Superman brings me back in time

July 3, 2006 at 6:42 pm 23 comments

“Oh look guys, it’s Superman!”  I was so giddy.  My kids must be wondering why I was acting like a child when I first saw the Superman action figures at Superstore about two weeks ago.  

I grew up with the Superman movies and Superman has become a part of my childhood. 

I was in High School when the first movie came out.  I can’t remember exactly my movie experience but I remember explaining to my cousin Meann, who was four years younger than me, how Superman turned back time to save Lois from the San Francisco earthquake.  She couldn’t grasp it yet at that time.  She was still in grade school. 

Everytime I hear Can You Read My Mind, I visualize that scene when the handsome Superman flies with Lois and the looks he exchanged with her with those adorable blue eyes.  “Can you read my mind?  Do you know what it is you do to me?  Wondering why you are all the wonderful things you are.”  It gives me shivers every time. 

My kids have no choice but to watch the TV series Smallville with me every Tuesday nights at dinnertime.  Not only do I love Tom Welling with his blue eyes like Christopher Reeve, but the show just always brings me back to my Superman experience and that of my first love back in high school. 

We had a Superman marathon at home these past two weeks.  Superman I and II were on YTV and boy was I transported back in time. 

“Why do you like Superman so much mommy?”  My middle guy asked me. 

“Well, you guys have Spiderman and we had Superman back then,” I explained to him.  “It was a hit when I was in High School.  My classmate even thought that the movie series would continue up to number 10.  I actually had a crush on him.” 

“Was he a nerd?”  He was referring to that classmate. 

Now, my children know me too much it’s scary sometimes.  How would he have guessed? 

“Yeah, but he was smart.”    

“What’s his name?” 

“I’m not gonna tell you.  You’ll tease me.” 

“What did he look like?” 

“Well, he had a wide forehead.  And he was very smart.” 

I learned that my sister has a DVD collection of the 4 Superman movies and so we borrowed Superman 3 and 4 and the kids watched them with me. 

I didn’t realize that Annette O’Toole played Lana Lang.  I told the kids that she’s the one who plays Clark’s mother, Martha Kent, in Smallville now.  I also pointed out to them that Jon Cryer, who played Lex’s nephew, is the dad in another TV show we watch, “Two and Half Men.”  We had a laugh about his hairstyle back then. 

I explained to my kids Canada’s connection to the Superman movies.  The original comic story was written by a Canadian.  “I knew that Mommy,” boasted my middle guy.  “We learned it in school.  He was a teenager when he wrote it.”  I also told them that Margot Kidder, who played Lois Lane in the original Superman movies, is Canadian.  And that the town of Smallville was shot in Alberta.  And that most of the special effects in the current movie, Superman Returns, was done by a Winnipeg-based company, Frantic Films. 

But none of these seemed to persuade my two oldest boys to see Superman Returns.  Only my eight-year old boy wanted to watch it.  So we went to see it today. 

Superman Returns doesn’t disappoint.  My middle guy commented that the special effects in the Christopher Reeve starrer movies look like those of a video game.  The special effects in Superman Returns have improved a lot.  So did the hair style.  Although Lex is still bald, he has quite a collection of wigs this time.  And the eyeglasses have become smaller.  Remember the huge frames in the 80s? 

I also like the plot.  After scientists discovered remains of Krypton, Superman disappeared.  He comes back after five years.  But the world didn’t stop when he left.  People moved on.  Lois had finally won a Pulitzer Prize for an article she wrote titled, “Why the world doesn’t need Superman.”  (Was she just bitter that Superman didn’t say goodbye to her that’s why she wrote that article?) She’s also engaged now (not married) and has a son who’s four years old.  Four years old.  Superman was gone for five years.  Who could be the father of this boy?  And as usual, Lex Luthor is out of prison again and is obsessed with destroying Superman.  But will he? 

Lois was agitated by the return of Superman.  It stirred back old feelings in her.  Oh! I can so relate.  I was also confused when I was “reunited” with an old love.  I thought that I still had feelings for him.  But of course not.  I had moved on.  But is Lois still in love with Superman?  And does the world really still need a superhero?  Go and watch Superman Returns to find out

Just a side note: Brandon Routh is so handsome and really closely resembles Christoper Reeve.  And I think the producers made the right choice of casting an unknown to play Superman as they did before.  It’s easier to believe that this person has super powers and can fly than if they had casted a famous actor.  Kate Bosworth is beautiful and fits the part of Lois Lane.  And Kevin Spacey did a fine performance as the villainous Lex Luthor.

Entry filed under: Books, movies, music, TV. Tags: .

Dear Ryan Family Game Night

23 Comments Add your own

  • 1. jane  |  July 3, 2006 at 8:53 pm

    isang tulog na lang, superman na kami ni hubby he he!

    Reply
  • 2. ann  |  July 4, 2006 at 12:01 am

    Kami rito matagal pa, wala namang movie houses dito, wait na lang ng pirated..hehehe.

    Reply
  • 3. PhilippinePhil  |  July 4, 2006 at 7:46 am

    …defender of truth, Justice, and the American (or sometimes, Canadian) way!

    I love em all…Spidey, Fantastic Four, The Caped Crusader, The Hulk…….

    Reply
  • 4. niceheart  |  July 4, 2006 at 10:51 pm

    Enjoy the movie, Jane.

    What, Ann, no movie houses there? I think in a way it’s good. Going to the theatres can be expensive.

    So you’re a superheroes fan, Phil. I’ve only really enjoyed Superman and Spiderman.

    Reply
  • 5. earthember  |  July 4, 2006 at 11:46 pm

    I enjoyed Superman when I was a kid, and not anymore when I grew up. But my hubby is pretty keen to watch “Superman Returns”.

    Reply
  • 6. bw  |  July 5, 2006 at 12:01 am

    I kinda liked Christopher Reeve. I think he sort of took the Superman character really well that we have trouble idnetifying Superman with other actors.

    Reply
  • 7. Toe  |  July 5, 2006 at 8:11 am

    Wow! You know a lot about Superman Niceheart. I learned so much about Superman from your post. We don’t have a movie house here. But there’s a channel on our cable tv that always pirated dvd movies. It’s so funny… they even show the sony blue screen, the eject, change language, play, etc.. And they’re so up to date… they broadcast really new movies… almost the same time as when they show them in the Philippines. So I’ll be watching out for Superman in our pirated movie channel. 🙂

    Reply
  • 8. domestic rat  |  July 5, 2006 at 8:47 am

    Superman isn’t quite the same without Christopher Reeves. He was the man himself, know what I mean?

    Reply
  • 9. vina  |  July 5, 2006 at 10:03 am

    oooh, that’s so nice Ms. Niceheart, being able to connect generations with Superman old and new.

    Reply
  • 10. niceheart  |  July 5, 2006 at 11:24 pm

    I think you’ll enjoy it too, Ange.

    I hear you, BW and DR. I’ve always associated Christopher Reeve with Superman. They’ve never done another Superman movie til now and yeah, you doubt if any other actor can really fill his “big” shoes.🙂 But I think we ought to give other actors a chance.

    Reply
  • 11. niceheart  |  July 5, 2006 at 11:27 pm

    Toe, I’ve done my homework before watching Superman Returns. I made sure I watched the 4 Superman movies. I think that’s the nerd in me. Kita mo nga ang tanong ng anak ko kung nerd daw yung HS crush ko.🙂

    Thanks, Vina. I tend to do that. I always tell stories to my kids about my childhood and compare my experiences with theirs.🙂

    Reply
  • 12. Hsin  |  July 6, 2006 at 8:56 am

    You’re a real fan, aren’t you? Like EE, I liked the movies when I was young, but can’t imagine liking it now. I think I’ve moved on in terms of superheroes – I like the new breed. The X-Men types.

    Reply
  • 13. Major Tom  |  July 6, 2006 at 11:49 am

    Like you, me and my cousin back then was so crazy bout Superman, the old one by the way. I brought the kids to see the new version and my how they’ve enjoyed it. They started to “fly” the minute they got outside the cinema, acting as if they were Superman themselves.

    The new Superman is all too exhilirating—fast and furious. Kaya lang, how I wish they could match that flying scene where Can You Read My Mind was playing…There’s no love song this time.

    Reply
  • 14. niceheart  |  July 6, 2006 at 11:10 pm

    I guess I am a fan Hsin. I forgot to mention that there was also this other TV show called, Lois and Clark, The New Adventures of Superman, which I also watched every week. I think it only went up to three seasons. It starred Dean Cain and Teri Hatcher.

    Major Tom, I noticed that it’s the younger kids who enjoy Superman Returns, as opposed to the older kids.  At the cinema, I’ve only seen families with smaller kids.  And yeah, I was also looking forward to that Can You Read My Mind flying scene. But they changed the arrangement of the music. I guess they want to make this movie different – distinct – from the ones where Christopher Reeve starred in.

    Reply
  • 15. Eric  |  July 7, 2006 at 6:12 am

    Wow! I learned so much behind-the-scene trivia.

    Saw Kate Bosworth at David Letterman and she was stunning with her platinum blonde hair, but the trailer showed her with another color hair in the movie. Is this Brandon Routh’s first major movie role? I hope he doesn’t get locked-in as a Superman actor much like what happened to Christopher Reeve. Saw him at Letterman’s and Kevin Spacey as well (great actor and I love the way he speaks much like a well-trained stage actor).

    I’m really embarrassed to admit this, Irene, but my very first experience with Superman was the black & white TV series with George Reeves — “Look up in the sky! It’s a bird! It’s a plane! It’s Superman!”

    I will definitely see this new movie maybe this weekend!

    Reply
  • 16. myepinoy  |  July 7, 2006 at 7:33 am

    Speaking of the song “Can You Read my Mind”; this was also the favorite of my ex-gf long time ago. She was in love with this music and with me for twelve months. Unfortunately, after one year we broke up.

    I guess the lyrics sinked in and she started asking me the same questions: Can you read my mind? Do you know what it is you do to me? Don’t know who you are. Just a friend from another star.

    I could not answers these questions simply because I am not Superman. The romance ended.

    Reply
  • 17. myepinoy  |  July 7, 2006 at 7:36 am

    Correction: I could not answer these questions.. instead of I could not anwsers.

    Sorry for the typo error.

    Reply
  • 18. bingskee  |  July 7, 2006 at 8:15 am

    i so love that song Can You Read My Mind?. but am more a spider man fan.🙂

    Reply
  • 19. Serendipity  |  July 7, 2006 at 5:18 pm

    Waaaaah. I still have not seen this movie. My husband wanted to see it in 3D, and it’s all sold out all the time! Plus, even if I manage to get a ticket, he wouldn’t want to be crowded in! So arte!

    Reply
  • 20. niceheart  |  July 7, 2006 at 7:58 pm

    Eric, Kate was a brunette in Superman Returns, just like Margot Kidder was as Lois Lane. I think this is Brandon’s first major film. But I’ve heard that he has starred in some TV shows.

    I’ve heard about George Reeves being the first Superman. And I think they’re making a movie about him, to be played by Ben Affleck.

    Reply
  • 21. niceheart  |  July 7, 2006 at 8:01 pm

    That made me laugh, myepinoy. When I was younger I also wished that my man could read my mind. But of course, I have learned that I have to tell him how I feel and what I want.🙂

    So you also like that song, Bing? I guess any young girl in love can relate to it.🙂

    Reply
  • 22. niceheart  |  July 7, 2006 at 8:04 pm

    I also wanted to watch it in 3D, Serendipity. I might go see it again and probably my older kids will too once it’s shown in our IMAX threatre here.

    Reply
  • 23. My Movie Room » Superman brings me back in time  |  August 7, 2006 at 10:03 pm

    […] Read the rest of this entry here. […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tweet!


