The Big White

October 31, 2006 at 11:18 pm 28 comments

We’ve had the first major snowfall of the season yesterday.  Ten to 15 cms of snow.  That’s about four to six inches of the white stuff.  And it looks like it’s here to stay, that is for the next six to seven months.  So expect to see more pictures of the big white from this site.

Winter 06

Snow may look all pretty and nice and it could also be fun playing on it and making snowballs and snowmen.  But it can also be a hassle.  Just last night, it caused major traffic disruption all over the city and transit buses were delayed up to 90 minutes.  I was worried when Reggie wasn’t home yet from his flute lesson at 6:00 p.m.  I heard from the news about the traffic.  I just couldn’t help but worry.  Besides it was already dark even at 5:30 p.m. as we have just switched to Daylight Savings Time over the weekend.  He was coming from the North Main area and as I’ve mentioned before, I’m not really fond of that part of the city.   I was relieved when he came home at 6:45 p.m. and of course he was fine.  The buses were just running late.

Winter 06

And of course, we had to shovel that snow.  I shouldn’t be really complaining because I only shoveled this pathway at the side of our house and our front steps.  My sister and her family did our long driveway.  We share the driveway but she usually beats us in shoveling there because it’s on her side of the duplex we also share and her husband is usually the one who has to drive to work first in the morning.

Winter 06 

I don’t drive but I know that it’s harder to drive in the snow.  The roads could get slippery.  Just walking on the sidewalks can be tricky.  I walk like a turtle on icy patches. 

It was a cold night for trick-or-treating.  Some of the kids had to wear their winter jackets over their costumes.  I managed to squish Ryland’s jacket inside his costume so that it didn’t look like he was wearing one.  We had to trudge on snow as some pathways haven’t been shoveled yet. He missed his brothers because this is the first time we went trick-or-treating without them.  People liked his scary costume.  And we met this couple who asked if they could take a picture with him.  I gladly agreed.  They said they’re were just new in Winnipeg and they came from Brazil.

I borrowed the title of this post from the Robin Williams starrer The Big White, which was filmed mostly here in Winnipeg.

Entry filed under: Winnipeg, Winter, Winterpeg. Tags: .

Spooky and scary Of Wars and The Ice Cap

28 Comments Add your own

  • 1. domesticrat  |  October 31, 2006 at 11:41 pm

    Remember to build a snowman!

    Reply
  • 2. aurea  |  November 1, 2006 at 1:23 pm

    It was pretty warm here in Boston last night. We’re lucky to have such mild weather, I guess.

    Reply
  • 3. Lazarus  |  November 1, 2006 at 7:44 pm

    someday, i going to play in the snow!
    the first pic look very nice.

    Reply
  • 4. phil  |  November 1, 2006 at 9:00 pm

    I REALLY enjoy living here all the more when folks like you remind me of that nasty stuff. For all you who think its beautiful and fun, it is, but it gets old real quick. On the road its deadly and when it freezes on the sidewalks it can be painful when you fall on your backside. Nice, you can have it… Winnipeg is really up there! Say hi to Santa for me!

    Reply
  • 5. niceheart  |  November 1, 2006 at 11:11 pm

    DR, the kids like building snowmen and snowforts.🙂

    Aurea, yes I think you are lucky to have a mild weather. We’re used to having snow on Halloween, but we’ve also had pretty warm ones.

    Thanks, Lazarus. But be careful what you wish for.

    Phil, I’ve had falls too before and I’ve been sore on the behind too. But don’t you miss snow even just a teeny bit?

    Reply
  • 6. zeroimpact  |  November 2, 2006 at 12:21 am

    Yeah.. it can be fun and kinda dangerous too🙂
    Hope the snow does not give you too much trouble…
    Have fun…

    Reply
  • 7. ann  |  November 2, 2006 at 2:25 am

    I’m dreaming of a white christmas..hahaha!

    Reply
  • 8. phil  |  November 2, 2006 at 2:27 am

    Nope, no way. I lived almost 5 years in Michigan when my Dad retired back to his homestate. I became a paperboy not long after we got there and spent a lot of time out of doors. I used to have a 3 speed bicycle with metal side baskets that I’d load up with about a hundred pounds of papers per trip. There were times that I had to push that poor thing through 3 or more feet of snow for hours at a time. And the cold! I can remember having to stop every few feet, taking my mittens off and ramming my frozen hands into my armpits under my parka to prevent frost bite. I suppose if you stay indoors all the time the snow and cold isn’t bad, but my activities didn’t allow for that. I HATE snow and I hate the cold even more.

    Reply
  • 9. bw  |  November 2, 2006 at 1:26 pm

    I was in Calgary last Sun and it was -7 and snowing. When I flew back to Toronto Sunday pm we had +7. Snow in Oct is quite odd to me..

    Reply
  • 10. Karen  |  November 2, 2006 at 9:01 pm

    reggie needs a cellphone😉

    Reply
  • 11. Gypsy  |  November 3, 2006 at 5:06 am

    I’ve never seen snow–except maybe some glacier on a trip to Nepal ages ago..so will not think of the downside and just enjoy how dreamy it looks!🙂

    Reply
  • 12. Toe  |  November 3, 2006 at 6:16 am

    I’ve never shoveled snow… but I don’t think I want to do it. 🙂 So I’ll just stay here in warm sunny Phnom Penh. I guess the best part of that snow is that you’ll be sure to have a beautiful white Christmas.

    Reply
  • 13. niceheart  |  November 3, 2006 at 9:00 pm

    Zeroimpact, snow can be fun but it’s the ice that can be dangerous.

    Ann, lapit na ng Christmas.🙂

    Phil, I don’t see any paperboys here. There are people who deliver flyers and they usually pull a sled or toboggan, or sometimes they push shopping carts where they put the papers that they deliver. And it’s usually an adult with a son or a daughter. It’s a family affair. Sometimes I feel bad for them when it’s too cold. I also feel bad for the letter carriers especially if the windchill is in the minus 20s.

    Reply
  • 14. niceheart  |  November 3, 2006 at 9:06 pm

    BW, snow usually comes here on the last day of October. I only remember very few Halloweens when we didn’t have snow.

    Karen, I don’t know if I should be embarrassed to admit this but we don’t have and never had any celfones yet.

    Gypsy, okay, I’ll let you dream about snow.🙂

    Toe, like raking leaves, shovelling snow can be a back-breaking job, especially if it’s heavy snow. And yes, the arrival of snow reminds us that Christmas is coming next.🙂

    Reply
  • 15. Kyels  |  November 3, 2006 at 10:26 pm

    I’d love to experience winter one day. I have always been intrigued with what is it like to throw snowballs at each other and to create a snowman!

    Hehehe.
    😄

    Reply
  • 16. Karen  |  November 4, 2006 at 1:11 pm

    nothing to be embrrassed about miss niceheart😉.

    Reply
  • 17. haze  |  November 4, 2006 at 2:40 pm

    It’s nice to hear that Reggie is OK ! I can imagine to live in a snowy place, driving is a bit dangerous from time to time ! Have you tried using a chain? You’re right snow can be beautiful and fun but can be a hassle and danger too😦 ! Stay warm !!! Kami naman walang snow, kaya I rarely see snow, we need to drive 2 or 3 hours to see that magnific snow !

    Reply
  • 18. niceheart  |  November 4, 2006 at 4:21 pm

    Kyels, if you click on my Winter category on the sidebar, you’ll see some pictures of my kids playing in the snow.🙂

    Karen, okay, I won’t be embarrassed. I just don’t see the need for us to buy celfones since I work at home and my family knows where to find me in case they need me.🙂 There are phones at the workplace and at their schools naman diba?

    Haze, driving can be really dangerous especially if the roads are slippery. What do you mean by “Have you tried using a chain? ” (puzzled)

    Reply
  • 19. eric  |  November 4, 2006 at 10:28 pm

    My nephew called to find out if I planned to spend this upcoming Christmas Holiday in NYC — I immediately said, Noooooo! I don’t like snow no more … hehehe🙂

    Great pics!

    Reply
  • 20. phil  |  November 5, 2006 at 9:10 am

    From what I hear, paperboys are a thing of the past. Only adults are allowed to deliver papers now in most places because of child labor laws or something. Its too bad, because I learned a lot about self-discipline and micro economics. I was basically my own business man. I was able to sock away over $2000 as a young teen working part time everyday from 1971 to 1975.

    Reply
  • 21. niceheart  |  November 5, 2006 at 10:57 pm

    Thanks, Eric. So you and Phil both don’t like snow anymore. Daya nyo!🙂

    Phil, so that’s why I don’t see paperboys here. I guess it’s a great learning tool. And wow, you must be a very busy and diligent paperboy to earn that much.

    Reply
  • 22. DatuPanot  |  November 6, 2006 at 3:52 pm

    niceheart,

    i’m sorry to inform you that today in Los Angeles the high is about 85 F, sunny, t-shrit weather and breezy. nice!

    dp

    Reply
  • 23. niceheart  |  November 7, 2006 at 11:02 pm

    Are you making me envious, DatuPanot?🙂

    Reply
  • 24. DatuPanot  |  November 8, 2006 at 7:32 pm

    niceheart,

    i know it’s going to be hard to make you believe this…> it actually snows in this part of Los Angeles. we don’t get that much but it’s enough to stick on the ground for 2 days.

    thanks,

    dp

    Reply
  • 25. Daphne  |  November 11, 2006 at 10:31 am

    You take really nice shots of trees.😉

    Reply
  • 26. niceheart  |  November 11, 2006 at 10:31 pm

    DatuPanot, 2 days of snow. That’s quite easy to live with.🙂

    Thanks, Daphne.

    Reply
  • 27. JO  |  November 16, 2006 at 5:17 pm

    7 months of winter??? is it the same in Calgary???

    that is really a long winter compared to Toronto.

    Reply
  • 28. niceheart  |  November 18, 2006 at 7:51 am

    Jo, yeah, we get long and very cold winters here. I’ve never been to Calgary but I understand that they pretty much get the same temperatures that we do.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tweet!


