Tickle Me Elmo

September 13, 2006 at 10:57 pm 25 comments

I was going to post something else today but I was watching The View this morning and I heard Rosie O’Donnell mention that today is Tickle Me Elmo’s 10th year anniversary.  It brings back fond memories.

 

Ten years ago, I only had two children.  Reggie was six, about to turn seven that November.  It was October and I was at Wal-Mart, or I think it was still called WoolCo then, it’s sister company.  It was later on replaced by Wal-Mart.  Well, anyway, I was looking for a toy present for Reggie and I found him this one-foot tall silver Buzz Lightyear action figure.  The one with movable arms and legs and helmet that you can flip.  We watched Toy Story and Buzz was his favourite character.  So there I was at the Toy Section and I heard this tiny hysterical laugh from an Elmo doll.  I couldn’t help but check it out.  I pressed the tummy, as it said on the box and it shook and giggled “Hee hee hee hee, that tickles.”  Oh, it was so cute and adorable and I just had to buy it for my then two year old son, Ryan.  He watched Sesame Street and I just knew that he would love Tickle Me Elmo.  It was supposed to be a Christmas present but I gave it to him right away when I came home.

 

In December that year, I heard that parents were crazy over the Tickle Me Elmo doll and some were on a frenzy to get a hold of one when the doll went out of stock in the stores. Tyco, the manufacturer of the toy, didn’t expect the sudden demand and there was short supply and people literally fought for the dolls.

According to Wikipedia:

A clerk at the Walmart in Fredericton, New Brunswick was among those injured by “Elmo-mania”. A crowd of 300 stampeded into the store on 14 December 1996; spotting him with one of the remaining toys, he “was pulled under, trampled—the crotch was yanked out of my brand-new jeans.” According to People, the clerk “suffered a pulled hamstring, injuries to his back, jaw and knee, a broken rib and a concussion.”

Entry filed under: Raising the 3Rs. Tags: .

Friendly Manitoba – Part 2 The Murals of Winnipeg

25 Comments Add your own

  • 1. ipanema  |  September 14, 2006 at 8:42 am

    Ah, toys! My children still have their toys. Once, I asked them what they’d like to do with it. They told me they’ll keep it.🙂

    Reply
  • 2. Wil  |  September 14, 2006 at 9:04 am

    yeah, that elmo toy is truly a phenomenon. even today, my little nieces and nephews are crazy for elmo, although probably not as much as during the elmo craze 10 years ago. I wonder if Sesame Street gets all that elmo money.😀

    Reply
  • 3. aurea  |  September 14, 2006 at 4:56 pm

    10 years already! Time flies…

    My brother was a store manager for a Toys R Us at the height of the Tickle Me Elmo craze. He managed to snag me one. My mom eventually gave it to a friend’s kid.

    Reply
  • 4. aurea  |  September 14, 2006 at 4:59 pm

    PS I love the 2nd photo – your son looks so happy.

    Reply
  • 5. eric aka senor enrique  |  September 14, 2006 at 8:07 pm

    Ahhhh … great pics, Irene!

    Those frenzied parents on Christmastime … did it start with this toy or the Cabbage Patch dolls? I think there was even a movie with Governor Arnie fighting for a toy.

    Reply
  • 6. Kyels  |  September 14, 2006 at 9:19 pm

    I love the second photo; you son looks so cheerful and so happy. Man, he’s just so cute, etching a smile on my face. Thank you for sharing niceheart!

    (:

    Reply
  • 7. niceheart  |  September 14, 2006 at 10:36 pm

    Ipanema, my kids have also toys that they still want to keep but some, we do get rid of. Like two summers ago we held a garage sale and got rid of a lot of toys. Actually they wanted me to get rid of Elmo, but I couldn’t bear to part with it. I’m still holding on to it. Maybe they can hand it down to their future kids.🙂

    Wil, they have all outgrown Elmo already. I don’t think they know that it’s still somewhere here at home.🙂

    Reply
  • 8. niceheart  |  September 14, 2006 at 10:39 pm

    Aurea, it’s really hard to believe that it’s been 10 years already. My son, Ryan just started junior high and he’s almost as tall as me. I was glad that I bought that Elmo doll before the frenzy went on. That photo is one of my favourites.

    Reply
  • 9. niceheart  |  September 14, 2006 at 10:43 pm

    Eric, I don’t know about the Cabbage patch dolls. Never bought one of those because I don’t have any girls at home.🙂

    That Arnold movie, Jingle All the Way, I think was inspired by the Elmo craze.

    Thank you Kyels. Ryan was just a giggly child when he was that age. I have many pictures of him laughing and giggling. Actually, once in a while he still does that.

    Reply
  • 10. Kyels  |  September 15, 2006 at 12:43 am

    Awww. That is just so cute of him; when kids giggle, it makes the world go round and that everything seems to be filled with happiness instead of sorrows.

    Kids are equivalent to joys!

    (:

    Reply
  • 11. Sidney  |  September 15, 2006 at 5:15 am

    He, he… good you were early to buy one!
    It looks (& sound) funny!
    For sure a perfect present for your son.

    Reply
  • 12. sesame  |  September 15, 2006 at 7:08 am

    I remember that toy! It was so cute. I love the way Elmo laughed. Btw, Reggie looked really cute in those pix…hmmm….your boys are good looking!

    Reply
  • 13. niceheart  |  September 15, 2006 at 11:02 pm

    They are the joys of my life, Kyels. 🙂

    Sidney, I was really glad I bought it early. It was indeed perfect for him.

    Thanks, Sesame. Actually, that’s Ryan on the pictures and not Reggie.🙂

    Reply
  • 14. ladybug  |  September 16, 2006 at 1:52 am

    Toys….pretty soon I will have to start buying them too!🙂 Happy weekend!🙂

    Reply
  • 15. ann  |  September 16, 2006 at 2:59 am

    I don’t usually keep old toys but not with my kids’ Barney stuff toys , maybe because of memories.

    Reply
  • 16. phil  |  September 16, 2006 at 3:37 am

    I find it amazing that people can get so worked up over toys, and to the point that they would actually trample each other and injure a clerk? I guess I’m missing the point of your post, yes? More darkside of humanity stuff there NiceHeart…Of course on the brightside, how nice that parents are willing to run rampant just to please their little progeny! Leave it to me to find insanity in a perfectly sweet story about your kids and Elmo Dolls. Pass the prozac please….

    Reply
  • 17. mmy-lei  |  September 16, 2006 at 8:04 am

    until now i still keep some of my toys in my room backhome.

    i like the second pic too. i love the way he giggles!

    Reply
  • 18. niceheart  |  September 16, 2006 at 8:05 pm

    Ladybug, I think you’ll also have a good time buying toys. Congrats again.🙂

    Ann, same here. Some toys just have that sentimental value.

    Mmy-lei, lucky you. I don’t have anymore of my childhood toys.

    Reply
  • 19. niceheart  |  September 16, 2006 at 8:17 pm

    The point, Phil? There is no point. Actually, I’ve been too tired lately to blog. Been too busy since school started. But when I heard that it was Tickle Me Elmo’s 10th year anniversary, I just had to share my experience.

    So I was just babbling here. No point at all. Sorry to disappoint you Phil. So please pass the prozac to somebody else who needs it.🙂 Don’t look at me.

    Why do people get worked up on toys? I guess they just want to give what their children want. There are some who do spoil their kids, especially those who can afford it.  And unfortunately, there are those who would go to the extent of hurting people just to get what they want.

    Reply
  • 20. bingskee  |  September 16, 2006 at 9:25 pm

    hi, irene. i share the same feelings. at times, i get too tired there wasnt any time left for blogging. but anyway, blogging should be for fun and should not be a priority over other things that need more our time and attention.

    about the pics, i love them, irene! kids are so lovely to look at when they’re young – full of innocence and happiness.

    Reply
  • 21. niceheart  |  September 17, 2006 at 11:00 pm

    To blog or not to blog, huh bing? I know sometimes that I need to go to bed early, but the computer always beckons me.🙂

    I always enjoy looking at my kids’ photos when they were younger. Brings back many memories.

    Reply
  • 22. Cindy  |  September 23, 2006 at 9:58 am

    I too have fond memories and watched elmo everyday with my girls now 26 @22.Then i babysat again i was watching that red fuzzy guy again.Now i have 2 adorable grandkids 6@11/2 well guess what yes grandma bought elmo for her girls and yes they have them ,now my grankids enjoy them .I was in walmart asked the clerk where they were went and picked up yet another furry red fuzzy elmo> I look forward to Christmas moroning as i see them and us the adults laughing right along with elmo .Who we will always have and cherish.

    Reply
  • 23. niceheart  |  September 24, 2006 at 10:49 pm

    Hi Cindy, ah it must be a totally different experience to be a grandma. Enjoying the kids without all the sleepless nights and the other hard stuff.🙂 Yes, the look on the children’s eyes on Christmas morning brings back the kid in all of us. 🙂 Thanks for dropping by.

    Reply
  • 24. My top ten posts of 2006 « Journey to Honeyville  |  January 3, 2007 at 9:31 pm

    […] Tickle Me Elmo – It’s Tickle Me Elmo’s tenth year anniversary and Fischer Price released it new line of Tickle Me Elmo, the TMX.  Seeing Elmo on TV brought back memories of how I got my son his own Tickle Me Elmo ten years ago. […]

    Reply
  • 25. kyle  |  November 13, 2007 at 10:05 pm

    I love your pictures. I actually went in to toys r us today twice and purchased 4 tmx elmos. I then went to wallmart and got 4 more. I am a huge elmo fan and will most likely sell a few on ebay but keep the rest of them.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tweet!


