The Scorcher and the Burner

August 2, 2006 at 11:04 pm 8 comments

Another month is over and I just realized that we’re already halfway through the summer.  Stores are having end-of-season sales and advertising back-to-school items.  No, wait.  I’m still enjoying my summer break.  Not that I’m on vacation, but I’m enjoying the calm in the morning and watching my tapes and DVDs at night.  Summer is the only time I could catch up on my favourite movies.  (Rentals are only 99 cents on Thursdays at Pick-a-Flick.) 

As usual, we don’t have any plans to go away this summer.  We just can’t seem to save up for any trips.  The kids don’t go to summer camps either.  (Except for Reggie’s jazz camp this month.) They’re not interested.  Besides, camps are quite expensive anyway.  I asked my two younger ones if they want to at least take swimming lessons.  They’re cheaper.  But no, they don’t want to.  They just want to play with their video games and go next door to play with their cousins. 

But I think boredom is starting to creep in.  Yesterday, my 12-year old said, “I’m bored.  There’s nothing to do.”  I said,  “Well, go outside and play some ball.”  He said, “No, it’s too hot outside.”  Later on after supper, when it cooled down a bit, the two boys played soccer with their cousins. 

Speaking of hot, isn’t this the hottest summer ever?  Every time I turn on the news, it’s always about how hot it is in some place in this world.  Same here in Winnipeg.  It has been the hottest and driest July on record. We didn’t get a lot of rain.  And the average temperature was 29.8 C degrees.  We’ve had highs of 33 C and 35 C. 

I’ve been hearing about forest fires here and there.  The other day, I heard about this boy who burned is feet when he stepped on a scorching metal manhole cover.  I was talking to somebody in our office yesterday and he told me that the air-conditioning unit broke down and it wasn’t fixed until after two hours.  I could just imagine how hot they felt in the cramp spaces of that building.  Here at home, we’ve also been cranking up the air-con most of the time. 

The Burner 

I’ve mentioned how my kids and I have been playing Scrabble on game nights.  Aside from that, they’ve also been playing Scrabble on the computer.  We had this Scrabble CD, which we got free from one of their cereal boxes.  It is school vacation and the kids are home all day and that means that our one and only family computer is also on most of the day.  They got hooked on this Scrabble game and they took turns playing it on the computer. Once in a while I’d remind them to turn it off to give it a break. 

A few nights ago, I was surfing the internet when I heard this whirring sound in the CPU.  It sounded like it was going to explode.  I got kinda scared and I immediately shut the computer down.  Before it did, I heard something break inside, as if a belt broke.  So I let it rest for about ten minutes and I turned it on again.  I opened the CD/DVD player to confirm my suspicions.  They were true.  There on the burner lay several small pieces of the blasted Scrabble disk.  After numerous reminders, the kids still left the disk inside the burner.  I guess the unit got too hot for being on for a long time and the disk couldn’t handle the heat and it exploded. 

The following day, my husband was cooking supper when he told me, “The burner is broken.”  I thought that’s the reason why he was using the smaller stove burner instead of the bigger one.  When we were at the dinner table, I asked him, “Did you ask Francis to look at the computer? It might have to be opened to take out all the shattered pieces inside.  Ask him if the burner is still working.”  Francis is my brother-in-law who knows a lot about computers and fixes them, too.  My husband said, “Didn’t I just tell you that the burner is broken?”  I said, “Oh, so you meant the CD burner was broken.”  I thought he was referring to the stove burner.  Dang!

Entry filed under: Roadblocks, Winnipeg. Tags: .

Super Size Me Family Game Night – Part 2

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Phil  |  August 3, 2006 at 6:45 am

    Video games are the bane of today’s youth…! When I was a kid I rarely spent more than a few minutes indoors at a time. Even when we lived in Central Texas, where it got into the triple digits for most of the summer, we were outside. The closest thing to a video game was “Rock’em Sock’em Robots.” We played tag, baseball, hide n seek, kick the can, shot hoops, road bikes, skate boarded or just explored the fields and woods. Niceheart, turn off those games and get your boys outside. When my dad was stationed overseas, we didn’t even have TV! I must have read 3 or 4 books a week, and that was in the summer. The “indoor” habits your kids develop in their youth will follow them into their adulthood…. just a suggestion!

    Reply
  • 2. Eric  |  August 3, 2006 at 7:07 am

    I read in today’s news online that the northeast region of the US will be experiencing yet another record breaking heat. Be that as it may, I prefer the hot summer months than the cold of winter.

    If I were the boys, I’d go for swimming lessons; perfect for hot and humid weather!

    And if I were you, I’d push them into it rather than their spending so much time with the computer … hehehe.

    Reply
  • 3. kontrabida  |  August 4, 2006 at 12:31 am

    it’s so hot, ano? naghihingalo na nga ang grass namin sa front and backyard — and majority of my neighborhood as well.

    Reply
  • 4. Major Tom  |  August 4, 2006 at 2:45 am

    I even heard that it was hottest in the Texas state area that they’ve some sort of heat wave there; and despite that, its getting colder in Africa that some ice had fallen in one area there…This might be what we mean by climate change….

    Reply
  • 5. Toe  |  August 4, 2006 at 3:55 am

    My sisters in North America are also complaining about the heatwaves. But my Mom who is visiting them says that it’s even cooler when compared to Manila. 🙂

    Oh no… did you get your computer fixed? Anything but the computer! 🙂

    Reply
  • 6. bw  |  August 4, 2006 at 9:43 pm

    ha ha.. you remind me of a friend working as a customer service rep in a banking call centre. When a ladycalled in complaning about her internet banking session, the rep asked her to close Windows and reboot the PC and she said… hang on a minute…she went to close her windows!

    Last Wed was the hottest summer day in Toronto’s history would you believe? And then, Thu night, a huge thunderstorm came. duh.. about time it rained..

    Reply
  • 7. niceheart  |  August 4, 2006 at 10:43 pm

    Thanks for the suggestions, Phil and Eric. I do encourage them to do some outdoor activities and they do once in a while.

    So you switched to wordpress, Karen kontrabida.🙂 Nice. Our grass is also in bad shape. The rain last night and today was a nice break.

    Ice in Africa, Major Tom, now that is scary. This must be the effect of global warming, eh?

    Reply
  • 8. niceheart  |  August 4, 2006 at 10:49 pm

    The computer is fine, Toe. It’s just the “burner” that needs to be replaced. And yeah, I know what you mean. We can handle anything to break, just not the computer.🙂

    Windows, BW? That’s a funny one. We also had a thunderstorm last night and it rained today. We so needed the rain. The only good thing about the absence of rain is also the absence of mosquitoes. I don’t think I have seen one yet. We usually have lots of mosquitoes around this time of the year.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tweet!


