The Skatepark

July 20, 2006 at 10:01 pm 12 comments

There’s a new attraction in town.  The skateboard park at The Forks

I’ve watched my kids play their Tony Hawk’s Playstation game and I’ve enjoyed watching it.  I’ve seen the different moves and turns that one can do with the skateboard such as the kickflip, the ollie, the grind, and the 180- and 360-degree turns.  I think they’re awesome. But it’s a different experience watching kids skateboard for real.   

Skateboarding can be a pretty dangerous sport.  Just two weeks ago, a teenage boy already had an accident at this park.  There have been debates on whether the City should impose a law on wearing helmets and protective gear such as knee and elbow pads.  Winnipeggers are split on this issue.  On the one hand, some think that the City should impose a rule because they think that it’s the City’s responsibility to protect its residents.  On the other hand, some think that the City shouldn’t and everybody should mind their own business and it should be up to the parents to make sure that their kids are protected when they do skateboard. 

I’m just glad that my kids are not into skateboarding.  If they were, I would make them wear helmets and pads.  But then again, I think there’s pressure on teenage kids if they see their peers not wearing helmets.  They kind of feel like the odd one out.  And the younger kids look up to the older kids.  They think that whatever the older kids are doing is cool.  And pretty soon they will want to imitate the older kids who aren’t wearing helmets.  I know this because I always struggle with my youngest son to cover his head in the freezing temperatures in the winter when he sees his older brothers not wearing their toques (hat/bonnet) or hoods.   

When we went to check out this skatepark a few days ago, I noticed the smaller kids, who were obviously with their parents, were all wearing helmets.  The teenage boys, who were there by themselves, were not.  I watched a teenage girl fall from her skateboard and I winced when she did.  I was even worried that she would scrape her lovely skinny legs.  But she was all right.   

Other provinces here in Canada enforce laws on wearing helmets while biking, rollerblading and skateboarding.  Manitoba hasn’t yet.  I’m sure if my kids were into skateboarding, I would also vote for the legislation of wearing helmets.  I think anything that involves flipping and suspending oneself in the air is dangerous. 

Click here for more photos of the skatepark.

Entry filed under: Winnipeg. Tags: .

Cantaloupe drink Can men and women be just friends?

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. earthember  |  July 20, 2006 at 11:32 pm

    Helmets should be compulsory. Skateboarding can be pretty dangerous.So is rollerblading or skating.

    Once I rollerblade without a helmet and had a nasty fall. And I was not going too fast. The consequences would be worst if I had gone fast.

    Reply
  • 2. sesame  |  July 21, 2006 at 1:00 am

    The youth these days like to attempt stunts to impress. That’s what makes it dangerous. But like you say, it’s probably due to peer pressure.

    Reply
  • 3. Major Tom  |  July 21, 2006 at 1:32 am

    I think If I remember well, I had more bruises trying to learn skateboarding than riding the bicycle. To be sure, I really recommend that kids should wear helmets and any other protective gear all the time when skateboarding; its pretty dangerous if one is still learning the tricks; the necessary balancing skill is much more tricky than any other sports…When I saw my boys trying to learn skateboarding some months ago, I told them to stop since they were just 4, 6 and 7 years old; they could fall of often…Maybe at 9 years old, it wont be as scary…

    Reply
  • 4. Eric  |  July 21, 2006 at 8:49 am

    I’m all for protective gear. No question about it!

    Reply
  • 5. niceheart  |  July 21, 2006 at 8:37 pm

    So, you rollerblade, Ange? Wow!

    I think you’re right, Sesame. They do the dangerous stunts to impress.

    Major Tom, so your boys have tried it. See, we parents know the dangers of this sport.

    We’re on the same page, Eric.

    Reply
  • 6. Toe  |  July 21, 2006 at 10:12 pm

    That looks very scary. It’s fun to watch but I’m too much of a klutz to try skateboarding or rollerblading. I trip just walking with my two legs on flat land. 🙂

    Reply
  • 7. mmy-lei  |  July 22, 2006 at 1:59 am

    i once tried skateboarding and it is dangerous! person should be responsible enough to wear protective suit but i know the feeling of being teased if you had one.

    i also tried rollerblades here, but i stopped! madaming luko-lukong arabong bata rito at talagang aasarin ka pa! baka maka-sapak lang ako kaya tinigil ko na!

    Reply
  • 8. Noemi  |  July 22, 2006 at 11:41 am

    When the girls were in their early teens, I required them to wear helmets but they refused. I always get so scared whenever they biked. I have a friend whose daughter died from a biking accident. She hit her head on the pavement. How sad talaga.

    Reply
  • 9. niceheart  |  July 22, 2006 at 10:24 pm

    Pareho tayo, Toe. I don’t rollerblade either. I don’t even know how to ride a bike.🙂

    You seem to have tried a lot of sports, mmy-lei. Just ignore those kids. Naiinggit lang siguro.🙂

    Hi Noemi. It’s sometimes really hard to make teens wear protective gear. I always remind my oldest son to wear his hat in the winter especially during extreme temperatures. He won’t because he doesn’t want to mess his moussed hair. He only does when he starts to get sick. Ay, kids.

    Reply
  • 10. Phil  |  July 23, 2006 at 3:38 am

    Since you folks have government health care seems only sensical to make protective equipment mandatory.

    Helmets are always a good thing. I’ve taken lots of spills over the years in lots of different sports and the head WANTS to get hurt. It’s so heavy and the neck so weak that a fall causes that big ol heavy coconut to slam to the ground.

    Make it law and then no one has to worry about impressing their all important “peers,” eh?

    Reply
  • 11. niceheart  |  July 23, 2006 at 10:17 pm

    You’re right, Phil. The head always seems vulnerable to injuries. And yeah, it just makes sense to make it mandatory to wear helmets because it’s the government who pays anyway if anybody gets hurt.

    Reply
  • 12. Jayred  |  July 25, 2006 at 7:47 am

    It’s always better to be safe than to be sorry. I’d go for helmets and protective knee and elbow pads!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tweet!


