Going back to the office

May 28, 2006 at 10:41 pm 21 comments

I’m going back to the office for a three-week training in our new system.  Then I’ll be back at home. 

Once in a while, the Work-at-Home Staff are invited to come to the office for meetings or luncheons but this is the first time that we are going to be there the whole day working for three weeks.   

I think I am more anxious than excited.  Although I have been preparing my three kids for the changes that will be happening, I don’t look forward to getting up at 5:30 in the morning and dragging them out of bed.  One of the reasons I signed up to work at home was to avoid that rush in the morning.  It could be really stressful. 

But perhaps I am worrying too much.  The kids are all five years older now.  We just have to go to bed earlier, have a good sleep and hopefully there will be no tantrums in the morning. 

No more leisurely breakfasts that takes time to eat.  We usually have hot noodle soup and croissants or rice, eggs and hotdogs.  And forget about pancakes.  I won’t have time to cook.  We’ll probably just all have cereal in the morning.  But we’ll see. 

I also had my hair cut shorter to have less time blowing it dry in the morning.   

One other thing I had to do to prepare was to go through my closet and find out if I have enough work clothes to wear.  I had to try clothes on to see if they still fit, even ones that haven’t seen the light of day in five years.  It was like déjà vu all over again of that time when I was getting ready to come back to work after my last maternity leave.  That time, I needed a whole new wardrobe.  I let myself go after I had the third baby.  I frantically exercised just to get back to my previous shape.  But it didn’t work.  I had to buy new clothes.  I didn’t want to do that now because I’ll be there for three weeks only.  I am lucky this time, I can still wear some of my clothes.  Although they fit quite just snugly.  I may have to buy a couple of new tops and pants.   

And I also wonder if I’ll have time to blog and bloghop.  Now that I have to get up early, I can’t go to bed at 1:00 a.m. anymore, right?  We’ll see.

Entry filed under: Detour, Working at home. Tags: .

My Life’s Simplest Pleasures The First Week

21 Comments Add your own

  • 1. work-in-progress  |  May 29, 2006 at 12:33 am

    I can sympathize with the stress of going back to work. Am going back in August after a one-year leave and am not looking forward to it at all! However, once you’re there it will be fine. The hardest part is the first day. Good luck and have fun!

    Reply
  • 2. Toe  |  May 29, 2006 at 6:27 am

    Good luck Niceheart! The thing that I hate most about going to work is waking up in the morning too. πŸ™‚ The thing I like most is having colleagues to talk to.

    Reply
  • 3. ann  |  May 29, 2006 at 6:36 am

    After 12 years of staying at home. I don’t kow if I can still manage to go back to office work with my 3 kids around. I also hate waking up early in the morning.

    God bless!

    Reply
  • 4. sesame  |  May 29, 2006 at 7:59 am

    Well, there’s some getting used to but I suppose everything will fall into place nicely. Anyway, 3 weeks isn’t too long considering you’ll be kept busy. Hehe…I tell ya. Unless you have keep yourself awake in the middle of the night, very hard to blog as frequent or visit blogs that much.

    Reply
  • 5. Eric  |  May 30, 2006 at 12:21 am

    I once worked for a company whose main office was in New Jersey, but I was fortunate enough to have my request granted to have an office in Manhattan instead. Be that as it may, I dreaded having to commute to our New Jersey office every now and then for meetings and whatnot.

    I can imagine how anxious you are since it entails a three-week period. Be that as it may, I’m sure things will turn out fine.

    Reply
  • 6. domestic rat  |  May 30, 2006 at 1:42 am

    3 weeks aint long. You can always blog whenever u cant get to sleep…

    Reply
  • 7. Sidney  |  May 30, 2006 at 8:18 am

    Good luck!
    Three weeks will pass by very quickly!

    We all wake up very early in the morning. Around 5 am. My son sleeps at 7pm and as such gets plenty of sleep.
    Getting up early gives you wonderful long days. At 9am I feel like the morning might be over already while in fact it is only 9am…πŸ™‚

    Reply
  • 8. niceheart  |  May 30, 2006 at 8:23 pm

    Thanks for the comments guys.

    Work-in-progress, I had a hard time the first day because I didn’t get enough sleep.

    Toe, yeah, it was nice talking to “people.”

    Reply
  • 9. niceheart  |  May 30, 2006 at 8:25 pm

    Ann, I also hate waking up early.

    Eric, I don’t mind my commute. It’s only 10 minutes long.πŸ™‚

    Reply
  • 10. niceheart  |  May 30, 2006 at 8:27 pm

    Sesame, looks like I still manage to find time to visit blogs and at least check my messages.πŸ™‚

    DR, I don’t have problem about going to sleep. I was so tired after the first day.πŸ™‚

    Reply
  • 11. niceheart  |  May 30, 2006 at 8:28 pm

    Sidney, that's the thing with getting up early. The day seems to be longer.

    We are only having supper by 7pm.  And it's not even dark by 9pm here this time of the year.  Hard to go to bed if it's still light outside. But so far, I have successfully put the kids to bed by 9pm.

    Reply
  • 12. jane  |  May 31, 2006 at 4:09 am

    I hate waking up early too. Just think of the possibility of gaining friends in the office, I think that’s enough reason to cheer you upπŸ™‚

    Reply
  • 13. PhilippinePhil  |  May 31, 2006 at 8:42 am

    I LOVE long hair… the only thing I ask of my wife is to keep it at least below the shoulders…. must be a guy thing. Does that make me terrible?

    Reply
  • 14. bingskee  |  May 31, 2006 at 10:08 am

    you’ll get by, am sure. it is always difficult for first timersπŸ™‚

    Reply
  • 15. niceheart  |  May 31, 2006 at 10:50 pm

    Jane, I’ve already made new friends.πŸ™‚

    Phil, I don’t think that’s terrible. I also like my hair long, especially during the winter and when I am just at home. But it just takes time to blow dry long hair in the morning and time is very important for a very busy working mom like me.πŸ™‚

    HI Bing, I am getting by. Anyway, it’s only for three weeks.πŸ™‚

    Reply
  • 16. myepinoy  |  June 1, 2006 at 1:51 am

    Good Luck Niceheart. There are trade-offs when you work but am sure you know what is best for you and your family.

    Kaya mo yan. Ikaw pa.

    Again Good Luck and God BLESS YOU.

    Reply
  • 17. mmy-lei  |  June 1, 2006 at 9:22 am

    goodluck on your new routine! im sure your body clock will change and you will still find time to blog, what’s more, you could even blog about your new environment.

    God Bless

    Reply
  • 18. niceheart  |  June 1, 2006 at 11:12 pm

    Thanks, myepinoy. I know I can handle this. Para bang ang bigat na challenge ano?πŸ™‚

    Thanks also, mmy-lei. Yeah, I did find time to blog and found another source of blog material. he he he.

    Reply
  • 19. Journey to Honeyville » The First Week  |  June 1, 2006 at 11:14 pm

    […] The week is not yet over but I can say that it hasn’t been that bad.  I didn’t have a hard time getting up early the first day, but it had been so hard trying to keep awake in the training room.  We learned about the theories of the new system in our workflow and although our facilitator was an upbeat kind of person, it didn’t keep me from almost falling asleep.  Go figure.  I only had four hours of sleep the night before.  But I easily learned my lesson.  I made sure I went to bed early the following night.  […]

    Reply
  • 20. vina  |  June 4, 2006 at 8:25 am

    wow. three kids. a job. personal issues. there’s only one word to describe you: Superwoman!

    Reply
  • 21. niceheart  |  June 4, 2006 at 11:35 pm

    Vina, if I’m Superwoman, then why do I feel exhausted?πŸ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tweet!


