Family Game Night – Part 3

August 24, 2006 at 9:29 pm 18 comments

13 Dead End Drive 

 

We have a new favourite on Family Game Nights.  It’s called 13 Dead End Drive.  You’re either gonna be lucky or unlucky by the end of this game. 

Here’s the story.  Aunt Agatha just passed away.  She has no surviving relatives.  So her fortune is up for grabs.  Her 12 friends and employees are anxiously waiting for the reading of her will.  But it says only one will inherit her fabulous wealth – the one whose portrait is hanging on the wall. 

The gameboard is the mansion and it is full of traps.  There’s a toppling statue, a shaky chandelier, a bookcase ladder that could fall.  There are also secret passages.  You have to watch out as you move your pawns because these traps could literally fall on them. 

The 12 suspects are: the butler, the chef, the maid, the chauffeur, the gardener, the doctor, the tennis coach, the best friend, the boyfriend, the hair stylist, the fortune-teller, and yeah, the cat. 

You win in three ways: 

1.       If your pawn gets out of the mansion when it’s portrait is shown hanging on the wall.

2.       If your pawn is the last one alive.

3.       If the detective arrives at the front door and your pawn’s portrait is shown hanging on the wall. 

This is such a fun game to play. 

Mancala 

Another game we have been playing lately is the mancala. When Ryland saw the sungka at the Folklorama Philippine Pavilion last weekend, he said, “It’s like the mancala.”  I smiled because when I first saw a mancala, I thought, it’s like the sungka. 

The mancala gameboard is a tray with six small bowls on each side and two large bowls on each end called the mancalas.  Instead of (tamarind) seeds or tiny shells, as we use in sungka, mancala uses these tiny colourful plastic African animals. 

Before starting the game, four seeds are placed in each bowl, except the two mancalas.  A player owns the six small bowls closest to him and the mancala on his right.  The first player scoops the seeds from one of his bowls and drops one seed at a time in each bowl, going counterclockwise.  A player never drops seeds in his opponent’s mancala.  He skips it and continues dropping seeds until he has no more in his hands.  The two players take turns.  If a seed lands in an empty bowl on his side, he takes the seeds in the opponent’s bowl directly across from it and also the seed that he dropped in the empty bowl and puts them in his own mancala. 

The game ends when a player has no more seeds left in his bowls.  The other player places his remaining seeds in his own mancala.  The player with the most number of seeds in his mancala wins.

Entry filed under: Life is a game. Tags: .

Jazz and Cultural Performances and a Baseball Game The Squid and the Whale

18 Comments Add your own

  • 1. ladybug  |  August 24, 2006 at 10:05 pm

    Tama….mancala sounds a lot like sungka.🙂

    Reply
  • 2. Eric  |  August 24, 2006 at 10:56 pm

    I like to try 13 Dead End Drive. Sounds inriguing and fun to play!

    Reply
  • 3. ipanema  |  August 25, 2006 at 6:27 am

    I can identify with the mancala. I used to be good at playing this when I was young. There’s a technique and soon my other siblings found out and we outwitted each other. It was my mother who them the secret. She was the one who taught me first and couldn’t bear to see my younger siblings losing to me…lol

    Nowadays, the games I can play with my children are board games. Otherwise, one goes for football and basketball, the other, badminton.

    Reply
  • 4. ipanema  |  August 25, 2006 at 6:28 am

    lol@myself…I mean i used to play sungka, not mancala. 🙂

    Reply
  • 5. ann  |  August 25, 2006 at 4:43 pm

    I am not familiar with that mancala but I played sungka wayback 19kopong-kopong…hehehe.

    Reply
  • 6. niceheart  |  August 25, 2006 at 9:46 pm

    Ladybug, nag-rhyme pa yung comment mo ha.🙂

    Eric, it was really fun to play. Sort of like a who dunit mystery.

    Ipanema, I also used to play the sungka. I really enjoy playing boardgames with the kids. Last year, my two youngest ones joined the basketball league and I would play with them out in the backyard to help them practice. Oh how they would laugh at me because they said I look funny with my poses and position.🙂

    Ann, it is pretty much like the sungka, which I also played nung 19kopong-kopong pa rin.🙂

    Reply
  • 7. bingskee  |  August 26, 2006 at 3:05 am

    Daryl would surely like to try 13 Deadend Drive. sounds exciting to play it! and yes, mancala looked like our sungka. and speaking of sungka, i cant remember where i had put the sungka!

    Reply
  • 8. mmy-lei  |  August 26, 2006 at 8:55 am

    hmm, looks exciting to play that 13 Dead End Drive. I’ll try to find that here.

    I know the trick in sungka, esp on mobile games.

    Reply
  • 9. Toe  |  August 26, 2006 at 10:45 am

    13 Dead End Drive seems so much fun. I can imagine inviting friends over and playing that while eating junk food. 🙂 Is mancala exactly the same as sungka except that it’s got 6 holes? You’re really enjoying these family game nights. You’re boys are so lucky!

    Reply
  • 10. jane  |  August 26, 2006 at 3:02 pm

    para ngang sungka. the only games I know and played are Scrabble, Bingo and Millionaires🙂

    Reply
  • 11. haze  |  August 26, 2006 at 5:02 pm

    I like to play sungka it’s easy,fun & realxing na rin ! No complications. Mukhang magandang laro yang Family Game Nights na yan ah! Ano kaya equivalent nyan dito sa Pransya? Have a nice weekend Niceheart!

    Reply
  • 12. niceheart  |  August 26, 2006 at 9:49 pm

    Bing, he would probably enjoy it too. And come on, bring out the sungka. It’s also fun to play it.

    Mmy-lei, it is an exciting game. I’m intrigued by the trick in sungka, which I don’t know. 😦

    Toe, we haven’t tried playing 13 Dead End Drive while munching on junk food. 🙂 But I think it’s a fun game to play with friends, too. I haven’t played sungka in a long time but I think it’s played pretty much like it except for the number of holes.

    Jane, we also play Scrabble and Bingo, but not Millionaires.

    Haze, the Family Game Nights is just something the kids and I came up with to entertain ourselves during the lazy days of summer, while they are on school break. Initially, we only intended to do it on Friday nights, but we’ve also been playing on other days lately because I was also on a two-week holiday. But I’m back to work come Monday and school starts in two weeks. So, it might be coming to an end soon.😦

    Reply
  • 13. ipanema  |  August 26, 2006 at 10:06 pm

    lol niceheart. They’d admonish once we played basketball. Commenting on my shooting skills. 🙂

    Reply
  • 14. Major Tom  |  August 26, 2006 at 10:53 pm

    13 Dead End drive is just the kind of game i’d like to be in; I was such Monopoly addict in the past. I hope ut could be available here in our place…

    Reply
  • 15. niceheart  |  August 27, 2006 at 8:34 pm

    Ipanema, he he he. I wasn’t much of a shooter either.🙂

    Major Tom, if you were into Monopoly, I bet that you’d enjoy 13 Dead End Drive, too.

    Reply
  • 16. Sidney  |  August 27, 2006 at 9:46 pm

    I learned to play sungka here in the Philippines. It’s fun!
    Great you keep on paying with your kids instead of watching TV all the time! More families should do this!

    Reply
  • 17. niceheart  |  August 27, 2006 at 10:08 pm

    Wow! Good for you, Sidney. But don’t be fooled. We all watch more TV than play games.🙂 School starts soon and I guess our family games nights will end soon too.😦

    Reply
  • 18. ayla Novak  |  August 5, 2007 at 11:08 am

    i love this game i have i but i dont know how to play so ill use this to help me
    thanxs

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tweet!


