You know it’s summer in Winnipeg …

July 11, 2006 at 6:09 pm 19 comments

Canada is known to be one of the coldest country in the world.  A high school classmate asked me three years ago, in an email,  if we all live in igloos.  Of course, I said no.   In a guest appearance at The Ellen DeGeneres Show, Ray Romano explained to her that Canadian Idol is like American Idol with sweaters. Ha ha.  Please let me correct him.  Canadian Idol is on in the Summer.  So no sweaters. 

As much as Winnipeg is nicknamed Winterpeg because of its long and cold winters, it doesn’t mean that it’s winter here all year long.  We also have Spring and Summer and we experience warm temperatures.  Actually, we get extreme temperatures from both ends of the thermometer – minus 40C in the winter to plus 40C in the summer.   

Last winter, I posted a few Winterpeg sights.  But all that snow melts.  Temperatures get warmer, Spring comes and flowers bloom. 

You know it’s summer in Winnipeg when: 

… the tree-lined streets of the city are getting greener and colourful.

 

… flowers are blooming everywhere. 

 

… the sun rises at 5:30 a.m. and sets at 9:30 p.m. (Yes folks, that’s 16 hours of daylight.)

… temperatures soar up to the 30s and Winnipeggers head out to the swimming pools. 

… it’s July 11th (7/11) and every 7-Eleven Store is giving out 1000 free slurpees in celebration of its 79th anniversary.  This is the 7th year that Winnipeg is claiming the title “Slurpee Capital of the World.”  Second in ranking is Calgary and third is Detroit.  Two hundred slurpees are sold every day in each 7-Eleven Store here.  Way to go Winnipeg!

 

How we beat the summer heat. 

– Get more slurpees.  (Only the small ones were free.)

– Turn on the aircon and stay indoors.

 

 – Get the garden hose and wash something. 

 

– I water my pretty celosias. 

View my summer album here.

Entry filed under: Winnipeg. Tags: .

Family Game Night Being comfortable in your own skin

19 Comments Add your own

  • 1. jane  |  July 11, 2006 at 9:08 pm

    i love summer kahit dito lang sa Pinas…gusto ko ng beach eh🙂

    Reply
  • 2. sesame  |  July 11, 2006 at 10:41 pm

    The flowers are so pretty…Actually I like spring in the west best. Nice weather, fresh air and beautiful flowers!

    Reply
  • 3. ann  |  July 12, 2006 at 1:15 am

    Nice pics. Indoor ba yung pool? Haba pala ng araw sa inyo.

    Reply
  • 4. Toe  |  July 12, 2006 at 6:33 am

    OMG! Winnipeg is soooo beautiful! Is that your neighborhood? It’s picture-perfect.

    Reply
  • 5. Eric  |  July 12, 2006 at 7:50 pm

    I love summer! My favorite time of the year.

    Looking at your nice pictures, I bet the foliage in Winnepeg in autumn is just as stunning. We used to drive to Upstate NY just to enjoy the colors of fall.

    But Canada does get the bum rap. The weathermen would always blame the cold front as coming from Canada and we of course, would brave the chilly NY streets bearing grudges on Canada🙂

    Peace.

    Reply
  • 6. niceheart  |  July 12, 2006 at 9:04 pm

    There are also beaches here, Jane. But they are not that appealing anymore because you don’t know how clean they are. Sometimes they are even closed down because of E.Coli warning.

    Yes, Ann, that’s an out- of- town indoor pool. We get longer days in the summer. Sometimes I want to sleep in especially now that I’m on vacation. But when the sun is already shining at 6 or 7, it’s hard to go back to sleep.

    Reply
  • 7. niceheart  |  July 12, 2006 at 9:04 pm

    Sesame and Toe, you’ll see different kinds of flowers here in the summer. I took pictures only of public places but you should see the flowers in the yards of people here. I couldn’t take pictures of private homes because I have to ask permission and it’s such a hassle. There are people here who would spend hundreds of dollars for flowers to make their yards beautiful. Flowers can survive only 4-5 months of warm weather here so people sometimes go overboard this time of the year. As for me, I just planted a few flowers in front and the side of our house.

    Reply
  • 8. niceheart  |  July 12, 2006 at 9:13 pm

    Yeah, we get blamed for any cold weather just because we’re at the North.🙂

    It’s beautiful here in the Autumn, too, Eric. I’ve also posted pictures in my post The Colours of Fall, or you could go through my October 2005 archives.  I have quite a few posts with Fall pictures.  

    Reply
  • 9. Phil  |  July 12, 2006 at 10:46 pm

    I spent my high school years in Michigan and a couple more before that in Maine. No thanks! The cold and I are NOT good buddies, especially now that I have this nagging arthritis. The Philippines is perfect for these old bones.

    The long days ARE really neat though, aren’t they? I’ve spent some time close to the polar side of the arctic and antarctic circles and I’ve seen it where the sun NEVER sets! It just spins around you in a 24 hour daylight sky. It looks the same at 2am as it does at 2pm, only the sun is on the other side of you. Its a weird feeling.

    On the other hand, in the winter months where you are, the sun comes up and then, in just a few hours, it disappears again. The old saying “There just aren’t enough hours in the day” comes to mind!

    Reply
  • 10. domestic rat  |  July 12, 2006 at 10:56 pm

    You need a bikini and head out to the beach for some good suntanning!!!

    Reply
  • 11. melai  |  July 12, 2006 at 10:59 pm

    parang spring ha bloom na bloom ang mga plants and trees … sa pinas yan mangunguluntoy sa init ng araw ..ei niceheart got some questions for you ..antayin mo na lang sa inbox nyo po🙂 …thanks🙂

    Reply
  • 12. niceheart  |  July 12, 2006 at 11:54 pm

    The long days are alright in the summer, Phil. I wouldn’t want a 24-hour daylight when the kids are in school. How would I ever get them to go to bed? A 24-hour daylight must be really weird. I am reminded of the Robin Williams movie Insomnia.

    Actually, DR, I don’t own a bikini. I’m very shy🙂 or I guess just very conscious of my body. That’s why I can’t go swimming in the pools because we are required to wear bathing suits. I’ll just soak myself in the privacy of my tub.🙂

    Hi Melai, kapag matindi na rin ang init ng araw dito, natutuyot din ang mga halaman. Kaya nga alaga ko ng dilig araw araw.🙂

    Reply
  • 13. Eric  |  July 13, 2006 at 11:37 pm

    I just went over your colorful photos. They are incredible! Yes, I love the colors of autumn, but would eventually feel melancholy because I knew winter would be in the offing.

    BTW, I’ve always wanted to vacation in Nova Scotia. I heard it’s beautiful. I hope to do so one of the days.

    Reply
  • 14. bw  |  July 14, 2006 at 10:24 pm

    Great pictures sis. It sure looks like a great summer out there in Winnipeg eh? It rained for 2 days here this week whcih was great because my grass was turning brown. I wish the sun sets everyday at 9pm all year round! I would ove to experience the 24 hr daylight in the Scandinavian countries. I wonder how it would be like playing golf at 2am.

    Reply
  • 15. niceheart  |  July 14, 2006 at 10:55 pm

    Autumn is my least favourite season, Eric. It’s too cold for a light jacket and too warm for a thick jacket. Besides that’s when the kids usually get sick. But yes, the colours are wonderful.

    Hi BW. We’re in the middle of a heat wave here in Winnipeg. Highs of 30, 31, and 32 until next week. We don’t usually turn the aircon on to save electricity (we use electric fans) but it’s been running all day since last week. I don’t know how I will survive in 24-hour daylight. I wouldn’t be able to sleep. And I need my sleep.🙂

    Reply
  • 16. Hsin  |  July 16, 2006 at 9:39 am

    Summer looks beautiful there – all the lovely flowers. How long does summer last though, before the cold weather returns? Do you dread the return of the cold?

    Reply
  • 17. niceheart  |  July 16, 2006 at 1:44 pm

    There’s this one house that we pass as we drive to church every weekend. It’s got a beautiful garden at the front full of all these lovely flowers in different colours. I’m always tempted to take a picture.

    Summer here lasts until about mid-September. Then it starts to get cold. Leaves fall around October. And yes, I do dread the return of the cold weather.

    Reply
  • 18. Jayred  |  July 17, 2006 at 1:44 am

    Plus 40C in summer??? Wow, that’s hot. I can’t stand the heat. This being so, I don’t like summer so much.

    I didn’t know that Winnipeg is the “Slurpee Capital of the World.” 🙂 Thanks for that info, Irene.

    Nice photo album. I like the trees.

    Reply
  • 19. niceheart  |  July 17, 2006 at 2:56 pm

    We just experienced 35C yesterday, Jayred. It was SOOO HOT! My sweat was dripping when we were in the car. I didn’t wear short sleeves so I won’t get sunburned, but I was itching this morning on the part of my arm that was exposed. I still got burned a little.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tweet!


