Family Game Night – Part 2

August 4, 2006 at 10:28 pm 18 comments

We’ve been having family game nights every Friday since we started five weeks ago.  We’ve been playing Scrabble until tonight.  The kids chose puzzles and Guess Who?

   

We did the puzzles first.  Ryan finished his first puzzle in 7 minutes.  Ryland and I were not done yet so he did the second puzzle.  Well, you see, Ryan had been doing these 100-piece Pokemon puzzles the whole week and had been trying to beat his own time.  He’s got a lot of practise.  So it was actually just between Ryland and me.  Whoever finishes first is the winner.  Ryland did his in 24 minutes.  And I wasn’t even halfway done mine.  Oh, I was so bad at this.   

“Do you want me to help you, Mommy?” 

“No, it’s okay.  I want to finish it myself.” 

So, like that old lady in the marathon, who dragged herself to the finish line when everybody else reached it several hours ahead of her, I finished my puzzle after 50 long minutes.

  

While I struggled to connect the pieces of my Pokemon puzzle, the two boys played Guess Who?  This is a Mystery Game where you guess your opponent’s mystery person by process of elimination.  You ask questions such as:  “Does your mystery person have a mustache?”  If they answer “No,” you flip down all the faces in your tray with mustaches.  Or “Is your mystery person wearing a hat?”  If they answer “No,” you flip down all the faces with hats.  When there are only two faces left, you take a guess.  And you win if you are the first to discover your opponent’s mystery person.

Entry filed under: Life is a game. Tags: .

The Scorcher and the Burner More cool treats

18 Comments Add your own

  • 1. kontrabida  |  August 5, 2006 at 4:06 am

    i remember i taught my brother how to play scrabble. after winning maybe twice, hindi na ako nanalo sa kanya eversince. seeing guess who? here brought back memories. i used to play that game too.

    and it’s nice to see that there are still families like yours who find time to play together hindi puro TV or internet na lang. when i have a family of my own, i’ll do my beat to have a family game night as well. thanks for sharing this🙂.

    Reply
  • 2. Eric  |  August 5, 2006 at 7:09 am

    Do you guys play chess and monopoly, too?

    Reply
  • 3. mmy-lei  |  August 5, 2006 at 8:32 am

    i like puzzle and i play online too.

    hmmm, guess who game is new to me. good thing you have quality time with the kids.

    Reply
  • 4. ann  |  August 5, 2006 at 10:17 am

    We don’t have much time for family games. My kids are always loaded with homeworks and projects, even weekends.

    Reply
  • 5. jane  |  August 5, 2006 at 2:58 pm

    I only know scrabble and monopoly😦

    Reply
  • 6. abaniko  |  August 5, 2006 at 8:44 pm

    With the kind of games your kids play, I’m sure they’d grow up smarter. The genes plus the environment – what a powerful combination!

    Reply
  • 7. niceheart  |  August 5, 2006 at 10:02 pm

    My son, Ryan, has also gotten better and has beaten me in Scrabble. He learned a lot from that Scrabble CD because there are hints on how to get the best scores.

    Ay naku, Karen and Ann. It’s only now that it’s school break that we manage to have these game nights. Once school starts, I don’t think they’d be interested anymore.

    Reply
  • 8. niceheart  |  August 5, 2006 at 10:06 pm

    Eric and Jane, the kids do play Chess and Monopoly by themselves. Daig pa nga ako. I don’t play Chess. I only know that the horse can make the letter L moves and the pawn can only move one block at a time. I have suggested Monopoly for game nights but they said it takes too long to play. They can only spare an hour of their time because they don’t want to miss their TV show.🙂

    Reply
  • 9. niceheart  |  August 5, 2006 at 10:11 pm

    Mmy-lei, sinasamantala ko lang habang bata pa sila. My oldest son doesn’t participate with us so I know that when my two younger boys get to be his age, they might not want this kind of quality time anymore.

    Abaniko, I also like to think that the “smart genes” run in our family. He he he. But that’s just me.  The kids have always been interested in these game boards. We actually have a shelf full of these.  Some, we bought, and some, they got as presents.  They’re a good exercise for the mind.

    Reply
  • 10. Sidney  |  August 6, 2006 at 12:59 am

    Nice that you play games with your kids. Nowadays most people seems to gather only to watch TV !

    Reply
  • 11. Toe  |  August 6, 2006 at 8:48 am

    These are very special moments Niceheart that you’ll never forget. It’s good that you have a blog to record these wonderful times you have with your kids.

    Reply
  • 12. Eric  |  August 6, 2006 at 9:01 pm

    You and me both with chess — as hard as I tried, just never had the fortitude to excel in it, which only disappointed my NY bestfriends who used to compete nationally.

    As for monolpoly, though popular, was overwhelmed by the fun of playing scrabble!

    Reply
  • 13. niceheart  |  August 6, 2006 at 11:54 pm

    Welcome back, Sidney. Oh don’t be fooled. We also spend a lot of time infront of the TV.🙂

    Indeed, Toe. I’m also glad that I am able to write about these precious moments and look back at them later on.🙂

    You, too, Eric? And wow, you have friends who compete in chess. You must have very smart friends.🙂

    Reply
  • 14. earthember  |  August 7, 2006 at 5:21 pm

    That’s a wonderful way to spend time together as a family. My hubby would often play board games with the kids over the weekend, and they love it. And I of course, took the opportunity to have some time alone by myself.

    Reply
  • 15. Eric  |  August 7, 2006 at 6:11 pm

    Actually, Irene, it was Fraulein, err I mean, my eldest sister, who encouraged me to seek smarter friends when I arrived in NYC, because , she argued, they would help me expand my horizon. She was right! .

    Reply
  • 16. niceheart  |  August 7, 2006 at 9:14 pm

    We’re the opposite, Ange. My husband is not interested in board games. And yeah, it must be nice to spend some time alone while the kids are busy playing.🙂

    Your sister is the smart one then.:) I have to hear more about this Fraulein sister of yours. She seems like a very interesting woman.

    Reply
  • 17. fred  |  August 23, 2006 at 10:26 pm

    NIce to know that you play scrabble. I love it too.

    Reply
  • 18. Journey to Honeyville » Family Game Night - Part 3  |  August 24, 2006 at 9:29 pm

    […] We have a new favourite on Family Game Nights.  It’s called 13 Dead End Drive.  You’re either gonna be lucky or unlucky by the end of this game. Here’s the story.  Aunt Agatha just passed away.  She has no surviving relatives.  So her fortune is up for grabs.  Her 12 friends and employees are anxiously waiting for the reading of her will.  But it says only one will inherit her fabulous wealth – the one whose portrait is hanging on the wall. The gameboard is the mansion and it is full of traps.  There’s a toppling statue, a shaky chandelier, a bookcase ladder that could fall.  There are also secret passages.  You have to watch out as you move your pawns because these traps could literally fall on them. The 12 suspects are: the butler, the chef, the maid, the chauffeur, the gardener, the doctor, the tennis coach, the best friend, the boyfriend, the hair stylist, the fortune-teller, and yeah, the cat. You win in three ways: 1.       If your pawn gets out of the mansion when it’s portrait is shown hanging on the wall.2.       If your pawn is the last one alive.3.       If the detective arrives at the front door and your pawn’s portrait is shown hanging on the wall. This is such a fun game to play. Mancala  […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tweet!


