Back to School – Part 2

September 6, 2006 at 10:20 pm 17 comments

My two youngest sons went back to school today. 

Last night Ryan said, “I can’t believe we go to school tomorrow.  Can we have another month of vacation?”  

I said, “Nope, I think you’ve had enough vacation.”  

And what would they do for another month?  Just stay inside the house, play their videogames, bicker, and fight with each other?  As much as I’ve enjoyed having them around here at home, I think it’s about time they go back out there in the world to learn new things, socialize with their friends and get involved with different activities. 

Their school supplies were packed in their backpacks and shopping bags.  This is the reason why some parents with young children take the day off or at least the morning off on the first day of school.  To help them carry their school supplies.

  

I didn’t think that Ryan wanted me to walk with him to school.  After all, he’s in junior high now. 

I walked with Ryland to school.  I carried his heavy backpack for him.  He and four cousins all go to the same elementary school.  That’s them in the picture with my sister.  Sis has this wagon and that’s where they loaded their school supplies. 

Ryland is in third grade now and he was happy to see his friends. 

 

Reggie will start grade 12 tomorrow.  This is his last year of high school.  Boy, do I feel old.   

This is the first time that my children are attending three different schools.  That means more letters and reminders to receive and more important dates and deadlines to remember.  I better get more organized this time. 

Here in Canada, students go to junior high school or middle school after graduating from sixth grade.  Junior high is grades 7 and 8.  They then go on to high school, which is grades 9 – 12.  So a student actually goes through 13 school grades (if you include kindergarten) before he enters college or university. 

If Reggie were in the Philippines, he would be in college or university now.  Because there is only a total of four years of high school in the Philippines, no middle school.  Philippines Phil made a very interesting observation about how college students compare to the ones in the Western countries.  He wonders if a 16-year old student is mature enough to be in college.  You may want to visit his site and read about his view on this and maybe share yours. 

There’s something about the excitement of going back to school that motivated the cousins to go and play outside tonight.  Here they are playing badminton after school.

 

Entry filed under: Raising the 3Rs. Tags: .

Early signs of Fall Friendly Manitoba – Part 1

17 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Rey  |  September 6, 2006 at 10:55 pm

    kids will be kids… They do feel a bit of apprehension going to school after a long break. But friends and some new ones will reinvigorate the interest. Does your boys already have crushes and girlfriends?

    Reply
  • 2. ladybug  |  September 7, 2006 at 12:36 am

    Wow! Hahaha…sali ako sa badminton game nila. Looks like they’re having fun.🙂 I’ve always wondered about junior high and high school in western culture. Shempre laking Pinas ako kaya di ko naiintindihan. While I agree that an additional year of high school will better prepare them for college, I don’t think that idea will sell here in the Philippines. With more and more families depending on their children to help them with household expenses, they will view the additional year as a burden and added expense.

    Reply
  • 3. Eric  |  September 7, 2006 at 3:48 am

    I used to fret that vacations seemed to pass by so fast. But with the excitement of acquiring new uniforms , school supplies and books, sooner or later I was happy to be back in school.

    Now, you’ll have to get used to a quiter house in the mornings … hehehe!

    Reply
  • 4. haze  |  September 7, 2006 at 1:55 pm

    i think i miss going to school perhaps I will get better grades now! When I was still in school I hated Math subject😦 I was not really good in it and will never be ata.

    Here in France too Niceheart it took so long to finish their studies. My husband finished at the age of 25, can you imagine ! I finished my college degree at the age of 21 way back home and I had a job right away. I am not choosy when it comes to jobs, what matters most is the experience I will be facing and I wanted to explore many things. Hay buhay, ngayon SAHM ako but it is a tough job too!

    Goodluck to your kids😉

    Reply
  • 5. Kyels  |  September 7, 2006 at 2:14 pm

    I guess kids will always be kids — not wanting to go back to school after a long break. The same thing happens to my younger brothers as well. They fret whenever they have to go back to school after a long break. Heh.

    Looks like they’re having fun playing badminton! Hehe.

    Well, talking about high school, I really miss those times. Man, it was so different back then. Memories will always be memories.

    (:

    Reply
  • 6. Sidney  |  September 7, 2006 at 10:18 pm

    In fact I find two months of vacations a bit long. As you pointed out they don’t really do a lot of interestings activities during those long vacations.

    I am surprised by the big amount of school supplies they need. I am happy that my son wasn’t expected to buy that much.

    Reply
  • 7. niceheart  |  September 7, 2006 at 10:48 pm

    Oh no, Rey, no girlfriends yet. Crushes? I don’t know. My two older boys don’t talk to their mother about such things.😦 And my youngest son is still at that “girls are yucky” stage.🙂

    Ladybug, when I saw them playing badminton, I thought of you and Eric.🙂 You have a good point about the additional years of H.S. (it’s actually 2 additional years) not selling in the Philippines. Added expense pa nga. But here, 16 year old is the legal age to work so there are also a lot of high school students who work while still in high school.

    Reply
  • 8. niceheart  |  September 7, 2006 at 10:55 pm

    It’s a lot quiter nga, Eric. Now I can concentrate more on my work. But it’s also kind of sad. 😦 I can’t believe I’m saying this but I miss the noise.🙂

    Haze, I also finished college at age 21. It’s true that being a stay-at-home mom is a tough job. Actually, according to reseach, being a SAHM is equivalent to having two full time jobs. So don’t short-change yourself.🙂

    Reply
  • 9. niceheart  |  September 7, 2006 at 11:01 pm

    Kyels, I think it’s the same with adults too. I also dread going back to work after a two-week vacation.🙂 High school is also one of the memorable chapters of my life.🙂

    Sidney, I agree, vacation gets kind of tiring and old towards the end of the two months. About the school supplies, you probably buy a few here and there throughout the school year that it will also add up in the end as this much.

    Reply
  • 10. Major Tom  |  September 8, 2006 at 1:26 am

    I remember that when i was a very young, going back to school was so exciting that until now, those memories are still fresh in my mind; But as I grew older, I had always wanted the school vacation to go on for much longer…maybe, as we grew older, the giddiness of seeing back classmates and school grounds ain’t as good enough.

    Reply
  • 11. watson  |  September 8, 2006 at 5:45 am

    very nice walkway! I love walking through green lawns and trees. Reminds me of home.

    Reply
  • 12. phil  |  September 8, 2006 at 7:53 am

    Ladybug’s comment that adding more years before allowing kids to start college is right on the mark, especially for the bulk of the families over here. On the other hand, those who can afford to go to the higher level universities don’t generally have to worry about helping the family out as soon as possible. Hmm. Good subject for a future post.

    Reply
  • 13. ipanema  |  September 8, 2006 at 12:42 pm

    We are almost over for the school year here. November will be the last month. We start school January. International school follows your schedule & US. Wait till you read this.

    Ladybug, you’re complaining of additional year in HS? This is the set-up here:

    Kindergarten – 3 yrs.
    Primary – 6 yrs.
    Secondary – 5 yrs.
    Pre-University (A Levels) – 2 yrs.
    University/College -?

    After 5 yrs HS most foreigners go straight to University/College BUT it’s 1 yr foundation course before they entre University/College proper. That long! 🙂

    Reply
  • 14. niceheart  |  September 8, 2006 at 11:07 pm

    Major Tom, maybe it’s because as we get older, we are more aware of responsibilities and the thought of homework and exams can be such a drag.

    Watson, I also love walking around our neighbourhood. It’s very peaceful here.

    Reply
  • 15. niceheart  |  September 8, 2006 at 11:10 pm

    Phil, I quite agree. Now, methinks that’s the reason the Philippines only implemented four years of high school. Makes a lot of sense now.

    Ipanema, yours is the second country I heard that starts school in January. Australia, too. Wow! That is quite a long stay in school. But didn’t you also mention in one of your posts that education there is free?

    Reply
  • 16. ipanema  |  September 8, 2006 at 11:17 pm

    Yes, it’s free up to 21. By the time, they haven’t finished univerisity yet. A few years. Depends on their course.🙂

    Reply
  • 17. niceheart  |  September 9, 2006 at 9:28 pm

    I wouldn’t mind going to school that long if it’s free.🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tweet!


