Trick or Treat for UNICEF

October 23, 2006 at 10:27 pm 22 comments

Every Friday afternoon, my youngest son, who is in third grade, brings home his TWAS (this week at school) journal.  It is the first thing I look for in his backpack because I want to know what he learned and did at school that week that he hasn’t told me yet and he usually has something interesting to write.  This is what he wrote in his TWAS this past week. 

Dear Mom, 

At school in gym we played lacross* and it was fun.  We have Halloween centers and they’re cool.  Yesterday we made a number puzzle.  We got our Picture Day pictures yesterday.  My class learned about UNICEF.  My class has a team for extreme dodgeball.  Also from yesterday I made a skeleton and a bus poster.  I also learned about basic human rights. 

Love,

Ryland 

After supper, we had this conversation. 

Me:  I like what you wrote in your TWAS.  So you learned about basic human rights.  Do you know what it means? 

Him: Yes, it means that people should have water, food, laws, rules, education.  And also, healthcare, peace, transportation.  And we also have to be respectful. 

Me:  That’s good.  You learned all about that? 

Him:  Uh hum. 

Halloween bag

He also brought home this large orange UNICEF bag and a collection envelope that he could use for trick-or-treating.  (That’s his Halloween costume beside the bag.)  Usually, the school sends home only a small orange box to collect money for UNICEF.  My kids would hang this box around their neck on Halloween night and there are a few people who would drop coins in their boxes as well as treats in their Halloween bags.  

The school collects funds for the poor countries in Africa where education is very problematic for most children and families have a serious lack of safe water and need to construct wells.  The students have school assemblies where they are explained about social responsibility and taught empathy. 

I think that’s a good thing.  Hmmn.  I’m starting to sound like Martha Stewart.🙂

UN Day 1973 

When I was in elementary school in the Philippines, I remember that we also celebrated United Nations Day, which falls on October 24.  I have this picture of my classmates where we wore a U.S.A. costume.  We had these blue vests made out of crepe paper and adorned with big white stars on the front.  We also had this striped red and white waistband.  Then we paraded around the neighbourhood. 

dutch1973t.jpg 

My sister’s class wore Dutch costumes.  This was in 1973.  Oh, the things they made us wear back then. 

* It’s actually spelled lacrosse and it is the official summer sport of Canada.  It is a game played by two teams in which participants use a long-handled stick.

Entry filed under: My Sweet Ryland, Raising the 3Rs, Special Occasions. Tags: .

The Canada Geese Halloween

22 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Toe  |  October 24, 2006 at 2:55 am

    I love the vintage pictures Niceheart. Which one are you? I really like this post… shows how much we could learn from children. Ryland is very wise for a third grader. So young yet it seems that he really understands the concept of human rights and that there are children in the world who don’t enjoy things we take for granted. That’s quite something for a child who lives in a developed country.

    Reply
  • 2. zeroimpact  |  October 24, 2006 at 7:01 am

    THe things that children learn nowadays and the thing that some of us have forgotten as we grow up
    Those photos are real nice…🙂

    Reply
  • 3. ann  |  October 24, 2006 at 7:57 pm

    Wow! You still have copies of those pictures.
    It’s nice that at young age they already know the importance of helping and sharing.

    Reply
  • 4. niceheart  |  October 24, 2006 at 10:08 pm

    Toe, vintage pictures ba?🙂 Which one am I? As usual yung nakasimangot. I wasn’t a very happy child.😦

    I’m really glad that my kids understand what they are learning in school. I also remind them all the time that they are indeed lucky because there are a lot of unfortunate children in the world.

    Zeroimpact, thanks on the comments on the photos.

    Ann, yeah, my mother kept our pictures and I am becoming a packrat like her as well.🙂

    Reply
  • 5. ipanema  |  October 24, 2006 at 10:12 pm

    Oh my, you have your photos when you were young. That’s beautiful.

    That’s what schools should teach children too. To be aware of others – especially the unfortunate ones, and to care.

    Thanks for sharing. 🙂

    Reply
  • 6. ralphT  |  October 25, 2006 at 2:03 am

    go UNICEF!! haha😉

    Reply
  • 7. eric  |  October 25, 2006 at 2:40 am

    I think it TWAS is a wonderful idea for both the students and parents.

    Nice pictures of your schooldays as a youngster!

    I had a friend in NY who was a jock and played varsity lacrosse.

    Reply
  • 8. zingtrial  |  October 25, 2006 at 6:09 am

    Niceheart This is good posting.But I would like to know which one are you?Great idea about learning young,you never forgate,Thanks for sharing my friend.
    Wish you well

    Reply
  • 9. zingtrial  |  October 25, 2006 at 6:12 am

    Niceheart,I like this post,What I would like to know which one are you?About learning young you never forgate.Thanks for sharing my friend.
    Wish you well

    Reply
  • 10. mmy-lei  |  October 25, 2006 at 6:48 am

    lucky for you to have those pictures. i lost mine from fire.

    Reply
  • 11. Kyels  |  October 25, 2006 at 7:47 am

    Love those photos — they’re really nostalgic!

    Well, I am glad that the kids are learning about UNICEF these days. It’s better to open up their eyes about what is going on around in the world than to let them be ignorant.

    (:

    Reply
  • 12. aurea  |  October 25, 2006 at 12:00 pm

    Aaaawwww… cute photos. The TWAS journal is a good idea. So is teaching kids about basic human rights.

    Reply
  • 13. niceheart  |  October 25, 2006 at 10:37 pm

    Ipanema, thanks. We have lots of pictures when my sister and I were still kids. I’m glad that my mother saved all of them even though we used to move from one place to another.

    RalphT, thanks.

    Eric, I also like the TWAS idea a lot. My two older boys also had them and I enjoy looking back at what they wrote.

    Reply
  • 14. niceheart  |  October 25, 2006 at 10:40 pm

    Mmy-lei, that’s too bad. Pictures are irreplaceable pa naman.

    Thanks, Kyels. I also like that they are being taught about this in school.

    Aurea, thanks. I’m also glad that they are learning about basic human rights this early. I don’t think I learned them in elementary school. Or maybe I did. Can’t remember now. It was such a long time ago.🙂

    Reply
  • 15. bingskee  |  October 26, 2006 at 8:04 am

    one of the things i treasure are photos. good thing you still have old photos to cherish…

    that’s a sweet letter from your son. he’s growing to be a responsible kid.

    Reply
  • 16. phil  |  October 26, 2006 at 8:29 am

    Nice sentiment, the UNICEF thing and all, but I’m glad I didn’t have to mess around with that stuff when I was a kid… How does it work? Every kid says “trick or treat” and asks for UNICEF money? Man, how awkward is that? So, now givers have to have two bowls, one for candy and one for coins? Or do you just write each kid a check? Hey, you know me, I’m Mr “Wry Guy…”

    Reply
  • 17. iskoo  |  October 26, 2006 at 10:36 pm

    advance ang learning ng mga bata ngayon, nakakabilib at the early age alam na nila yung mga bagay na tinuturo sa atin sa college😉

    cool yung oled picture, buti ka pa nakapagtabi, sarap balik balikan ang nakaraan.

    Reply
  • 18. niceheart  |  October 26, 2006 at 11:24 pm

    Hi Zingtrial, sorry for the late response. Your comment was caught in the Spam box. I was the one who’s frowning.😦

    Reply
  • 19. niceheart  |  October 26, 2006 at 11:28 pm

    Bing, I also love photos. I have many of my children too.🙂

    Phil, the kids don’t ask for money. Once folks see the orange box hanging on their necks, they know it’s for UNICEF. And it’s voluntary to give. I noticed that it’s usually the old folks who’d drop coins in the collection box.

    Iskoo, kids are learning a lot more at a younger age these days. In a way it’s good na rin. Masarap ngang balikan ang nakaraan.

    Reply
  • 20. haze  |  October 27, 2006 at 3:45 am

    I can’t believe that you still got those old photos! Galing mo Niceheart🙂 I wonder where are mine hhhmm need to ask My mom, I only see the oldest pictures when I was in high school the rest I don’t know😦 !

    Halloween that’s seems to be fun there, while in France they don’t lavishly celebrate it as it in in America or in other places it’s maybe because the idea of celebrating the day of the dead! I don’t have the answers for that but I just heard someone telling while I was doing my grocery that was 2002 !

    Happy trick or treat !

    Reply
  • 21. Amadeo  |  October 29, 2006 at 5:36 pm

    Not mentioned, even in the entry on Wikipedia, is the fact that lacrosse originated from a sport the American Indians had as early as the 1600s.

    This we learned from the Jesuit fathers who taught us in the Philippines.

    Reply
  • 22. niceheart  |  October 29, 2006 at 11:07 pm

    Haze, we have a lot of old photos. Even baby pictures pa nga. My mother also have photos from when she was still a baby. It’s nice to look back at them.

    Amadeo, didn’t know that. I haven’t really seen a game of lacrosse played. My kids tell me that they always play it at school and they describe to me how it’s played.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tweet!


