The Office

June 10, 2006 at 10:56 pm 11 comments

My first week back at the office went well.  The training room was set up in a classroom setting and I and nine other employees were all giddy in learning all these new things.  But after one week, we were all sent back to our cubicles in our Department.  The other work-at-home person, who’s also a Filipino mom, and I were assigned to two empty cubicles where we will be staying for the rest of the training period. 

I have been doing the same job for the last ten years but I have been away from the office for five years and it took a while to remember how they do things there.  It felt like being a new recruit.  I have been with the company longer than the people I am working now and it felt weird when they had to tell me that this is the way we do this and this is the way we do that.  I wondered if they thought I was stupid or something. 

Well, anyway, I made a list of the things I like being at the office. 

1.       The connection to the network is a lot faster.  I and the other work-at-home staff are set up with a dial-up connection at home and there are times when the system becomes slow and it’s common that we get disconnected more than once a day.

2.       I can talk to my supervisor and his assistant in person, face to face, instead of just on the phone or by email.  I can easily pop up in their cubicles if I have a question.  I hope I’m not annoying them.

3.       I get a bit of exercise everyday – walking, running (after the bus) and climbing up and down the stairs (instead of using the escalator).

4.       It was Staff Appreciation week.  How lucky was I!  On Tuesday, we were treated to a TCBY frozen yoghurt (yum); on Wednesday, Kernels Popcorn; and on Thursday, M&M cookies.  If I were home, I don’t think they would have sent the yoghurt by courier.

5.       I’m actually experiencing hunger pangs.  But it’s all good.  Because at home, I am munching all the time while working.  And I wonder why I gained weight after I worked at home.  No exercise and all that munching.

6.       Friday is Jeans Day.  Five years ago, we only had casual Fridays every other week and no jeans.  The only time we could wear jeans was on United Way Denim Day and we had to pay a dollar to wear our denims.

7.       Exchanging “Good Morning,” “Have a nice day,” and “Good Night, See you tomorrow” with bus drivers and co-workers.

8.       I’m done working at 4:00 p.m. or 5:00 p.m.(overtime).  At home I work until 7:00 p.m. (Too many distractions: chores, TV, internet, kids) 

The list of the things I don’t like is a bit longer.   

Just to give you a backdrop, before I worked at home, our Department was in a different building.  But since then, our population has grown and they had to move to another one.  This will explain some of the things in my dislikes list.  

1.       I have to get up at 5:30 a.m.  When I work at home, I usually get up at 7:00 a.m. except for a few times a week when my oldest son had to be at school early and then I get up at 6:00 a.m.

2.       I sometimes still get confused what floor I have to get to.

3.       When I get off the elevator, I think twice whether to go left or right.

4.       There are too many doors and we need our security cards to open them.

5.       I have to be careful not to open a door too quickly because there could be somebody at the other side, lest we scare each other. It already happened once when I opened the door of the women’s washroom and I scared the hell out of this other lady.

6.       The spaces are too cramped, even the washrooms.  The booths are too close for comfort.

7.       I had to relearn how to use the printer and the copier.  People must think I’m dumb.

8.       The tab, the R and other keys in the keyboard I am using are stiff and I have to hit them really hard.

9.       At the end of the day, I stare at the mailing slots for five minutes before I can figure out where to put my stuff that needs to get out.

10.   Some of my friends won’t join me for lunch.  They eat in their cubicles.  They’re no fun.  I like them better when we get together for birthdays, parties, showers and other special occasions. 

I can’t wait to work back at home.  One more week!  I have more fun working here while watching my talk shows and laughing out loud at Ellen.

Entry filed under: Detour, Working at home. Tags: .

He’s confirmed How I’m doing as a mother

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. sesame  |  June 11, 2006 at 6:14 am

    I cannot work at home very well. I have no discipline. I tend to waste time doing a lot of other things instead of serious work. So this is a problem for me. Although I need to be at a work place, but a lot of preparation is done at home. I find that I can get very little done!

    Reply
  • 2. bingskee  |  June 11, 2006 at 8:44 pm

    Doing the work at home or at the office have their own pros and cons but I would prefer working at the office. This maybe because I had been working at the office ever since. Aside from distractions, I tend to procrastinate. What I dont like in your list is #10. It’s always fun to eat lunch with a friend. Parang walang lasa pag mag – isa ka kumain.

    Reply
  • 3. myepinoy  |  June 12, 2006 at 5:34 am

    Well, at least this is one of the many “rediscovering the real office world” things and you learned something from it.

    Alam mo, baka di masarap ang ulam nila kaya ayaw sumabay….

    Reply
  • 4. niceheart  |  June 12, 2006 at 10:28 pm

    Sesame, you do need a lot of self discipline to work at home. And I guess I have that. Otherwise, I won’t be successful in what I’m doing.

    Bing, that’s true. They both have their pros and cons. And it’s really a matter of preference. Number 10 is the number one reason I am not enjoying my stay at the office.

    Myepinoy, siguro nga hindi masarap ang ulam. As if I care. What’s more important is their company, di ba? And yeah, I have learned a few things. One of which is a new appreciation for the chance of being able to work at home. This is what I really want.

    Reply
  • 5. jairam  |  June 13, 2006 at 1:38 am

    Better to concentrate on the good na lang para laging inspired to go to work😉

    Reply
  • 6. domestic rat  |  June 13, 2006 at 9:59 am

    I can’t help but agree that waking up early at 530am to get ready for work is a drag.

    Reply
  • 7. Toe  |  June 13, 2006 at 11:44 am

    I wish I could work at home. I imagine that I’ll just be in shorts and slippers all day… I’m sure I’d be more creative and productive… I hate wearing shoes. 🙂

    Yeah… I hate it too when co-workers eat in their offices or cubicles. What? Are they working during lunchtime? Diba dapat break muna para mas productive pag work-time na?

    Reply
  • 8. vina  |  June 13, 2006 at 9:47 pm

    oh, yes, working at home. that would just be fantastic, but i think it also takes a lot of motivation and concentraction to work at home, and it’s great that you are able to do that!

    i linked you up nga po pala!

    Reply
  • 9. niceheart  |  June 13, 2006 at 11:14 pm

    Jairam, good advice, but the environment in our Department is not very appealing right now.

    DR, it really is.

    Toe, they stop working at lunch time, but they just stay in their desks to eat. I agree that we are given breaks to use them. They are like catnaps that boost our energies, di ba? Especially now that we are swamped with work and almost everybody is working extra hours.

    Vina, it is really great for me. I’m loving it!

    Reply
  • 10. chapter fable lost trainer  |  January 19, 2007 at 10:00 am

    chapter fable lost trainer

    gimmemoney 566619 Books about chapter fable lost trainer.

    Reply
  • […] 18th, 2007 I was at the office last week to attend a townhall meeting.  Our office is located downtown at the corner of Main […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tweet!


