Thanksgiving Day

October 9, 2006 at 10:21 pm 26 comments

roasted chickenToday is Thanksgiving Day here in Canada.  It’s a statutory holiday so there is no school and no work.  Most families here have a feast that includes stuffed turkey with cranberry sauce and also pumpkin pie.  My family usually just stays home on this day and I prepare a special meal.  We’re not really fans of turkey and pumpkin pie.  So instead of turkey I bought a whole roasted barbeque chicken from Superstore. I also made chicken macaroni salad and Jell-O with orange juice and diced apples.  (Click for Jell-O recipe here.) 

chicken macaroni salad   Jell-O

Usually my younger kids would bring home turkey paper cut outs with strips of paper for the wings where they would write down the things that they were thankful for.  Last year, Ryland wrote this. 

“I am thankful for…

          the food

          my bed

          my eyesight

          that I get a lot of love” 

You can read more about this in this post. 

Last Friday, he brought home this turkey cut out and this card.

 card  turkey

This is the first time I heard of Martin Frobisher.  I knew there is some historical event related to the Thanksgiving celebration here in Canada but never bothered to learn what it was until today.  I once again found myself googling how it all started. 

According to Wikipedia

The history of Thanksgiving in Canada goes back to an English explorer, Martin Frobisher, who had been trying to find a northern passage to the Orient. He did not succeed but he did establish a settlement in Canada. In the year 1578, he held a formal ceremony, in what is now the province of Newfoundland and Labrador, to give thanks for surviving the long journey. This is considered the first Canadian Thanksgiving, and the first Thanksgiving to have taken place in North America. Other settlers arrived and continued these ceremonies. Frobisher was later knighted and had an inlet of the Atlantic Ocean in northern Canada named after him – Frobisher Bay.”

And then later on the French settlers who also crossed the ocean and arrived in Canada celebrated with huge feasts of thanks.  So did the citizens of Halifax after The Seven Years War and the American refugees who were exiled and came to Canada brought their customs and practices of Thanksgiving here. 

Finally, on January 31st, 1957, the Canadian Parliament proclaimed…A Day of General Thanksgiving to Almighty God for the bountiful harvest with which Canada has been blessed … to be observed on the 2nd Monday in October.”

I think Thanksgiving has been set aside so that we could reflect on the things that we are thankful for. 

These past few days, I was thinking of something to write for this day.  I wanted to write a post about the things that I am thankful for.  But it had not been easy because I had been kind of down lately.  Once in a while I’d get into this phase where I’d feel alone and lonely in certain relationships in my life – when I’d feel that nobody understands what I’m going through. 

And the weather has been kind of depressing too.  We’ve seen glimpses of the sun but it has been generally cloudy, windy, cold and gloomy.  The wind has blown off much of the leaves on the trees.  The pretty leaves that you saw in the pictures in my previous posts are now on the ground. 

Then there was this episode on Oprah last week where she had on three suicide survivors.  A teen-aged girl who laid herself on the train tracks, a teen-aged boy who shot himself in the face and a mom who was experiencing post-partum depression tried to jump off a bridge.  When I watched that I was like, “Oh my God!”  I was just at a bridge a few weeks ago taking a picture of the river for a post that I am writing. 

But please don’t get me wrong.  I wouldn’t jump off a bridge.  I have been through many trials in my life ever since I was a small child but I never thought nor attempted to end my life.  I wasn’t going to post this because I didn’t want people to think that I would ever think of suicide.  Oh no.  Yes I do get kind of depressed at times but I just love life so much that I just want to go on living even through the tough times. 

The reason I am sharing this is because I received an email from a cousin in Manila this weekend.  I wrote her to greet her because it was her birthday.  She replied and asked me to tell my mother to call hers (my aunt) because a distant relative is sick.  And then she ended her email with this:

Hope you pray for me.  I’m stressed and depressed because of many problems at work and my life.  Please assist mama in case I won’t be here any more to help her and my son.”  

My mother called my aunt and she learned that my cousin is nowhere to be found and she isn’t answering her text messages.  My aunt is worried about her.  We are too. 

Just as the three survivors on that Oprah show are thankful that they are still alive and realize that dark days will get better, I hope my cousin will to.  And as I step back today and reflect on these past few days trying to find to write about what I am thankful for, I end this post with what I wrote for Thanksgiving last year.  These are still the things that I am thankful for.  

“I am constantly amazed at how my children pick up the little things that I say or teach them. I always try to instill in them that they should be thankful for the things that they have.

I, myself, used to fret about things. Like the time I contacted my high school classmates in 2002. I was jealous of their jobs especially this one classmate who is a successful CPA (Certified Public Accountant). I was a CPA back home but I wasn’t able to pursue the career when I migrated to Canada. On the other hand, this classmate, who longs to be married and have kids, was envious of me. I then realized that I have a decent job as a benefits examiner, a comfortable life with my husband and these three wonderful children and I wouldn’t trade them for anything in the world.

In spite of this realization, I still find myself complaining and fretting. About people getting promoted at work and how I am stuck in my position because I chose to work at home. But of course I don’t regret choosing to work at home because of the reasons I’ve mentioned here and in Confessions of a Work-At-Home Mom.

Every now and then, I complain about my twin size bed. About how small it is and how I am always at the edge because my husband hogs the bed. Until I realized that he just wants to be closer to me and there I am trying to distance myself just so that I could get enough sleep (wink). How lucky am I that I sleep with someone who loves me. Some people don’t. How lucky am I that I have a soft (even though it’s creaky) and warm bed. Many people who have been hit by the hurricanes don’t have a bed to sleep on or a roof over their head.” 

Once again, I thank Ryland for reminding me of all the things I should be thankful for.

Entry filed under: Food, Roadblocks, Special Occasions. Tags: .

Autumn is a second spring Early taste of winter

26 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kyels  |  October 9, 2006 at 11:34 pm

    And I thank you for reminding me the things that I have right now in my life. We all have to be thankful, all the time, for the love we get, for the stuff that we have, for the things that we are furnished with in life.

    (:

    I love watching Oprah too and the show taught me many things and it opened my eyes to the world, to see what is happening. She’s great.

    I do hope that your cousin is fine. Really.

    Happy Thanksgiving Day to you Niceheart!

    Reply
  • 2. mmy-lei  |  October 10, 2006 at 12:21 am

    We should all be thankful for small or big blessings that comes in our life!
    Actually, living another day is a big blessing for us all. So we should be thankful on it.

    Thanks for sharing this to us.

    Happy thanksgiving day to you.

    Reply
  • 3. melai  |  October 10, 2006 at 12:50 am

    akala ko ang thanksgiving day ay pag magpapasko …. medyo boba ako ano?🙂

    pero ganun pa man
    Happy ThanksGiving Day sayo🙂

    Reply
  • 4. Toe  |  October 10, 2006 at 1:57 am

    Thanksgiving na pala! How time flies. Happy thanksgiving to you Niceheart, your wonderful husband and kids! You do have a lot to be thankful for.

    I hope your cousin is okay. Maybe she could learn something from Ryland… that there is a lot to be thankful for in our lives. We just have to open our eyes and learn to appreciate and be happy with what we have.

    Reply
  • 5. watson  |  October 10, 2006 at 5:08 am

    Happy Thanksgiving Day, Niceheart!

    Reply
  • 6. Jayred  |  October 10, 2006 at 6:13 am

    Belated Happy Thanksgiving, Irene! You sure have lots of things to thank God for.🙂

    I hope and pray your cousin will be okay. Any updates?

    (Good thing you bought roasted BBQ chicken to mark Thanksgiving Day there in Canada. I’m sure it tasted much better than the ubiquitous turkey.)

    Reply
  • 7. zeroimpact  |  October 10, 2006 at 8:52 am

    Happy Thanksgiving to all and especially you
    I hope she will be fine and I believe so…
    We should all be thanksful and you have share and made so many so thankful🙂
    You’re a great person

    Reply
  • 8. Amadeo  |  October 10, 2006 at 10:12 am

    Hello, NiceHeart:

    Very profound feelings, especially on Thanksgiving day in your country.

    Indeed, we live blessed lives that we should be thankful for.

    Did not know about Canadian thanksgiving, but I can see that turkey is also the main fare.

    Being from California but now visiting in Michigan, one can now also appreciate Nature’s display of colors in the foliage of Fall.

    Reply
  • 9. aurea  |  October 10, 2006 at 1:07 pm

    Happy Thanksgiving, niceheart. That roast chicken looks delicious and I want to try that macaroni salad.

    I hope your cousin is OK.

    My husband complains of being pushed to the edge of the bed, too. But I hog the bed for the same reason your husband does.

    Reply
  • 10. dee  |  October 10, 2006 at 4:05 pm

    great post. Thanks for sharing. Our turkey day is not til next month. My daughter has survived suicide twice. Both times it was overdoses on her meds. Once she was in icu for several days. We nearly lost her. She is 24 and very depressed most of the time. I worry about the third time and we may not be there to help her.

    Reply
  • 11. bw  |  October 10, 2006 at 10:19 pm

    Happy Thanksgiving sis. We celebrated ours with families of our friends at our home. No turkey this time. Just good old Pinoy food – ginatang puso ng saging with pork, lumpiang sariwa, daing na bangus, calderetang kambing, sweet and sour lapu-lapu at marami pa… celebration Pinoy style wouldn’t be complete without the karoke of course…!

    Reply
  • 12. niceheart  |  October 10, 2006 at 10:54 pm

    Thank you Kyels. Sometimes we just need to be reminded of how abundant each of our lives is.

    I agree mmy-lei. Thanks.

    Melai, I think you’re thinking about the U.S. Thanksgiving which is celebrated towards the end of November. Thanks for the greeting.

    Reply
  • 13. niceheart  |  October 10, 2006 at 10:57 pm

    Thank you Toe. I do hope that my cousin will also realize all the blessings that she has.

    Thanks, Watson.

    I don’t have any updates for now, Jayred. Haven’t from my mother yet. We also like the taste of chicken better than turkey.🙂

    Reply
  • 14. niceheart  |  October 10, 2006 at 11:02 pm

    I hope so too, zeroimpact. Thanks.

    Hi Amadeo, thanks for dropping by. It’s also turkey here on Thanksgiving and Christmas. I think the Americans brought this tradition to us.🙂

    Thanks, aurea. Yes that roasted chicken is so juicy, tender and tasty. So we’re the opposites when it comes to hogging the bed.🙂

    Reply
  • 15. niceheart  |  October 10, 2006 at 11:07 pm

    Oh my, dee. I’m sorry to hear that. I can only imagine your pain.

    Happy Thanksgiving, too, BW. Wow, ang sarap naman ng handa nyo. I am too lazy to cook kasi. Besides, I really needed that extra day off to relax.

    Reply
  • 16. ladybug  |  October 11, 2006 at 12:18 am

    Great post! Reminds me of the things I need to be thankful for.😀

    Reply
  • 17. myepinoy  |  October 11, 2006 at 5:23 am

    Belated Happy Thanksgiving.

    Thank you for the information.

    Reply
  • 18. haze  |  October 11, 2006 at 2:35 pm

    Belated Happy thanksgiving to everyone Niceheart ! It’s one of the celebration I prefer ! Yummy naman yan nakakatakam yung handa mo, oh how I miss chicken macaroni salad, penge naman meron pa ba🙂

    I am sorry to hear about your cousin, I hope that she will get over with her stress and depression. Hope your family will find her soon! Life is beautiful and whatever challenges we are into HE will always be there and HE will never let us down ! Have a nice day !

    Reply
  • 19. niceheart  |  October 11, 2006 at 10:42 pm

    Thanks, ladybug and myepinoy.

    Haze, naubos na yung macaroni salad. It’s my kids’ fave. I also hope that my cousin will get over her depression.

    Reply
  • 20. niceheart  |  October 13, 2006 at 11:06 pm

    Thanks to everyone who was concerned about my cousin. I just received an email from her. She’s safe and back home. And feeling a little better.🙂

    Reply
  • 21. phil  |  October 14, 2006 at 7:38 am

    Canadians just had to find a way to sneak their Thanksgiving in ahead of ours eh? Not only in history, but on the calendar! No fari! Foul! Foul! Foul! (chuckle)

    Reply
  • 22. niceheart  |  October 14, 2006 at 11:53 pm

    I get the pun, Phil.🙂

    Reply
  • 23. Hsin  |  October 15, 2006 at 10:20 am

    I am grateful for everything in my life, but I find myself too complacent to thank the good Lord for it or to appreciate the blessings for what they are. He has given me a lot, and yet I can’t/won’t take the time to think about each individually and thank Him for it. Thank you for this post – I think I needed it as a reminder that I haven’t “written” my big thank you note to the Big Guy up there.

    And I hope your cousin’s been found by this time. It’s easy for a bystander like myself to say things can’t be that bad, but when you’re in a rut and things look dark, it can be so easy to lose your way. Hope she’s ok.

    Reply
  • 24. More Fall Sights « Journey to Honeyville  |  October 15, 2006 at 11:16 pm

    […]  Just an update to those who are asking about my cousin whom I mentioned in my Thanksgiving post. She’s back home safely and feeling much better.  Thanks for all the concern and prayers.  […]

    Reply
  • 25. niceheart  |  October 15, 2006 at 11:30 pm

    She’s okay now Hsin. Sometimes I also forget to thank Him and I need reminders like this.

    Reply
  • 26. Lazarus  |  October 18, 2006 at 8:04 pm

    Thank God for Thanksgiving Day! There are many things we have to be thankful. God bless!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tweet!


