Boxing Day in Canada

December 26, 2006 at 8:12 pm 15 comments

Best Buy 

December 26 is Boxing Day here in Canada.  It is a statutory holiday.  So that means no work, except for those in the retail business.  Just like Christmas, if December 26 falls on a Saturday or Sunday, the following business day will be a holiday. 

Boxing Day doesn’t have anything to do with the sport that made Muhammad Ali famous.  When I first came here in Canada, the explanation my mother gave me was that it is called Boxing Day because this is when people usually open their presents.  Opening the boxes. 

But if you go to Wikipedia.org, you’ll find different origins of this holiday.  Here are just a few examples:

1.       It was the day when people would give a present or Christmas box to those who have worked for them throughout the year, such as the postmen or paperboys.

2.       In the feudal times, the lord of the estate would give each family of their serfs a boxful of goods after Christmas.

3.       In churches, it was traditional to open the donation box on Christmas Day and the money was distributed to the poor and needy on the next day. 

Here in Winnipeg, there is a shopping frenzy on Boxing Day.  There is a sale on almost all the stores. It’s only usually on Christmas decorations, cards, gift wrappers, everything Christmas – for 50% off.  But a lot of stores also have clearance sales on some of their items.  Stores usually have their flyers (printed advertisements) before Christmas Day and of course their ads also run on the commercials on TV and the radio.  People sometimes would line up outside the stores starting midnight.   Today, stores opened as early as 6:00 a.m.  We planned to go out this morning at 9:00 a.m. even though my brother-in-law warned us that there wouldn’t be much left at the stores if we go that late.  But hey, I’m still beat and I couldn’t get up as early as 6:00 a.m. 

I woke up at 9:00 a.m. and it was already 11:00 a.m. when we left the house.  We first went to Superstore because I wanted to buy new Christmas lights and Christmas decors.  But there wasn’t much good stuff left. Ryland bought a game for his new Nintendo DS and Ryan bought another controller for his Game Cube so he could play a two-player game with his cousins.  I got myself a DVD of Jennifer Aniston’s Good Girl, which was on sale.   

We then went to Regent and our first stop there was Best Buy, an electronics store where they were having a big Boxing Day sale.  And oh boy was the parking lot full.  We were lucky to find a parking spot when a car pulled out not too far from the store.  All the people we met who were walking back to their cars were holding either a big box of an electronic appliance or a yellow plastic bag with the Best Buy logo.  The boys checked out the games, DVDs and of course Reggie looked at the CDs.  We didn’t find anything that we wanted.   

boxingday2.jpg 

Next we went to Wal-Mart, which was also packed with people.  I checked out the boxed Christmas cards but I didn’t find anything that I like.  We checked out the DVDs – no they were not on sale here.  I bought a present for my 8-year old niece.  It’s her birthday today.  Happy birthday Amica! 

It was already noon and the two young ones were already hungry.  We stopped by McDonalds.  Only the two boys ordered.  Reggie said that he’d eat at home.  Both the husband and I were not hungry either.

boxingday3.jpg 

Then off we went to Kildonan Place, the shopping mall across the street.  Same situation with the parking – full.  The husband dropped us off at the entrance while he went looking for a place to park.  The boys and I went to Sears.  Reggie wanted to buy a new polo shirt.  By this time, Ryland was already tired.  “My feet hurts, mommy,” he said.  “Go ahead and sit there on the carpet while we wait for Kuya to try his shirt on,” I told him.  “Oh this is a waste of my time,” Ryan complained.  Yeah, that’s my Ryan.  He already got what he wanted and he thought that every place that we went to after that was a waste of his time. He didn’t want to go with us in the first place.  We could have left him home since he’s already 12.  But since we were all going shopping, he decided to come too.   

boxingday4.jpg 

After I paid for Reggie’s shirt, we headed to HMV, a CDs and DVDs store.  We were bumping into people on the way there.  HMV was also packed.  They have DVDs on sale for up to only $4.99.  But nothing appealed to us.  I had my eye on Leonardo di Caprio’s The Basketball Diaries.  It’s on sale at $9.99.  But no, thank you. 

It was now 1:40 p.m. and I was tired and hungry.  We went in front of Zellers where they have benches there to wait for the husband as we have agreed before he took off to Canadian Tire to buy a garage door remote controlled opener.  He came at around 5 past 2:00 p.m. and off we went home.  We dropped by my sister’s place and we had some Pancit Malabon, which my mother cooked.  All their visitors for my niece’s birthday party were all gone by then.   

We went home and I took a nice long nap.  And I will watch one of my DVDs tonight.  It’s only when the kids are on vacation that I could catch up on my movies.  They don’t go back to school until the 8th of January.  How many movies do you think I will watch?

Entry filed under: Detour, Special Occasions, Winnipeg. Tags: .

Our Christmas 2006 The Da Vinci Code

15 Comments Add your own

  • 1. JO  |  December 26, 2006 at 11:26 pm

    wow! you really go out of your way to go through the stores.

    I was too sick to go to the mall today. hopefully there will be some left for me by friday… hehe

    Reply
  • 2. iskoo  |  December 26, 2006 at 11:26 pm

    ang galing ngayon ko lang namana na there is such thing as boxing day. when i first saw the snapshot on your post, i thought the boxing you are referring is the sports boxing. when i read your entry i realized what boxing day is. galing, sana may ganyang holiday sa pinas…

    Reply
  • 3. Karen  |  December 27, 2006 at 3:30 am

    there were people already in line at futureshop as early as 9pm christmas day…o di ba? my sister and cousin was at the mall since 8 this morning (she got home at 9pm!), my mom and dad took off early as well.
    as for me, i slept in and woke up at 1:30pm since i had no intention to join the crowd. around 4pm, my bf and i decided to go out, but we avoided the malls. we went intead to chapters and i used the gift certificate i received last xmas and then we went to futureshop coz i was gonna get a laptop, but since it was still packed by then, we just decided to do it another day.
    plus, i’m also not 100% decided about buying a laptop anyway.
    napahaba ang kwento ko😉.

    Reply
  • 4. mmy-lei  |  December 27, 2006 at 4:03 am

    wow shopping galore kayo ja!

    HAppy boxing day tita irene and to your family

    Reply
  • 5. eric  |  December 27, 2006 at 6:05 am

    Wow! That was some shopping trip. I wouldn’t have had that kind of energy, especially right after Christmas. I would’ve preferred going to the movies instead. But I’m sure it was fun for the kids … to a certain extent🙂

    Reply
  • 6. domestic rat  |  December 27, 2006 at 8:16 am

    Must be wonderful nabbing those great bargains! There’s no sale in Penang. haiz.

    Reply
  • 7. Jeff  |  December 27, 2006 at 2:02 pm

    I was at Best Buy in Ottawa at 9:30am, and many of the store’s shelves were already bare (they opened at 6am). I managed to pickup a 200GB 7200RPM harddrive for $70, and two 1GB USB keychains for $16 each (I saved about $170 in total).

    I made a few quick stops at a couple of local malls, then headed home at 11:30 to finish my shopping at futureshop.ca… my shopping “spree” lasted a whole 2 hours.😛

    I swore that I would avoid the Boxing Day madness this year, but the deals were too tempting too ignore.

    Reply
  • 8. Amadeo  |  December 27, 2006 at 7:59 pm

    Was attracted to this post by the Best Buy logo on the background of your picture.

    Given all the names of the stores that you mentioned, your city may as well be any city in this part of California, or any state of the union, except we don’t have Boxing Day here.

    We drove around today and ended in a 99 Cents store, where everything is sold for 99 cents. So jested the wife that because this day was two days after Xmas, all items are marked down to 49 cents. Indeed, many Xmas items were being sold on a buy one, take one basis, for 99 cents.

    Reply
  • 9. niceheart  |  December 27, 2006 at 9:45 pm

    Jo, I don’t usually go out on Boxing Day, but the kids wanted to spend their Christmas money and this is could be my only day off. I might have to work on Saturday again.

    Iskoo, I think they also have Boxing Day in England. My youngest son still asks me if we have to do boxing (the sport) on this day.🙂

    Reply
  • 10. niceheart  |  December 27, 2006 at 9:52 pm

    Karen, grabe naman ano. Christmas pa lang nakapila na. You wouldn’t catch me falling in line that early or falling in line for any merchandise.🙂 Sleeping in until 1:30 pm? Sleeping in for me is getting up at 10:00 am, at the latest.🙂

    Mmy-lei, this is only one time. We don’t usually go on shopping sprees.

    Reply
  • 11. niceheart  |  December 27, 2006 at 9:54 pm

    Eric, I would have preferred to sleep in on the day after Christmas. It was only fun for the two young ‘uns up to the time they bought what they wanted. After that, the middle one kept complaining.🙂

    DR, yes, it must be great getting those great bargains, unluckily for me, we went there too late and there weren’t any much left of what we really wanted.

    Reply
  • 12. niceheart  |  December 27, 2006 at 9:59 pm

    Jeff, my husband also made a quick stop at Dollarama and he said that the shelves were almost empty. So I guess they also had their items for half price, which would be 50 cents. Now is that not a bargain or what?🙂

    Amadeo, that’s true. There has been an Americanization of our stores here in Canada. A few years ago, Woolco was phased out and replaced by Wal-mart. Then came Staples, Home Depot, Best Buy, etc.

    Reply
  • 13. Kimbo Slice  |  March 6, 2008 at 6:42 pm

    I want to see Kimbo Slice box lol, check him out at http://www.KimboSliceVideos.com

    Reply
  • 14. sac lancel  |  August 16, 2011 at 10:26 am

    sac lancel, sacs lancel, solde lancel, sac lancel 2011, sac lancel solde, sac a main lancel, sac lancel brigitte bardot,Solde sac lancel 2011 pas cher, voici pour les gens à choisir des soldes sacs a main Lancel brigitte bardot Franc 2011 en ligne.

    Reply
  • 15. lancel homme  |  November 12, 2011 at 2:29 am

    Vous cherchez sac Lancel pas cher ? Sac à main Lancel, sac Lancel BB, sac seau Lancel en vente privée en cours… ici découvrez votre maroquinerie Lancel.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tweet!


