Of Wars and The Ice Cap

November 4, 2006 at 9:50 pm 25 comments

My 12-year old son, Ryan and I were downtown last weekend.  We were on our way home about to board our bus when we saw a group of people marching on the westbound lane of Portage Avenue.  Two people were carrying a huge banner that said, “Canada Out of Afghanistan.”   

My kids don’t see a lot of rallies here.  Actually they only see them on TV.  Ryan was curious and asked me what it was all about.  I told him that these people were protesting the war in Iraq and they want the government to send the Canadian soldiers in Afghanistan back home.  There have already been quite a number of Canadians that have been killed over there. 

I am not writing this to discuss or debate about the war.  One of the topics I veer away from is politics as I don’t follow it that much.  I just want to relate how war affects my kids – what they think about it. 

In my post What happens if we’re bad? I shared a conversation I had with Ryland, my 8-year old son.  Here’s an excerpt from that post:

Him: If you kill somebody, will you go to hell? 

Me:  Maybe not, if you’re really, really sorry about it and confess your sin. 

Him:  Where is hell?  Is it under the ground and has fires? 

Me: I don’t really know if that’s true.  But I know that we don’t want to be in that place. 

Him:  What about soldiers?  They kill people.  Will they go to hell? 

Me:  See, that’s like a tricky question.  They’re defending their country, but they kill people.  I think if they are sorry afterwards, they won’t go to hell. 

And this is what Ryan wrote in a recent homework:ice cap

Visiting the Ice Cap

Brrrr.  Have you ever been to the Ice Cap?  Well, the Ice Cap is my favourite biome. 

First, I want to visit the Ice Cap because it’s cold but cool!  I would like to see an iceberg floating in the water but I don’t want to be an iceberg myself.

Second, I would like to visit the Ice Cap because no one lives there!  Therefore, it’s quiet and peaceful so there is no war or conflict.

Thirdly, did you know animals live in the Ice Cap?  Penguins, seals, diving birds, whales and fish live in the Ice Cap. 

Thus, I want to visit the Ice Cap even though it’s cold.  I would like to see the animals, icebergs and it’s quiet and peaceful.

Entry filed under: Raising the 3Rs, Ryan in the middle. Tags: .

The Big White I Don’t Wanna Miss A Thing

25 Comments Add your own

  • 1. zeroimpact  |  November 4, 2006 at 11:38 pm

    You have thought them well…
    I almost shed a tear just reading bout this…
    If we had more and more people that thinks like this
    They will grow up fine… real fine🙂

    Reply
  • 2. phil  |  November 5, 2006 at 9:22 am

    He’s actually right. I have visited the areas near the North Pole, including Canada’s Alert facility way up there in the Arctic, also I’ve been to Thule, Greenland and I’ve actually visited the American base at the South Pole. I can assure you that there is absolutely no conflict going on in those frigid lands of snow and ice.

    Oh, and I hadn’t realized you had any troops in Iraq. The Canadians are all in Afghanistan as part of the NATO deployment and doing great things in trying to defeat a resurgent Taliban. Ask the troops if they want to come home… they’ll tell you “no, we are doing good things here.” I suggest you start getting up to speed on this stuff Nice, especially now that your boys are getting big enough to ask about it.

    Reply
  • 3. Toe  |  November 5, 2006 at 10:29 am

    Your boy is so wise. Only a wise person would think of the Ice Cap and think of peace. The way he says it, even I, the most lamigin person in the world, would like to go to the Ice Cap. I would also want to see the seals and the penguins and the whales in their natural habitat.

    Reply
  • 4. Wil  |  November 5, 2006 at 11:10 am

    yeah, I veer away from politics, too, b/c it’s too volatile an issue. I will occasionally post a political post, but not too often. Now, religion — there’s a safe topic. hehe.

    Reply
  • 5. Kyels  |  November 5, 2006 at 9:18 pm

    You taught your kids well Niceheart, really.

    It’s good that Ryan has such a mindset that he’d love to be in the Ice Cap because there will be no war and conflicts between people. All the time it’s impossible for a child to think of such things if they are not brought up well.

    Well done. I do salute you, really!

    (:

    Reply
  • 6. niceheart  |  November 5, 2006 at 10:31 pm

    Thanks zeroimpact. I was taken aback when I read that he would like to go there because there is no war and conflict. It really touched me.

    You’re right, Phil. My mistake. Thanks for pointing it out. I did mean to say that they wanted the Canadian troops in Afghanistan to come home. I’ve already corrected my post. I’ve also heard about how if you ask the troops if they want to come home, that’s what they would say, that they think that they are doing good things over there. And I guess that I should really start learning more about these stuff.

    Reply
  • 7. niceheart  |  November 5, 2006 at 10:49 pm

    Thank you Toe for thinking that he’s a wise boy. And this came from the one who has lately been saying that he doesn’t like winter anymore. It used to be his favourite season because of Christmas. But now he doesn’t like it because I make him wear his hood and bundle up and he doesn’t like that.

    Thank you Kyels. But I don’t want to take all the credit. He is surrounded by other mentors who are also teaching him well.🙂

    Reply
  • 8. niceheart  |  November 5, 2006 at 10:50 pm

    Wil, another topic I try to avoid is religion. Although I have not been totally successful in keeping away from it because I also have posts about my kids’ First Confession, First Communion and Confirmation. And I think those are the only times I mentioned religion. People just have too many different beliefs even among let’s say Roman Catholics. My sister is very devout and I am not and I don’t really follow all the practices and she would joke with people that we are in different religions when in fact we are in the same one. But I digress and I hope she’s not reading this as I am not in a mood for a religious debate.🙂

    Reply
  • 9. Sidney  |  November 5, 2006 at 11:12 pm

    Well I think every subject should be open to a PEACEFUL😉 debate. I think it helps kids to grow up as responsable and critical individuals. It is nice you don’t shed away from those difficult questions & issues.
    Your son is indeed a wise kid, probably because he has a wise mother !

    Reply
  • 10. melai  |  November 6, 2006 at 12:27 am

    clever kiddo …… at his age …… critical na mag-isip

    Reply
  • 11. haze  |  November 7, 2006 at 3:12 am

    You educated them well about reality of life and I’m sure you are a proud Mom! Your son is a very sensitive boy to his environment, he observes a lot and he’s a type of “peace and joy child” and it’s good to see children like him coz there are some of his age who are already trained to be “bullies”. I admire on how you responded to his question and I hope I can do the same with my children, coz sometimes they have question, minsan mahirap mag explain lalo na sa French, need to search the right word though !

    Btw, just check this site for the chain snow🙂 it might help you ! A lot of people has this thing especially when someone lives in the Alpes or snowy mountain ! Just copy and paste this to your navigator kasi eto na yung translated version! I was searching in French actually🙂 !

    http://translate.google.com/translate?hl=en&sl=fr&u=http://www.norauto.fr/moteur/chaine-neige.html&sa=X&oi=translate&resnum=9&ct=result&prev=/search%3Fq%3Dcha%25C3%25AEne%2Ba%2Bneige%26hl%3Den%26lr%3D

    Happy surfing !

    Reply
  • 12. bingskee  |  November 7, 2006 at 6:22 am

    if adults will think the way your kid thinks – seeing peace and wishing for it in every situation, then the world will truly be a beautiful place to live in.

    Reply
  • 13. iskoo  |  November 7, 2006 at 6:56 am

    its really difficult to explain to kids about what the soldier is doing. but going back to Bible Stories, noon mas marami giyera. iba kasi ang killing sa murder, when you kill to protect your family and nation i believe is not a sin. but if you murder someone normally due to hartred or ganti ganti, yun sigurado masama.

    Reply
  • 14. zingtrial  |  November 7, 2006 at 10:52 am

    Hi,This is one clever boy and I like him for his thoughts,we can learn from him,Peace my little friend.This is a good post my friend.Wish you both peace and love.

    Reply
  • 15. ann  |  November 7, 2006 at 8:52 pm

    During the war in Iraq, my son asked me, why God allows these things to happen? Our friend said, “para mabawasan ang tao sa mundo.” Of course it’s not true. But until now I can’t give him a valid answer.

    Reply
  • 16. niceheart  |  November 7, 2006 at 10:41 pm

    Aw, thanks Sidney. I agree with you that every subject should be open to a peaceful debate, as you put it. I enjoy answering my children’s questions, although I sometimes fumble for the right words to say.

    Thanks, melai. Kids nowadays are really getting smarter.

    Reply
  • 17. niceheart  |  November 7, 2006 at 10:41 pm

    Haze, I think it also helps that he’s surrounded by peers who are sensitive as well. So do your children understand English too, or do they just speak French?

    Thanks for that link about the chain snow. Cars here have winter tires, that means there are spikes to help with traction on ice. I haven’t seen ones that have chains.

    Reply
  • 18. niceheart  |  November 7, 2006 at 10:49 pm

    Ditto, bing.

    It’s true, iskoo, that back then, there are even more wars. It would have been harder to explain that to kids.

    Thank you, zingtrial. I often say that not only do my children learn from me, but I learn from them too.

    Ann, it’s really hard to explain ano? Sometimes they’d ask me the same questions over and over again and I think I’d give them different answers every time.

    Reply
  • 19. ralphT  |  November 8, 2006 at 12:50 am

    intelligent kids!!🙂

    Reply
  • 20. Lazarus  |  November 10, 2006 at 5:59 am

    Wise kid! He desires to be in some quiet and peaceful place.

    But sooner or later in life, we can’t avoid conflicts and we can’t stay isolated for long. Still, I desire peace.

    Reply
  • 21. haze  |  November 11, 2006 at 4:06 am

    Hi Niceheart your are more welcome! In fact we also have winter tires too, they use chain snow especially when someone lives in the Alps , or going to ski resort hirap kasi pagpaakyat and it’s slippery too !😉 So it helps a lot !

    Reply
  • 22. cruise  |  November 11, 2006 at 7:41 pm

    i want to visit the ice cap too where there is no war and the place is at peace! lucky you have smart son like ryan🙂

    Reply
  • 23. ladybug  |  November 11, 2006 at 8:26 pm

    Very wise kid indeed. Tribute should go to the parents who taught him properly. I really enjoy reading about your conversations with your kids. Helps prepare me for the time when I have the same conversation with my kid/s in the future.

    Reply
  • 24. niceheart  |  November 11, 2006 at 10:29 pm

    Thanks, ralphT.

    You’re right, Lazarus. Conflict is part of life but it’s still nice to dream of peace once in a while.

    Hello again, haze. I guess if you’re going up a slippery mountain, the chain will be very useful.

    I would love to visit the ice cap, too, cruise, not just because of the peace and quiet but also to see the animals.🙂

    Hi ladybug, kumusta na. Hope the pregnancy is going well.🙂

    Reply
  • 25. JO  |  November 16, 2006 at 5:06 pm

    wow! such a smart and kind hearted kid… you must be very proud of him!

    just blog hopping… you will definitely see a lot of me here!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tweet!


