.  I’ve seen Mel Gibson’s Braveheart and I had my eyes closed during the battle scenes.  Whereas, my sister saw The Passion in the theatres when it came out.  And she hasn’t seen any movies in the theatres here in Canada.  I think it is the first and only one that she did. 

The Da Vinci Code is a two-disc DVD.  And it said on the back of the cover – 246 minutes long.  I thought the movie itself is over four hours long, but it is only about two and a half hours.  The extra remaining minutes is all the added special features on Disc Two. 

The Da Vinci Code is not a movie that I would be normally interested.  But as I have mentioned in my May post, My Love Affair with Books, I was intrigued by all the hoopla it was generating and so I read the book, was fascinated, got hooked and couldn’t put the book down.  And I just had to watch the movie. 

I like Tom Hanks anyway and the lead actress, Audrey Tautou, is very pretty and reminded me a lot of the Philippine actress Aiko Melendez, as I remember her from 17 years ago.  I don’t know what she looks like now. 

This is a mystery novel/movie that will keep you thinking of who really the bad guy is.  And the ideas presented regarding the Holy Grail and the Last Supper are very thought-provoking. 

The Da Vinci Code is about Robert Langdon, a symbology professor, and Agent Sophie Neveau, the granddaughter of the curator of the Louvre Museum in Paris.  Langdon is being suspected of killing the curator and Sophie came to warn him and help him escape. 

I think one of the highlights of the movie is when Leigh Teabing, Langdon’s historian friend, explained to Sophie what the Holy Grail means.  It is not the chalice from where Jesus and his disciples drank the wine at the Last Supper but it is a female, namely, Mary Magdalene.  Teabing showed Sophie where Mary Magdalene is in Da Vinci’s painting of the Last Supper.  And he explained to her that Mary was actually the companion, the spouse of Jesus and she was pregnant at the time of the Crucifixion and was carrying Jesus’ bloodline.  The secret of the Holy Grail is Mary Magdalene’s descendant, a daughter named Sarah.   

I won’t go into any more details.  I think there are a lot of you who have either read the book or seen the movie.  But if you haven’t, you can read more at this link.   

I do understand how the devout and pious could find this movie scandalous.  And why my sister isn’t interested in seeing this movie.  As some of you already know, she had wanted to be a nun and entered the convent many years ago.  She left the convent and is married now with seven children but she is still very religious. She is a Roman Catholic and so am I.  But when she has people from the Couples for Christ over at her house, she’d joke to them that we are of different religions.   She’s active with the Block Rosary and I don’t pray the rosary.  I do pray every night in my own words.  We have different views on birth control and she doesn’t approve of the method I have chosen.  I don’t go to church every First Fridays but I do hear the Sunday mass.  We used to go to the same church, but since the parish priest would give her the Holy Host on her hand instead of directly in her mouth, they moved to a different church.    And both she and my brother-in-law are always ready to debate or defend their beliefs to anyone who would challenge them.  

We are so different but we respect each other because we are family after all.  And we all love each other despite our differences.

Entry filed under: Books, movies, music, TV, Roadblocks. Tags: .

Boxing Day in Canada Dolores Claiborne

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. JO  |  December 28, 2006 at 12:44 am

    I did watch this movie with a friend. And it hasn’t affected my belief. For me, it is simply a story.

    Though I didn’t encourage my husband to watch the movie, like your sister, he is a devout Catholic.

    We haven’t seen the Passion of Christ either.

    Reply
  • 2. Toe  |  December 28, 2006 at 12:47 am

    I watched the movie in the plane and I’ve also read the book. It’s a very good story. But if you look at the book cover, it’s says FICTION. We have to regard it as it is… fiction. I’ve also watched the Discovery Channel documentary entitled “Da Vinci Declassified” debunking that there’s any truth to any of the it. But there is also a National Geographic documentary proving that the facts there are true. It doesn’t matter really. I’m not that religious either. In fact, I’ve skipped mass often. But my faith is strong enough not to be shaken by a paperback. 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. iskoo  |  December 28, 2006 at 2:11 am

    maganda idea na manood ng VCD ngayong holiday, sa mga binanggit mo, both The Da Vinci Code and The Door in the Floor, ay di ko pa napapanood. nakapag donwload ako from net ng The Da Vinci Code kaya anytime pwede ko na panoorin, yung The Door in the Floor parang ngayon ko lang narinig, hehe. sobrang ignorante na talaga ako sa mga bagong palabas🙂

    enjoy the holiday! happy new year!

    Reply
  • 4. Toe  |  December 28, 2006 at 2:11 am

    Oh Niceheart… Rest first from watching movies because I tagged you. 🙂

    Ten Things I Would Never Do

    Reply
  • 5. niceheart  |  December 28, 2006 at 9:30 pm

    JO and Toe, that’s also how I view this story. It is fiction and just for entertainment. And a story like this is not enough to shake my faith either.

    Toe, regarding you tag, I’ve already started my list but I still have to think of a few more.🙂

    Reply
  • 6. niceheart  |  December 28, 2006 at 9:32 pm

    Iskoo, yung The Door in the Floor is from 2003 pa. When I went to the video store kasi, I picked a one-day rental and a 7-day rental. I can only watch one movie a night kasi.🙂

    Reply
  • 7. eric  |  December 29, 2006 at 5:07 pm

    I haven’t seen the movie but had read the book twice. For some off reason, I just stopped watching DVDs (I have a couple of more that remain unwatched).

    BTW, if you like this book, check out Umberto Ecco’s “The Rule of Four.” I love its ending!

    You should become a professional movie critic, Irene.

    Reply
  • 8. niceheart  |  December 29, 2006 at 10:29 pm

    Well, thank you Eric. I don’t know if I can even call myself a movie critic. And to be a professional one? I’ve seen Roger Ebert critic movies, and I am so not like him. If you haven’t noticed it yet, I usually only write how I can relate to the movie – either the theme or the characters. But I am glad that you are enjoying reading them.🙂

    Reply
  • 9. Dolores Claiborne « n i c e h e a r t  |  July 10, 2008 at 6:09 pm

    […] post A Good Night, I knew I wanted to watch Dolores once I get a chance.  And so after watching The Da Vinci Code, which I rented for one day this past weekend, Dolores was the next one on my […]

    Reply
  • 10. Four good reads « n i c e h e a r t  |  July 25, 2008 at 6:41 pm

    […] & Demons was actually written by Dan Brown before the controversial novel The Da Vinci Code which I’ve also read and couldn’t put down once I started reading it. And that being […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tweet!


