Family Game Night

July 7, 2006 at 10:59 pm 19 comments

I have suggested family game nights before but the kids weren’t usually interested.  They always each had their own thing going on.   Reggie would be surfing the internet or listening to his jazz music.  Ryan would be watching basketball.  Ryland would be playing his Pokemon Gameboy Advance Game.  Their dad isn’t really interested and I would end up also doing my own thing, like surfing the net if the computer is free or watching my movies. 

School’s been out for a week now and they have been doing the things I’ve mentioned during the day.  I guess Ryan was getting bored and asked the other day, “Are we having a Game Night?”   

My eyes lit up and I enthusiastically answered, “Sure.  When do you want to do it?” 

“Hmmn, what about on Friday?” 

“Friday it is!” 

We agreed on Scrabble and we set it up on the living room table.  Reggie didn’t want to play.  He was up in their room playing his flute along with his jazz music.  And dad wasn’t home.  He works at night.  Ryan wasn’t too happy at first.  But I said, “The three of us is still a family.” 

So we gathered around the table.  It was my turn first, then Ryland who was on my left and then Ryan who was on the other side of the table.   

Scrabble is one of my favourite board games.  One of my fond memories as a little girl is playing scrabble with my father, mother and sister in our house in Noveleta, Cavite.  We would sprawl on the floor around the board with a thick dictionary beside us to check if there was such a word as jig or quay.  I think I’ve memorized all the words under Q because I wanted to make sure that I got rid of that letter and also the letter Z before the end of the game lest 10 points,  or 20 points if I had both, got subtracted from my score.  But then again, I wanted these letters to land on either the double or triple letter scores.

“Is ‘roan’ a word, Mommy?”  Ryan asked. 

“Hmmn.  Let’s check.” 

So we searched on dictionary.com and whadda you know.  It is. 

“Roan – Having a chestnut, bay, or sorrel coat thickly sprinkled with white or gray: a roan horse.” 

We’ve learned a new word. 

Later on, “Is ‘tor’ a word?” 

“You know the drill.” 

“Tor – A high rock or pile of rocks on the top of a hill.”   

We learned another one. 

It was fun.  I guided them on how to use the double and triple letter and word scores.  I had to help Ryland a lot.  He’s only eight.  At one point Ryan wasn’t too happy when he had the lowest score.   

“Ryan, this is not about winning or losing.  It’s about having fun.” 

That boy is very competitive.  He always wants to be the first.  He always wants to win.  I’ve explained to him many times, “Sometimes you win and sometimes you lose.”  

He was happy when the game ended.  He finished second.  And guess who won.  Moi. (That’s French for me.)

Entry filed under: Life is a game, Memory Lane. Tags: .

Superman brings me back in time You know it’s summer in Winnipeg …

19 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Joy  |  July 8, 2006 at 9:44 am

    Oh, how fun!
    I’m sure you’ll have more game nights ahead of you now that at least two of your kids have experienced it.

    Reply
  • 2. PhilippinePhil  |  July 9, 2006 at 1:04 am

    When you played in Cavite did you go multi-language? That would open up the board for sure.

    Its nice you are using it to learn more English words, but once you get good at, remember, you can only use the dictionary to challenge a word. There I go again, being a wet blanket… can’t help myself. Sorry!

    Reply
  • 3. Toe  |  July 9, 2006 at 3:06 am

    Oh, I loved scrabble too! But I’m always pikon… especially if I get only the 1 point letters or if I couldn’t use my Q or Z. And it’s so infuriating when my opponent uses his/her 10 point letters in the triple word score. @#$%^& Haha… like Ryan, I could also learn a thing or two from you about winning and losing too. 🙂

    Reply
  • 4. Abaniko  |  July 9, 2006 at 5:13 am

    Hi Niceheart. It’s good to hear that your kids like playing scrabble. While your intention is to get bonded as a family, you and your kids may want to take on scrabble seriously and learn 2- and 3-letter words. Better yet, buy an official scrabble dictionary. Incidentally, scrabble is also one of my favorite games. Enjoy playing!

    Reply
  • 5. jane  |  July 9, 2006 at 11:29 am

    I miss playing scrabble with my family😦

    Reply
  • 6. Noemi  |  July 9, 2006 at 12:05 pm

    I LOVE SCRABBLE! I got addicted to it while I was pregnant with my eldest daughter. I would beg, bribe my husband and siblings to play with me.

    Reply
  • 7. niceheart  |  July 9, 2006 at 7:54 pm

    I’m also hoping that this won’t be the only game night that we’ll have, Joy. But I don’t know. The other night, Ryan was playing with the computer version of the Scrabble. I told him that I think it’s more fun playing the real one.🙂

    Phil, we only played in the English language. And I think we’ll also stick to that language this time. I found a site on the internet that lists 2-letter words that you can use in scrabble. But some of the words are foreign words. We decided that we’ll just stick to English.

    I forgot about that rule. But we don’t really follow the rules strictly.🙂 I like using the dictionary to learn more new words. And you know what? I had to search what wet blanket means. Killjoy or party pooper. Thanks for that one.

    Pikon ka rin pala, Toe. Ryan is also like that. Especially when he was younger. He’s changing as he matures but sometimes he still gets cranky.

    Noemi, perhaps, you, Toe, and I could get together sometime and play a round or two of scrabble.🙂

    Reply
  • 8. ann  |  July 10, 2006 at 12:20 am

    Good that you still find time to play with your kids at night. Ako kasi minsan pagod na pagdating ng gabi.

    Reply
  • 9. domestic rat  |  July 10, 2006 at 3:31 am

    There was a time when I was sooo crazy over the game that I made my good friend cum room-mate and my then-boyfriend play with me the whole night til the next morn! Even took my craze further with a travel set so I can play when we were on the move….😉

    Reply
  • 10. Eric  |  July 10, 2006 at 9:59 pm

    Playing computer scrabble is not fun at all. Playing with a group of people is the main deal.

    When I was a kid, for amusement, I would fervently defend the made-up words I’ve created (to avoid getting penalized for leftover letters), resulting to all of us laughing like crazy because they claimed I was quite convincing — even coming up with sample sentences with my coined words. Too bad there always was a dictionary handy.

    Scrabble is great!

    Reply
  • 11. niceheart  |  July 10, 2006 at 10:36 pm

    Ann, that’s coz the kids are on school vacation now. Two months kaming magre-relax.🙂

    DR, it’s good that you had someone who would play with you. It’s only now that the kids are older that I have someone to play with.🙂

    I can’t understand kids nowadays, Eric. They’d rather do the computer and video games. And yeah, I can imagine you to be a quite convincing kid.🙂

    Reply
  • 12. melai  |  July 11, 2006 at 12:16 am

    gusto ko rin ng scrabble ..kaya lang bobo ako sa ingles kaya lagi akong talo🙂

    Reply
  • 13. Toe  |  July 11, 2006 at 3:37 am

    Niceheart and Noemi, I’d love to play scrabble with you guys! Kelan kaya mangyayari yon? When it does happen, I promise not to get pikon. 🙂

    Reply
  • 14. Jayred  |  July 11, 2006 at 4:37 am

    I love, love, love Scrabble. It was either me or my sis who would win. I miss this game so much…. I think if I play Scrabble here in Switzerland, my husband or my friends would request that we form German words and not English ones! At matatalo ako. LOL.

    I wish you more Family Game Nights, Niceheart! Do you also love playing Monopoly (or Millionaire’s Game), Taboo, Pictionary (or the Philippine version, Visionary), Game of the Generals, Cluedo, or Mastermind? Hay, how I miss my board game days. Thanks for this blog post. It made me happy.

    Reply
  • 15. niceheart  |  July 11, 2006 at 6:30 pm

    Hi Abaniko and Jane. Your comments were caught in my SPAM mail.

    I’ll see if I can get my kids to take on scrabble seriously. Now, it’s my oldest son who’s always on the computer playing the PC version.

    You too, Jane? Tara, let’s play.

    Kelan nga kaya mangyayari iyon, ano, Toe?

    Reply
  • 16. niceheart  |  July 11, 2006 at 6:36 pm

    I doubt that, Melai. But we could also play in Tagalog, diba?

    It’s glad to know, Jayred, that my post made you happy. From the games that you’ve mentioned, it’s only Monopoly that I play. And I think the last time I’ve played Mastermind was with my sister eons ago before we both had families. The games I now play (occasionally) aside from Monopoly are my kids’ boardgames: Operation, Perfection, Guess Who, Battleship, Mancala (sort of like the sungka). I still haven’t learned chess, but they do play that too.

    Reply
  • 17. Hsin  |  July 16, 2006 at 9:34 am

    Scrabble’s a great game! It’s fun and it gives the brain a good stretch. We did play it a little at some point, but then got lazy and soon just settled with surfing the computer when free. Should try to re-institute as the past-time of choice on a free evening.

    Reply
  • 18. niceheart  |  July 16, 2006 at 1:41 pm

    The computer’s really a great distraction. Ryan and I did play another game this Friday. Only the two of us and he won. He learned a lot in the computer version of the scrabble.🙂

    Reply
  • 19. kurokuroatbp » Onion Skin and Spineless  |  March 28, 2007 at 6:33 am

    […] example on my irrationally sensitive feelings. I’ve mentioned this before in the entries of Niceheart and Gina on Scrabble: don’t ever ever play Scrabble with me because I could be dangerously […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tweet!


