Our Christmas 2006

December 25, 2006 at 5:04 pm 18 comments

Christmas family picture

(This is all of my family here in Winnipeg)

Unlike the previous years when we’d all stay up until midnight, this Christmas Eve, the boys went to bed at 10:30 p.m.  We were going to Mass at 9:00 a.m. on Christmas morning so I asked them to go to bed early.  I didn’t feel like staying up late anyway as I was up on my feet since 4:00 p.m. in the kitchen preparing food for the next day.  I also retired upstairs when they went to bed and watched Dolores Claiborne before I went to bed myself.

Ryland’s present 

First thing the boys did when they got up this morning was open their presents under the tree.  This is Ryland checking out his new Nintendo DS.

the girls

(The girls in our family)  

This Christmas morning, my sister invited us to go to their church because my nephews and nieces were singing in the choir.  Yes, we do live next to each other but we attend different churches, although we’re both Roman Catholics.  Maybe I’ll explain why in a different post.  We always celebrate Christmas together, including Mama, at my sister’s house.  My middle son was asking when we’re going to celebrate it in our house.  Maybe next time.  It’s just that my sister has more (7) kids than I do (3) and it’s easier for us to bring ourselves and our presents, food, and stuff over to their house.  I know, we’re just going next door but we still have to put on our winter jackets to go outside.  The weather here is beautiful though.  Temperature was minus 16 when we went out this morning and it went up to minus 8.  It looks and feels like spring.  We can see the green grass in front of the apartment across the street.

lola and grandsons 

(Grandma and the grandsons)

For Christmas lunch, I made crab and corn soup, lemon chicken, egg rolls (lumpia), and fruit salad.  My sister made pancit (fried noodles), meatloaf, and pandesal.  Mama made some kuchinta and maja blanco (rice cakes).

opening presents

After lunch, we took some pictures and of course the kids opened some more presents.  

Urgh!  Did you see me in the photos?  I really need to lose a few pounds.

Entry filed under: Special Occasions, Winnipeg. Tags: .

Christmas carols and Christmas memories Boxing Day in Canada

18 Comments Add your own

  • 1. noemi  |  December 25, 2006 at 5:46 pm

    it’s nice you still have family around. I need to lose more pounds myself. Don’t worry, we’ll get there. Merry Christmas!

    Reply
  • 2. niceheart  |  December 25, 2006 at 10:12 pm

    Thanks, Noemi. Yeah, I am very thankful for having my family close by. Can’t wait for the holidays to be over so I can go back to my regular eating mode.🙂

    Reply
  • 3. Karen  |  December 25, 2006 at 10:28 pm

    merry xmas! i want a nintendo DS too…hehe.

    Reply
  • 4. tin  |  December 25, 2006 at 10:32 pm

    merry christmas niceheart!🙂 san ka ba dyan sa mga photos ate nice?🙂

    Reply
  • 5. kathy  |  December 26, 2006 at 6:28 am

    wow! you’re so fortunate to have your family and relatives close by. i miss filipino food!😀

    Reply
  • 6. niceheart  |  December 26, 2006 at 10:03 am

    Same to you, Karen. Oh, he’s so excited with his Nintendo DS.

    Tin, I’m the one in the dark pink sweater and black pants. The one with the big belly and the double chin.🙂

    Kathy, I do feel lucky to have them around. Otherwise, I don’t think I’d enjoy living here as much as I do.🙂

    Reply
  • 7. Jayred  |  December 26, 2006 at 10:13 am

    Belated Merry Christmas, Irene from jetlagged and sick Jayred.🙂

    You are blessed to have your mom, plus your sis and her family, around to celebrate Christmas with your own family there in Canada. Wish I had my parents and siblings here in Switzerland, too! Ha, that would be the day!🙂

    You all look happy in the pics, by the way. (You look alright to me.)

    Reply
  • 8. ipanema  |  December 26, 2006 at 2:49 pm

    I long for christmas where everyone is around. It’s different when they’re physically present.🙂

    Reply
  • 9. myepinoy  |  December 26, 2006 at 3:16 pm

    Merry Christmas and Happy New Year. I wish you and your family all the best.

    More Wealth and Good Health in the the coming years.

    Reply
  • 10. zingtrial  |  December 26, 2006 at 3:26 pm

    Hope you and your family had a good Christmas and I wish you a Happy New Year🙂 .I like the pic’s

    Reply
  • 11. eric  |  December 26, 2006 at 5:04 pm

    I love your Christmas lunch menu! Must have been delicious!

    It is wonderful to have your complete family with you to celebrate Christmas. That in itself is a glorious blessing.

    Dolores Claiborne on Christmas eve? Whoa! I would expect you to watch a more traditional film like the classic, It’s a Wonderful Life with James Stewart … hehehe.

    Happy holidays!

    Reply
  • 12. ann  |  December 26, 2006 at 6:55 pm

    Hello Irene! Akala ko nabusog ka lang sa dami ng nakain mo…hahaha!

    Happy New Year!

    Reply
  • 13. Ferdz  |  December 26, 2006 at 7:54 pm

    Ang sarap naman ng handa nyo for Christmas. It’s really nice to have the family around.

    Happy holidays!

    Reply
  • 14. niceheart  |  December 26, 2006 at 8:51 pm

    Belated merry Christmas too, Jayred. And welcome back. Yeah, it’s really nice to have family around. You were just with yours, right? Yes, we are one big happy family, especially around Christmas. 🙂

    Ipanema, I think most people want to be with family on Christmas. I know a lot of Filipinos who time their vacation on Christmas to go back home.

    Reply
  • 15. niceheart  |  December 26, 2006 at 8:56 pm

    Same wishes to you, myepinoy. Thanks.

    Thank you, Zingtrial. Yes, we had a good Christmas. Happy new year also to you.🙂

    Eric, yes the food was delicious. And we still have left-overs.🙂 I have been eager to watch Dolores Claiborne since you mentioned it in your post, so after watching The Da Vinci Code (one day rental) the day before, I just had to satisfy my curiousity. I’m already sick of It’s a Wonderful Life.🙂

    Reply
  • 16. niceheart  |  December 26, 2006 at 8:58 pm

    Ann, lagi na nga lang akong busog. Hindi na yata nakakaramdam ng gutom dahil maya’t maya kumakain.🙂 Happy new year, too.

    Masarap nga Ferdz.🙂 Happy holidays, too.

    Reply
  • 17. iskoo  |  December 26, 2006 at 11:34 pm

    dami nyo na pala sa canada, nabasa ko yung sagot mo kay tin, nakita ko na rin si niceheart sa wakas at syiempre ang family nya..

    happy boxing day!

    Reply
  • 18. niceheart  |  December 27, 2006 at 9:33 pm

    Iskoo, my picture has always been on this site naman. If you click on my About page, you’ll see a bigger picture of me.🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tweet!


