Getting to know me

May 24, 2006 at 11:14 pm 15 comments

A few weeks ago, I was out with my kids and my youngest son, Ryland, begged that we drop by the Dollarama store so he could buy me a present.  So I obliged.  He was worried that I would know what he was gonna buy.  “That’s okay, Ryland,” I said.  “It’s the thought that counts.”  When we got home, he told me not to open them until my birthday. 

Today is my special day, and I got to open my presents this morning.  They’re only a dollar each, but he picked them out himself and I think they’re cute.  And isn’t he just the sweetest thing? 

Also, in my inbox, I received a video-clip from my oldest niece, Agnus.  She strung together pictures of my family and accompanied it with the song “Good Mother.”  I’ve never heard it before but I was touched not only by the lyrics but also by the gesture of my dear 18-year old niece.  This is my favourite  stanza: 

I’ve got money in my pocket
I like the colour of my hair
I’ve got a friend who loves me
Got a house, I’ve got a car
I’ve got a good mother
And her voice is what keeps me here. 

Sis also bought me a DQ ice cream cake and her kids brought it to the house singing me a Happy Birthday.  Later on I heard Ryan singing Happy Birthday softly while I was cutting the cake. I don’t usually make a fuss about my birthday and I don’t usually get gifts (except my big one last year), but it’s simple things like these that mean a lot to me.  By the way, my nephews and nieces call me Tita (auntie) Irene. 

I’ve seen this tag/meme on a few blogs that I visit.  I thought I’d give it a shot.  I have been thinking of doing a list of 40 things about me anyway.  This is easier and a lot more fun.   

Here are 20 random facts about me: 

1.       I was named after the hospital where I was born.

2.       I have lived in 12 different addresses.

3.       I have attended ten different schools.

4.       I gave my High School crush a record of the song “When I’m Gone.” 

5.       I’ve always had a perm throughout my college years that my classmates thought I had naturally wavy hair.

6.       I had a disastrous perm just before I got married.  That was the last time I ever had a perm.

7.       My first job in Canada was at McDonald’s Restaurant.

8.       I had a 24-inch waistline when I was 24.  Not anymore.

9.       I have been mistaken for a Vietnamese a couple of times, by of all people, Vietnamese.

10.   I can’t talk on the phone and watch TV at the same time.  I can only pay attention to one.

11.   I love chocolates.  I always have some stashed in my desk drawer.

12.    My middle son always corrects me when I say the words toboggan, stadium and insulin.  I always forget how to pronounce these words correctly.

13.   I like mushy movies and I cry watching them.  That’s why I like watching them alone.

14.   I fell in love with Russell Crowe on The GladiatorJoshua Jackson (Pacey) on Dawson’s Creek, and Tom Welling on Smallville.  I have gotten over the first two, but not Tom because his show is still on.

15.   I have a poster of Ricky Martin in my workstation.

16.   I usually go to bed at 1:00 a.m. 

17.   I sewed our sofa covers (3 sets) and dining chair covers (2 sets).

18.   I try not to judge a book by its cover.

19.   I think that we should always count our blessings.

20.   My most memorable birthday so far was last year’s, when I turned the big 4-0.   

Wanna give this a try?

Entry filed under: About Me, Special Occasions. Tags: .

My Love Affair with Books My Life’s Simplest Pleasures

15 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sidney  |  May 26, 2006 at 3:53 am

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY !
    Have a wonderful day! Wish you many many birthdays to come!
    Be happy & enjoy life!
    You have a sweet son! This is very kind and thoughtful of him !

    Reply
  • 2. sesame  |  May 26, 2006 at 7:37 am

    10 different schools? Whoa, in different countries or cities?

    I like chocolates too, but I definitely cannot sew like you.

    Reply
  • 3. ann  |  May 26, 2006 at 9:52 am

    I wonder what’s your waistline now that you are 41 yrs old.

    Happy Happy Birthday Irene! May you have many many more to come. God bless!

    Reply
  • 4. Toe  |  May 26, 2006 at 10:13 am

    Niceheart! Happy Happy Birthday and best wishes to you! I don’t know how to pronounce toboggan either. I don’t even know if I spelt it right. Heck! I don’t know what it is even! 🙂

    Reply
  • 5. mmy-lei  |  May 26, 2006 at 3:25 pm

    Happy Birthday Irene!

    Reply
  • 6. niceheart  |  May 26, 2006 at 8:34 pm

    Thanks, Sidney. My youngest son is really sweet. His brothers were not like that.

    Sesame, 8 schools in different cities in the Philippines. We moved a lot when I was child. And 2 schools (short term courses) here in Canada. I can never sew a single article of clothing but I did our sofa covers. Even my mother was surprised because she did not teach me how to sew. She is a seamstress.

    Reply
  • 7. niceheart  |  May 26, 2006 at 8:39 pm

    Thanks for the greetings Ann and Toe.

    Ann, it's over 24 inches but definitely not 41.🙂

    Toe, a toboggan is a sled that the kids (or adults too) ride to slide down a snowhill. You can see our picture when we went tobogganing here at this link http://catherinescorner.homestead.com/Toboggan.html.

    Reply
  • 8. Eric  |  May 26, 2006 at 9:31 pm

    Belated HAPPY BIRTHDAY!

    May you have many more to come!

    I would have been able to greet you in time, but my laptop was still over at a service center.

    Reply
  • 9. niceheart  |  May 27, 2006 at 12:07 am

    Thank you Eric. Late na rin naman akong nag-post.🙂

    Reply
  • 10. bingskee  |  May 27, 2006 at 8:24 am

    10 schools – pang- Guiness, a. about your no. 10 – we are so much the same.

    Reply
  • 11. niceheart  |  May 27, 2006 at 9:49 am

    Bing, about number 10, do you think it’s because we both have a short attention span?🙂

    Reply
  • 12. domestic rat  |  May 27, 2006 at 10:25 pm

    Wohooohoo… Ricky Martin? Now I know what can get you grooving on the dancefloor!

    Reply
  • 13. niceheart  |  May 28, 2006 at 12:12 am

    DR, at the height of Ricky’s career, my youngest son was just starting to talk and he would point out to the poster and call him Dada. I would tell him that it was not his daddy.🙂

    Reply
  • 14. ajay  |  May 30, 2006 at 8:59 pm

    Impressive Irene. I can never sew for the life of me:)

    Reply
  • 15. niceheart  |  May 30, 2006 at 10:22 pm

    Thanks for the greetings, mmy-lei.

    Ajay, but I can only sew those seat covers and nothing else.🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tweet!


