The jacket on the floor

December 13, 2006 at 11:09 pm 22 comments

jacketThe other day, my eight-year old son came home from school and dumped his backpack, ski pants and jacket on the kitchen floor. 

“Ryland, can you please pick up your stuff.” 

“Wait, after I eat snacks.” 

Okay, so I thought maybe he was so tired and hungry.  I’d give him time to rest.  I know you must be thinking that I could have just picked them up and hang them myself.  I used to do that when my kids were younger.  But they are older now and I thought that if I keep cleaning up after them, they wouldn’t learn how to pick up after themselves. 

So I gave him snacks and I went back upstairs to resume my work. 

Half an hour later, he came to my workstation with his Gameboy Advance in his hand. 

“Did you pick up your jacket and ski pants?” 

“Oh, I forgot.” 

“Can you please go back downstairs and pick them up.” 

“Do I have to?” 

“Yes, please.” 

I saw him make a long face and he turned his back to me grumpily. 

I didn’t expect him to come back.  But he did after five minutes. 

“I’m sorry, mommy.” 

“Why?  What did you do?” 

“I was mad at you.”

I pretended. 

“I didn’t even know you were mad at me.  Why were you mad at me?” 

“Because you wanted me to go downstairs and pick up my stuff.” 

“Well, did you pick them up?” 

“Yes.” 

“Then, that’s okay.  Come here and give me a big hug.”

Entry filed under: My Sweet Ryland, Raising the 3Rs. Tags: .

Bahaw at Tutong Sunday shopping in Winnipeg

22 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Cai  |  December 14, 2006 at 1:05 am

    Aaaawww… what a nice boy.

    Reply
  • 2. Lazarus  |  December 14, 2006 at 3:17 am

    He must have thought he could get away with it. Ah kids! But it’s normal. He’s a good boy!

    Reply
  • 3. Toe  |  December 14, 2006 at 4:03 am

    My heart just melted. Can I adopt Ryland Niceheart? 🙂 May 2 ka pa naman e. 🙂 Joke lang, but seriously, he’s the sweetest boy!

    Reply
  • 4. Kyels  |  December 14, 2006 at 8:56 am

    He’s such a fine young boy Niceheart, seriously!

    (:

    Reply
  • 5. pining  |  December 14, 2006 at 2:51 pm

    how sweet.. hope my boys will be like like him, too

    Reply
  • 6. manilenya  |  December 14, 2006 at 10:47 pm

    nice naman, parang sa movie ko lang napapanood🙂 may totoo pala🙂

    Reply
  • 7. iskoo  |  December 14, 2006 at 11:01 pm

    i admire his honesty and sensitivitya nd sweetness. i know he will be a very responsible person and good you were able to train him!

    Reply
  • 8. eric  |  December 14, 2006 at 11:45 pm

    I’ve a feeling most kids are just like Ryland; I should know, there were times I would pull the same on my mother when I was a kid🙂 But at the end, I would end up folding my laundry and putting them away neatly in my assigned drawer.

    Reply
  • 9. ipanema  |  December 15, 2006 at 12:45 am

    Oh, he’s such a nice boy. Not many children say sorry. And for us mothers, it’s a word that could ease burden felt. You raised them well! 🙂

    Reply
  • 10. ralph  |  December 15, 2006 at 1:00 am

    sweet.🙂 good job in being a mother!😉

    Reply
  • 11. ralph  |  December 15, 2006 at 1:17 am

    btw, pinoy atbp site can’t seem to publish my comment for your post… sad.😦

    Reply
  • 12. Lani  |  December 15, 2006 at 3:32 am

    AWwww, he’s sweet. He knows how to say sorry, and that’s really good.

    Reply
  • 13. ann  |  December 15, 2006 at 4:36 pm

    Bakit nga kaya kapag nag sorry na sila ang bilis nating mag ok?

    Reply
  • 14. bugsybee  |  December 15, 2006 at 7:30 pm

    You’re lucky to have such a sweet boy. Many of us have lost the candor of kids like Ryland.

    Happy holidays to you and family!

    Reply
  • 15. KD  |  December 16, 2006 at 1:18 am

    you have wonderful kids tita-Kudos to you for raising them well.

    Reply
  • 16. Shoshana  |  December 16, 2006 at 3:19 am

    Awwww, that’s one sweet boy.

    He sounds like my Yoel.- DS2

    Reply
  • 17. haze  |  December 16, 2006 at 6:27 am

    “But they are older now and I thought that if I keep cleaning up after them, they wouldn’t learn how to pick up after themselves. ”

    I definitely agree with you on this one Niceheart ! I think that even at an early age they should know how to do even little chores, one way to educate our children. I’d like to give Ryland a big big hug too for saying he’s sorry, he’s really observant and sensitive🙂 he felt you were a bit hurt by his geste and he didn’t let his pride won over the LOVE and RESPECT for his Mom😉 isn’t that touching !

    Reply
  • 18. bingskee  |  December 16, 2006 at 8:11 am

    i commend you for a job well done! mothers should teach the kids to do things for themselves if they can do it, and not do things for them all the time.

    Reply
  • 19. niceheart  |  December 17, 2006 at 12:37 am

    Thank you guys for all the comments. And sorry for the late response. Been really busy.

    This will just be one comment for everybody.

    Yes, isn’t he just the sweetest boy? He surprises me everytime. His two older brothers were not like that. Yes, I’ve felt when they were sorry, but both were not as vocal as Ryland. I don’t know, maybe it’s because he’s the youngest one, or maybe it’s just his nature. Or it could be that he’s heard me say sorry to him, to them when I realize that I am in the wrong.

    And no, Toe, you can’t adopt him. He’s a keeper.🙂

    And yes, haze and bing, I really strongly believe in giving children chores even at an early age. Hirap kasi dito walang katulong. In the Philippines, I grew up with helpers in the house, but I also had my share of chores.

    Reply
  • 20. sesame  |  December 17, 2006 at 1:57 am

    He’s really very sweet. Usually children will sulk and won’t even acknowledge their fault unless you prompt them. You have taught him well.

    Reply
  • 21. niceheart  |  December 17, 2006 at 12:19 pm

    Ralph, you can try again. I know, I also had problems commenting before. If you encounter same problem, you can always leave your comments here.

    Reply
  • 22. niceheart  |  December 17, 2006 at 12:21 pm

    Sesame, he is really sweet. As a child, I would also sulk and won’t talk with my mother. And I think that’s why I encourage them sometimes to talk about how they’re feeling.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tweet!


