Early taste of winter

October 10, 2006 at 10:35 pm 21 comments

earlysnowt.jpg 

We’ve had an early taste of winter today.  We had rain mixed with snow.  I took this picture at around 3:00 p.m. before I went out of the house.  Here are the weather conditions at that time just to give you an idea of what it was like.  (This is a screen shot of our weather channel.)

weather061010.jpg

Temperature 0 degrees Celsius           Wind North 20 gusting 35

Humidity 96%                                    Rain/Snow

Visibility 300 meters

Windchill minus 5  (This means that it feels like minus 5 although is only 0 because of the wind.)  It was cold but this is still mild temperature considering of what lies ahead. As we were walking home, my 11-year old niece was asking me why the snow turns to water when it drops on the ground. Well, it’s because the temperature went up to plus 1 C, I told her.  The snow melted.  And we all know that water freezes at 0 degrees.  That’s another Science lesson for you guys.  But of course you already know that. 

Entry filed under: Autumn, Winnipeg, Winter, Winterpeg. Tags: .

Thanksgiving Day Windstorm

21 Comments Add your own

  • 1. myepinoy  |  October 11, 2006 at 5:25 am

    So you can say “Welcome Winter” or “Merry Christmas”.

    Reply
  • 2. Sidney  |  October 11, 2006 at 7:44 am

    Doesn’t look like fun to me! As you probably know I hate the cold!

    Reply
  • 3. iskoo  |  October 11, 2006 at 7:44 am

    wow may snow na, mga bata excited talaga sa snow. ako din feeling bata kapag nakakakita ako ng snow, the first time ko na makakita ng snow humiga talaga ako para i feel yung yelo.

    Reply
  • 4. Kyels  |  October 11, 2006 at 9:34 am

    I like the picture. Whee!

    I’ve never experienced snowy places before and I’d love to do so — soon enough. Hehe.

    (:

    Reply
  • 5. zeroimpact  |  October 11, 2006 at 10:12 am

    Wow… snow snow snow
    I love snow
    I must make it a point to play with snow other than snow houses here🙂
    I want real snow
    Take care during the winter

    Reply
  • 6. haze  |  October 11, 2006 at 2:15 pm

    I love to visit snowy place but I cannot live with it, medyo mahina ako sa lamig😦 But I guess it’s just a matter of getting used of something.

    It’ doesn’t snow in our place so I don’t see snow often, we still need to go out from Marseille to experience the real magic🙂 ! I remember when I first saw the snow it was my 2nd yr. in France and at the age of 30 (*blush*) hay naku para akong batang naglaro !

    Reply
  • 7. bw  |  October 11, 2006 at 5:47 pm

    I’m crossing my fingers winter man comes in Dec in Toronto… not in Oct please!

    Reply
  • 8. melai  |  October 11, 2006 at 11:47 pm

    ei heart, lam mo po bang bago ko matanggap yung message na for medical na ako the night before that napanaginipan kong umulan daw ng snow, dunno kung saang lugar iyon, kasama ko daw nanay ko as in after ng ulan pwede na daw akong mag ski🙂 ano kaya ibg sabihin nun?🙂

    Reply
  • 9. ladybug  |  October 12, 2006 at 12:20 am

    I don’t think my body is fit to live in cold weather conditions. Medyo ginawin ako eh. Baka andami kong patong ng coat para lang makalabas ng bahay…hehehe.

    Reply
  • 10. Toe  |  October 12, 2006 at 3:15 am

    That is so cold Niceheart! The low temperature is probably bearable but the windchill… I can’t take. 🙂

    Your niece probably wants to start playing with the snow already. 🙂 I’m sure she’ll get that soon.

    Malapit na mag-Christmas! Yehey!

    Reply
  • 11. watson  |  October 12, 2006 at 6:03 am

    “Oh the weather outside is frightful, but the fire is so delightful.
    But as long as you love me so, let it snow, let it snow, let it snow!”

    Merry Christmas, Niceheart!

    Reply
  • 12. Daphne  |  October 13, 2006 at 1:40 am

    Awww what I would give to have another White Christmas. Just one so I will be happy as a (frozen) clam. Hehe 😀

    Reply
  • 13. Sidney  |  October 13, 2006 at 5:02 am

    Be careful! Don’t go out and wait till the bad weather is over!
    Hope you got enough food and drinks to get you through this bad weather.

    Reply
  • 14. niceheart  |  October 13, 2006 at 11:03 pm

    Thanks for the comments everyone.

    It’s been a miserable week here in Winnipeg. The snow has melted but we’ve had very strong winds these past two days and we actually had a wind storm last night with winds of 60 gusting to 90 kmh. I could here the wind howling and what I thought was metal clanging but I realized that it was the pine tree in front of our house brushing against our roof. But the winds are starting to calm down now although we still expect to see rain/snow next week.

    Reply
  • 15. bodicea  |  October 14, 2006 at 3:41 am

    Ice turns into water at zero degrees Celsius. Water turns into ice at zero degrees Celsius. Bizarre.

    Reply
  • 16. phil  |  October 14, 2006 at 7:35 am

    Better you than me Nice…

    Reply
  • 17. cruise  |  October 14, 2006 at 10:38 am

    i’m dreaming for a white christmas. nice nice. kelan kaya ulit ako makakakita ng snow.

    regards nalang sa inyo, ingat din, madulas ata ang daan kung may ganyang kanipis pa na yelo.

    Reply
  • 18. Leah  |  October 14, 2006 at 11:05 am

    Mas malamig talaga sa Winnipeg and the snow falls there earlier and in great quantities too. I like snow , looking at it and watching it fall. Its just so peaceful and romantic. I just dont like driving on in and around it.

    So weird to have snow in October ano?

    Reply
  • 19. niceheart  |  October 14, 2006 at 11:52 pm

    Thanks again for the comments guys.

    Oh, Phil, you can be really mean. joke🙂

    Cruise, the snow is gone for now. But yeah, the roads are slippery at zero degrees.

    Hi Leah. Where in Canada are you? Actually this snow is early but it didn’t stay for good. But it will come again for sure.🙂

    Reply
  • 20. Hsin  |  October 15, 2006 at 10:13 am

    Are you kidding? It’s snowing again? Your autumn is a record length there. Uber short. We’re still sitting around in summer-like heat and humidity here in HK, despite having passed Mid-Autumn….

    Reply
  • 21. niceheart  |  October 15, 2006 at 11:27 pm

    Well, the snow is gone for now. But we do really have short autumns here.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tweet!


