The other (ugly) side of Fall

September 30, 2006 at 10:19 pm 25 comments

I don’t want to give the impression to those who haven’t experienced Fall that it is all pretty and nice. After all, leaves turn to these lovely colours because of the cooling temperatures.

Earlier this week, we woke up to a temperature of minus 1 C. I was scrambling to find our scarves and gloves and trying to match them up. I knew we were going to need them soon. But that’s the procrastinator in me. I kept putting it off. Anyway, our winter accessories are just tucked away somewhere in our closets. But what I couldn’t understand is why we only have one scarf left when I remember that we each had one last winter. So the first one to get out of the house got the scarf. That was my 16-year old son. He’s the one who usually reacts to the cold weather anyway.

glovest.jpg 

My 12-year old son was complaining of a sore throat the day before.

“We’re going to the mall this week-end to buy you guys scarves and sweaters.”

“But I don’t like wearing a scarf.”

“Ryan, you have to cover your neck when it’s cold. That’s why you’ve got that sore throat.”

“But I don’t like it.”

“Ryan, why don’t you just listen to your mother?”

I tell you. My middle guy always gives me a hard time. My oldest one is very obedient and respectful and I sometimes find it hard to be patient with this one. I guess I was like that too with my mother at some point. It’s payback time.

inhalerst.jpg 

The other day, my eight-year old son went home coughing. And I heard him wheezing later that night. The last time he had an asthma attack was when he was three years old. I thought he had already outgrown it. But I think that’s just the way it is with asthma. Sometimes it just goes away and sometimes people who haven’t had asthma in their childhood gets it in their adult life.

So I let Ryland puff Reggie’s inhaler. Good thing I always have them handy. Reggie gets asthma attacks every once in a while. The Ventolin inhaler seemed to work for Ryland. He’s had a good sleep last night and even came grocery shopping with me this morning. He wanted to buy a game for his Gameboy and he wanted to pick it out himself. But he got tired soon and I let him sit at the bottom of our cart. He looked so cute and I couldn’t resist taking this shot.

bottomcartt.jpg 

Entry filed under: Autumn, Raising the 3Rs. Tags: .

Downtown Winnipeg – Portage Avenue Why do leaves change colours?

25 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kyels  |  September 30, 2006 at 11:40 pm

    Aww. I love the shot, really. The way he sat down; so cute!

    (:

    Reply
  • 2. sesame  |  September 30, 2006 at 11:55 pm

    Is it the weather or something he ate that triggered his asthma? My boy also use the ventolin sometimes but I doubt he is asthmatic. Just have a very allergic nose and lung.

    Reply
  • 3. aurea  |  October 1, 2006 at 12:00 am

    Scarves and gloves season already, huh?

    I’m not looking forward to winter.

    We also have lots of scarves and gloves in the house, but they get lost easily too.

    Reply
  • 4. domestic rat  |  October 1, 2006 at 1:34 am

    He definitely needs the scarf alright, to shield his throat from the cold. And one thing might help, no cold drinks; this is something the chinese doc (aka sinseh) advised me before.

    Reply
  • 5. ipanema  |  October 1, 2006 at 1:45 am

    Reactions to any weather change is always hard, either on an adult or a child. Sometimes I better suffer than my children. Think it’s normal for us mothers to feel so.

    Ah, the middle child syndrome.🙂

    Reply
  • 6. noemi  |  October 1, 2006 at 2:36 am

    I felt the bitter cold in Canada when I went there in the month of May a few years ago I can imagine how cold it must be at this time of the year. Cold!.

    Reply
  • 7. bugsybee  |  October 1, 2006 at 4:45 am

    Hi Niceheart! Nice shot you got there but I’m sorry for little guys who have to wrestle with asthma attacks. I had that problem when I was younger, it stopped when I was in my mid20s but in the last few years, I’ve had it again. A childhood friend who’s been hooked on ventolin almost all her life recently went to a workshop where she was taught breathing exercises to counter her asthma attacks. She said that it helped lessen her dependence on ventolin. Maybe you can ask around about this. Have a happy week!

    Reply
  • 8. zeroimpact  |  October 1, 2006 at 10:47 am

    He looks so cute
    You’re really great… had all the things ready🙂

    Reply
  • 9. niceheart  |  October 1, 2006 at 1:35 pm

    Thanks, Kyels.

    Sesame, it was the cold weather. But when he was younger, it was his allergy to dust that would trigger his asthma. But I have it controlled so he stopped having asthma until now.😦

    As to my oldest son, his asthma is triggered my his cold. When he’s had a cold for a few days, rest assured that he’d have one of his attacks.

    It is already that season here, aurea. It comes here early. We usually lose a lot of mitts and gloves that’s why we always have extras. The scarves I suspect were left at school.

    Reply
  • 10. niceheart  |  October 1, 2006 at 1:42 pm

    DR, thanks for that tip. First time I’ve heard it. I told that to the kids.

    You’re right, ipanema. We mothers feel that way. Ah, that middle child syndrome. I used to dismiss it as that because I try to give them all equal attention. But I guess that syndrome does exist after all.

    HI Noemi. What part of Canada have you been? Because some places here are colder than the others. We actually consider May warmer than the other months.🙂 January and February are what we call the bitter cold months.

    Reply
  • 11. niceheart  |  October 1, 2006 at 1:48 pm

    Hello bugsybee. I have a co-worker who inhales ventolin regularly everyday. And my sister has also been a lifelong sufferer of asthma. I’ll mention this info to them. I’ll also look into it. Might help my kids too. My oldest son doesn’t inhale it regularly though. Only when he has attacks.

    Thank you zeroimpact. Well, I try to get things ready most of the time, but sometimes I get slack.🙂

    Reply
  • 12. mmy-lei  |  October 2, 2006 at 4:40 am

    ryland so cute in there!

    here, i’d like winter than summer.

    Reply
  • 13. phil  |  October 2, 2006 at 7:33 am

    I keep track of who reads my blog with sitemeter and its always easy to see you Nice…You’re WAAAY up there in the middle of the COOOLD belt. I don’t think anyone else reads me from Manitoba other than you, so its easy to spot you that way too. What always strikes me is how far north it looks. I HATE the cold and it looks very cold where you are… Thanks again for helping me appreciate my decision to live here in the land of the year round warm weather. Besides the beautiful women of the Philippines, the weather is what I love the next most!

    Reply
  • 14. niceheart  |  October 2, 2006 at 10:40 pm

    Thanks, mmy-lei. I guess you don’t get freezing temperatures in the winter over there.

    Hmmn. So I must be a lonely isolated spot on your sitemeter, Phil. Yup, we are way up here in the north. You really hate the cold weather. We’ve come to accept that it is part of our life here.

    I think you’ve just made many Filipino ladies smile with your comment.🙂

    Reply
  • 15. Sidney  |  October 3, 2006 at 12:18 am

    I agree with Phil !😉

    Reply
  • 16. eric  |  October 3, 2006 at 1:52 am

    It pains me to read this entry of yours, Irene, because as you know, this is the time of the season that used to depress me lots.

    Hope the boys adjust fairly soon and not catch any colds or sniffles.

    Take care!

    Reply
  • 17. ann  |  October 3, 2006 at 3:08 am

    How long is your winter there?

    In my case, my eldest really gives me a hard time, eversince she was small when I asked for her left foot (to put on her shoes) she will give me her right. Patience…patience..sometimes I’m losing it..hehehe.

    Reply
  • 18. Toe  |  October 3, 2006 at 3:47 am

    -1???!!!! That IS cold! I hope the boys don’t get too much of the sniffles.

    Your boys talaga… they really have different personalities no? 🙂 Ryan – the one with the middle child syndrome, right? — they’re usually the ones who get the girls when they’re older.😉

    Ryland is sooo cute!🙂

    Reply
  • 19. cruise  |  October 3, 2006 at 9:43 am

    isa pa sa mahirap kapag malamig, madaling mag dry balat, tapos yung available na lotion minsan sa abroad di hiyang sa asian skin.

    cute nga posing nya sa cart😉

    Reply
  • 20. Karen  |  October 3, 2006 at 6:09 pm

    they were saying na we’ll have warmer winter daw this year…kaso nga lang define “warmer” di ba? we’re in winnipeg after all😉 .

    Reply
  • 21. niceheart  |  October 3, 2006 at 10:03 pm

    Thanks, Sidney.🙂

    Eric, you know what, I’m also kind of grumpy these days. Ryland is doing better now and nobody else has caught any colds yet. Thanks.

    Ann, we usually have snow from about 5-6 months. So your girl is the defiant one huh?

    Reply
  • 22. niceheart  |  October 3, 2006 at 10:11 pm

    Toe, when the cold season is just starting, minus one feels cold. But that’s nothing really compared to the minus 30-40 we get in the winter. That’s true, siblings can have different personalities. It that really true about getting the girls?😉

    Hi Cruise, tutoo nga. We get dry skin in winter. So far naman hiyang yung lotion na ginagamit namin. But we also have creams that we use esp. one son who has very dry and sensitive skin.

    I’ve heard that Karen. And supposedly last year was our warmest winter so far. It’s just hard to understand how minus 32 can be warm, eh?

    Reply
  • 23. bw  |  October 3, 2006 at 11:12 pm

    Minus 1 is a little too cold for October weatherhere. Today we had rain in the morning but subsided just in time for a dandy 24 deg weather in the afternoon for our company annual golf tourney!

    we’re hovering normaly between 10-15 deg this time of year.
    Since I HATE mowing my lawn because it takes me morethan an hour to do the whole place, I welcome fall, esp the time in nov when no more mowing is needed!

    Reply
  • 24. haze  |  October 4, 2006 at 2:44 pm

    what 1C already at this time??? Naku that’s too cold for me, I live in the south of France particularly in Marseille where there is always sun😉 before as in lamig na lamig na ako at dumudugo ilong ko. I think it’s just a matter of adapting. Now, I am used to it but we haven’t had that temperature……….brrrrrrr……..bigla tuloy ako nilamig🙂 It’s fall here and we have 16 in the morning & 26 in the afternoon !

    I agree with you that eldest is always the obedient, very sweet, respectful one. I observed it with my 2 kids. My eldest Sébastien is the same as yours but my daughter Mayumi is sometimes “pain on the neck ” . She has a strong character and she knows what she likes! You are 101% right it’s payback time coz I was once a “pain on the neck too”! So I don’t search for an answer it runs in the blood ;(.
    But hey people do change di ba, yung nga daw salbahe ng bata mas bumabait kapag tumatanda😉 !

    Reply
  • 25. niceheart  |  October 4, 2006 at 11:15 pm

    Aw, you’re lucky BW. We still get highs of 16-17, but usually there’s wind so it feels colder than that.

    Haze, so you live in a warm place pala. Kami naman dito sanay na rin sa lamig but we still dread it.

    I do think that the oldest one is the responsible one among siblings and yeah, people change as they grow older.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tweet!


