The Squid and the Whale

August 27, 2006 at 9:53 pm 6 comments

When I first heard about the movie, The Squid and the Whale, I was hooked right away just with the title. Then I learned that it is about a divorcing couple and there are two sons involved. Now that’s a movie I want to see. I was a product of a broken home and there was also a time when I thought of separating from my partner but just the thought of all the hassle of splitting our properties and the days we have to spend with our children caused me undue stress. But at the end of the day it was really the kids I was concerned about because I didn’t want them to go through what I did when my parents separated. And just that drove me to work on my marriage harder.

The Squid and the Whale is a very interesting film. The story begins as the husband (Jeff Daniels) and wife (Laura Linney) are on the verge of separating. It is told from the point of view of the children. They see the classic signs — their parents always fighting and the dad sleeping on the couch. And then one night they have a family meeting. The parents explain to them that they are separating and having a joint custody and how they are going to split the days of the week between the two sons. It’s funny how they thought that they have arranged how to split everything until the youngest son asks, “What about the cat?” Oh yeah, they forgot about the cat.

Read the rest of this entry.

Entry filed under: Books, movies, music, TV. Tags: .

Family Game Night – Part 3 On birthday parties

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. ipanema  |  August 27, 2006 at 11:39 pm

    Oh niceheart, we all go through this phase in marriage I guess. It’s good that you’ve hold on to it for the children’s sake. We always sacrifice our happiness over theirs.

    However, sometimes there are really situations wherein the best thing to do is to part with each other for everyone to move on.

    Hold on.

    BTW, I like Laura Linney.:)

    Reply
  • 2. ladybug  |  August 28, 2006 at 12:25 am

    I hope this movie gets shown here in the Philippines.🙂

    Reply
  • 3. Daphne  |  August 28, 2006 at 3:43 am

    Hi Niceheart – thanks for visiting my blog.🙂

    I’ve heard about this movie a while back. I saw it was already available in DVD form here in Pinas, but I’ve been waiting for it to sell at a cheaper price. Because I’m kuripot. hehehe

    It is an interesting glimpse into relationships falling apart.

    Reply
  • 4. Eric  |  August 28, 2006 at 5:18 pm

    Yeah … I hope so, too, that it gets shown here. I would love to see this.

    Nice review🙂

    Reply
  • 5. niceheart  |  August 28, 2006 at 8:14 pm

    Ipanema, I like her too. I think she’s a fine actress.

    Ladybug, this movie was released last year. So it must have been shown there already.

    Daphne, thanks also for dropping by.🙂 It is already on DVD. I rented it a few weeks ago. I’m also kuripot.🙂

    Thanks, Eric.  You must have missed it last year. Just look for the DVD.🙂

    Reply
  • 6. haze  |  August 29, 2006 at 5:14 pm

    Since we are a mixed couple DIVORCE is oftentimes a bg subject in our conversation. It is evident we do not share the same culture (france has divorce but not in the Philippines). Insoite of this we share the same ideas that a couple should always discuss everything without barriers, put something into consideration especially the children (they’re the one who suffered most). It takes 2 to tango ika nga kaya the fault isn’t his or hers….it’s both so I guess the solution is an open communication, and acceptance of one’s fault then forgiveness !

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tweet!


