Getting dizzy at The Ex

June 25, 2006 at 11:01 pm 17 comments

The Red River Exhibition comes to Winnipeg every year around the third week of June, just in time for the start of summer.  According to the fair’s website:  “The EX is the largest annual attraction in Manitoba attracting on average 200,000 visitors to the 10 day annual event.” 

When I was just new here in Winnipeg, I would bring the kids (I only had two then) to The Ex, but I stopped going when it was moved to the Perimeter.  It was just too far from our place. 

Last year, the kids acquired free passes through the Read and Win Program and so we went.  This year Ryan got a free pass but didn’t want to go so he gave it to Ryland.  Ryland was the only one who wanted to go, so his dad and I brought him there.  The free pass entitled him to a free admission and 3 free rides.   

We went to the same rides we did last year.  Only this time, we went to the Tilt-A-Whirl first, which wasn’t a good idea.  I got so dizzy and nauseous.  Good thing I didn’t throw up like the young man who didn’t make it to the trash can and threw up right there in the middle of where people were walking.  Ryland also got dizzy this time.  I thought he was going to cry.  I kept asking him if he was okay.  The ride last year only took probably a couple of minutes and he didn’t get dizzy then.  This one today took I think close to five minutes and it just gave us pounding headaches.  Note to self:  Don’t go to the Tilt-A-Whirl ride if you go The Ex next time.  It looks like a mild ride but it isn't.

We also went to the Glass House and the Cuckoo Haus, where we went through a series of moving floors and stairs and it just made me dizzier. 

Ryland tried the darts and won three plush toys.  He also fished three ducks and won three more plush toys.  We bought mini-donuts and cotton candy for him and his brothers.  Good thing we brought our own bottled water.  The prices of food were just over-priced. 

We brought Ryland to the fair because of the free pass.  Monetary value is equal to about $21.00.  Did we really save $21.00?  Then how come I spent almost three times that amount today?  Hmmn. I feel that headache coming again. 

Ryland had fun, although he didn’t feel too good about the Tilt-A-Whirl ride.  I had to lie down when we got home.  I’m still dizzy as I type this.  So til next time.

Entry filed under: Winnipeg. Tags: .

Cool treats and a cool birthday party Dear Ryan

17 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Eric  |  June 26, 2006 at 7:39 pm

    Ay naku, ever since getting on that runaway train (a single car version of a roller coaster) at Great Adventure in New Jersey many years ago, I’d given up on getting on any amusement park rides (including Coney Island’s innocuous giant ferris wheel). I really felt a heart attack was coming.

    And to think that I got on it only to do my brother a favor by keeping him company. His face was as white as a ghost when he got off it … obviously from the same sheer terror that I had experienced.

    I’ll still go to an amusement park only if I absolutely have to, as well as for its caramelized popcorn, cotton candy and fireworks, but no more rides for me.

    Reply
  • 2. vina  |  June 27, 2006 at 6:42 am

    Ms. Niceheart, thank you so much for the birthday greeting. I appreciate it very much.

    Reply
  • 3. Jayred  |  June 27, 2006 at 1:31 pm

    Hope you’ll recover from dizziness soon, Irene. I don’t think the Tilt-A-Whirl ride is for me as well.

    Reply
  • 4. jane  |  June 27, 2006 at 2:00 pm

    I love rides! Regards Ate Irene.

    Reply
  • 5. ann  |  June 27, 2006 at 11:35 pm

    Thanks for the tip. I will not try that Tilt-A-Whirl ride though wala yatang ganyan dito.

    Reply
  • 6. Toe  |  June 28, 2006 at 6:32 am

    I’m a real wimp when it comes to rides. I can’t even look! I admire you for going to that Tilt-A-Whirl! Ryland is so cute!

    Reply
  • 7. Hsin  |  June 28, 2006 at 10:12 am

    I’ll try posting this again….

    That’s the point of free tickets, isn’t it? You get free entrance and then end up spending much more than you ever intended.

    Sounds like Ryland had a good day out. I’d stay away from anything that suggests whirling if I were you. I can’t even take the Mad Hatter’s Tea Party at Disneyland (the whirling teacups)

    Reply
  • 8. Hsin  |  June 28, 2006 at 7:47 pm

    Funny, this is the third time I’m trying to comment.

    Was going to say that that’s how it is with free tickets. You get free entrance and you end up spending way more, just because you figure you got in free anyway….

    Reply
  • 9. niceheart  |  June 28, 2006 at 8:38 pm

    You’re welcome, Vina.

    Eric, I’ve never really been a fan of amusement rides. I had a bad experience with the ferris wheel when I was a kid. I think I threw up. And anyway, mahihiluhin talaga ako.

    Thank you, Jayred. I’m feeling better now. Pare-pareho pala tayo nina Toe, takot sa rides. I tried it kasi last year and I was fine. This time kasi it went faster than it did last time.

    Although I know there are some people who enjoy these rides, like Jane.

    Toe, I’ve been bugging Ryland lately. He’s lost his two front teeth and I can’t get over his toothless, erm I mean, teethless smiles.

    Reply
  • 10. niceheart  |  June 28, 2006 at 8:42 pm

    Hsin, now that you’ve mentioned it, I’ve also been having trouble commenting on other wordpress blogs. What I do now is I log in first before visiting blogs.

    And I think that’s the trick, or should I say the lure of these free tickets. They get us to go to these events and we spend more than we expect.  I’ve also noticed that with our local grocery store.  They usually have these coupons for a free item worth around $20.00 but you only get it free if you spend let’s say $200.00 worth of groceries.  Great marketing strategy.

    Reply
  • 11. mmy-lei  |  June 28, 2006 at 11:18 pm

    Pity i couldnt see the pics of Tilt-A-Whirl! Flicks is blocked here.

    I enjoy rides so much (esp. extreme one) but none of my family nor friends would like to join me. sometimes i go alone or being partner to anyone who was alone too.

    Reply
  • 12. niceheart  |  June 29, 2006 at 11:08 pm

    I can’t understand why Ann’s and Hsin’s comments were caught in the SPAM box. It’s good that I was able to recover them. That’s probably also what’s been happening to my lost comments in the other wordpress blogs that I visit. I sometimes have to submit my comments more than once.

    Well, anyway, Ann, I gather that you’re not into extreme rides as well, unlike mmy-lei.🙂

    Reply
  • 13. earthember  |  June 30, 2006 at 12:08 am

    So that’s how the fair plans to make money, not from the entrance fees, but from the various booths. That’s pretty smart marketing.

    Reply
  • 14. niceheart  |  July 2, 2006 at 4:21 pm

    I think this is also what’s happening in the movie theatres, Ange. Less and less patrons are going so they’re hiking up the prices on the popcorn, drinks, etc to compensate. We as the viewers then suffer with the over-priced products.

    Reply
  • 15. Serendipity  |  July 4, 2006 at 1:54 am

    I can never ride anything that revolves, rotates or similar. I would be so useless afterwards.

    Reply
  • 16. niceheart  |  July 4, 2006 at 10:47 pm

    I’ve never really liked rides, Serendipidy. I just went to keep my son company. But I know better now.🙂

    Reply
  • 17. Father’s Day at The Ex « Journey to Honeyville  |  June 19, 2007 at 12:22 am

    […] you had read my post last year, Getting dizzy at the Ex, you’ll remember my note to self: Don’t ride the Tilt-a-whirl, because it made Ryland […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tweet!


