Cantaloupe drink

July 18, 2006 at 6:32 pm 12 comments

Another family favourite is the cantaloupe, or milon (mee-lon) in Tagalog.  Sometimes we just slice this fruit after removing the seeds and the gooey middle.  But most of the time, we make a cantaloupe drink.  What we do after removing the middle part is scrape the fleshy meat with this utensil, pangkayod, (I don’t know what it’s called in English) and we get these string-like shapes.  We then add sugar and water and voila, we have a cantaloupe drink.

The other day, I was too tired (from the heat) and too lazy to prepare anything elaborate that I just boiled some corn on the cob and I cooked hotdogs.  That’s what the kids and I had for dinner and also this refreshing cantaloupe drink.  The corn tasted so good with margarine on it.  It was like a picnic meal.  The kids and I enjoyed it. 

“Mommy, why does everything we eat today is long?  The hotdog, the corn, and even the milon is also long.”  

You can just imagine what kind of conversation it started.  If you haven’t realized it yet, I live with four boys.  If you have been around boys, you’ll have an idea of what I’m talking about. 

Later on, I told them to stop playing around with their food and they just kept on giggling throughout the rest of the meal.  

So what about you?  How do you eat your cantaloupe?

Entry filed under: Food. Tags: .

Watermelon and Bean Sprouts The Skatepark

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Eric  |  July 18, 2006 at 8:13 pm

    Lol🙂

    I love cantaloupes and should have more of it. I prefer them sliced and refrigerated. Sometimes, cubed with grapes and cheese. I used to enjoy the drink but too much work. My brother, loves the drink but instead of the scraper (or whatever it’s called) uses this thing that looks like a mini version of an ice cream scooper.

    Reply
  • 2. domestic rat  |  July 19, 2006 at 1:24 am

    Hohoho… I did not know what you were referring. Had to google search on the word, cataloupe. Saw the picture and went ohhhh! We call it rock melon. I do not make it into any fancy drink but chill it and then simply cut it up into chunks and pig out before the TV.

    Reply
  • 3. mmy-lei  |  July 19, 2006 at 5:48 am

    either i shake it or just chunked it.

    im into fruit diet and i really like this one.

    Reply
  • 4. niceheart  |  July 19, 2006 at 11:08 pm

    I like them chilled too when sliced, Eric.

    I should have included a link, eh DR? I just assumed that cantaloupe is the universal name for this fruit.

    Milon shake sounds good, mmy-lei. I should try that too.🙂

    Reply
  • 5. Toe  |  July 19, 2006 at 11:29 pm

    Haha… living with four boys! 🙂 What an adventure you’re having Niceheart. Melon juice reminds me of my childhood as well.

    Reply
  • 6. Hsin  |  July 20, 2006 at 9:03 am

    Kekekekeke… it’s funny how guys the world over think exactly alike….

    I just eat the fruit as it is – sliced fruit. Your drink sounds yummy though – must be lovely in summer.

    Reply
  • 7. ann  |  July 20, 2006 at 6:19 pm

    My kids don’t eat cantaloupe , but hubby and I love it , sliced and chilled.

    Reply
  • 8. niceheart  |  July 20, 2006 at 9:35 pm

    Hi Toe, I remember your post “Living with a boy.” That times four. Sometimes it drives me crazy but it can be a lot of fun too.🙂

    Hsin, boys and men are all the same everywhere, eh?

    Ann, the kids don’t like it? We all like milon here.

    Reply
  • 9. karen  |  July 20, 2006 at 10:19 pm

    that looks good! we also make that at home but i prefer it with milk.

    Reply
  • 10. niceheart  |  July 20, 2006 at 10:40 pm

    My husband also likes it with milk.🙂

    Reply
  • 11. jane  |  July 22, 2006 at 1:34 pm

    i like it chilled and sliced into bite pcs.🙂

    Reply
  • 12. niceheart  |  July 22, 2006 at 10:25 pm

    Hi Jane, yeah, it tastes better when chilled.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tweet!


