First Communion

May 15, 2006 at 11:33 pm 10 comments

Originally posted on Tuesday, May 9, 2006

Communion024[1]
Last January, Ryland and the rest of the Level 2 Catechism Classes started the preparation for their First Communion.

First, the parents were invited to attend three meetings to guide them how to help the children understand this Sacrament. Like the one for First Reconciliation (Confession), parents were given a guidebook and the children a workbook. And so for one to two nights a week, I sat down with Ryland for about half an hour doing the lessons on his workbook.

On the first meeting, Wanda, the catechism coordinator, asked us parents to share memories of our First Communion. Hers was how she got spaghetti sauce all over her white dress. One dad was how the bread got stuck to the roof of his mouth. One mom said that all she remembered was how she wanted to get out of her dress once she got home. Another mom remembered how she had to wear this long white veil. My sister’s (her daughter is also in Ryland’s class) was how she had to memorize all these prayers and the Ten Commandments, seven deadly sins, etc. Mine was how we had to wear this gala uniform – white dress, white veil, white socks, white shoes. And the thing that stuck in my mind was thinking, “So this is what the host tastes like. It tastes like bread.” Wanda asked me how I felt about that. Was I surprised? Was I disappointed? Honestly, I couldn’t remember.

Wanda also told us about the Orthodox church. They have their Baptism, First Communion and Confirmation – all three at the same time. At the meeting, there were these two parents who belonged to the Orthodox church. They had no memory of their First Communion because they had it when they were babies. Babies were given just a very small piece of Bread. Isn’t that interesting?

The point of having the parents teach the children about Communion is to make this a special experience for them. After all, parents are every child’s first teachers and the home is their first community.  Communion021[1]

Last Saturday, the children had a retreat. On that day, they also helped make the bread that they were going to receive. It was not the traditional wafer. They made unleavened bread. After the retreat, parents and children had rehearsal at the church.

After months of preparation, the children finally had their First Communion on Sunday. They looked oh so cute and adorable. The girls in their white frilly dresses looking like little brides. And the boys, although not all of them wore suits, were in their Sunday’s best. They marched down the aisle to the altar carrying red roses and then they sat down with their families. It was a very special celebration.

Years from now, I wonder what Ryland will remember about his First Communion. Will it be that he had to memorize the Our Father, Hail Mary, Glory Be and The Creed (I Believe)? Or perhaps the nights we spent reading and learning from his workbook. Or how he had to wear his white and black suit and how he had to take off his blazer at church because it was too hot. (It was 27 C.) Or perhaps receiving the bread for the first time. Could it be how disappointed he was that he didn’t get a single toy out of his presents? Or that I said, “First Communion is not about toys.” I hope what he remembers best is the nights we spent together learning his communion lessons and also how he was surrounded by his family and how we had a feast after his First Communion.

What about you? What’s your memory of your First Communion?

Entry filed under: Memory Lane, My Sweet Ryland, Special Occasions. Tags: .

Husbands and children Secrets of Mother/Daughter Relationships

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. niceheart  |  May 15, 2006 at 11:56 pm

    These are the 11 comments from the original entry on Blogspot:

    work-in-progress said…
    I was so excited to receive the unblessed wafer during rehearsal only because, well, it was something to eat. I didn't really relate to it being the Body of Christ (but of course I didn't tell anyone that). What do I remember most about my First Holy Communion? I think that I wore perfume and that, together with my all-white dress, made the whole thing very special. It was more a sensory rather than a spiritual experience. I think perhaps Holy Communion should be introduced a little later for children to appreciate what it truly is about.

    5/10/2006 05:23:13 AM

    work-in-progress said…
    P.s. Your son looks dashing in his white coat. Congratulations niceheart!

    5/10/2006 05:26:51 AM

    Joy said…
    I don't think I remember much about my First Communion either. What I remember more was how scared I was going into my first confession. Yikes! I remember my heart beating fast as I waited my turn to go into the confessional. I think I was scared that I would forget my prayers or what to do.

    5/10/2006 01:00:26 PM

    Toe said…
    The white suit is so cute. On my First Communion, I remember that I loved those small little cards with the praying angels that I gave away to family and friends. Do they still do that now?

    5/11/2006 07:14:18 AM

    bing said…
    that i was dressed in white with a 'belo'…

    your son looked very neat in his outfit.

    5/11/2006 09:08:04 AM

    niceheart said…
    Thanks, guys, for sharing your memories.

    Toe, those little cards are not popular anymore. Four years ago, my mother ordered those cards for my middle son when he had his First Communion, and also for my oldest son and a nephew who had their Confirmation. But not this year. Mahal na siguro.🙂

    Work-in-progress, in the parish that we belong, First Confession is introduced in Grade 3. But I have asked the catechism coordinator to have my son receive that sacrament in Grade 2 (para sabay sa Communion), so did my sister whose daughter is in the same grade as my son. We just thought that they should receive the sacrament of confession before they do the communion. And I think the reason they delay the First Confession is because the children are more mature and can understand it's concept more. So I guess you have a point. Perhaps they should also delay the First Communion.

    5/11/2006 08:52:18 PM

    earthember said…
    I can't remember much about my First Communion except for the pretty white dress my granny made for me. Yes, I too was nervous when I went for my first confession, and forgot the Act of Contrition. To cover up, I went, "Bless me father for I've sinned, and then …. the the the the the the … "

    5/11/2006 10:38:05 PM

    Sidney said…
    Wow! Your son looks great in his white costume!

    I don't remember much …😦

    5/12/2006 08:19:19 AM

    Ann said…
    I don't remember much about it. What I still remember was my first confession….i'm curious about that bread of life.

    Happy mother's day!

    5/12/2006 10:34:07 PM

    niceheart said…
    Thanks for the comments, guys. I guess most of us remember our First Confession more than our First Communion.

    5/13/2006 10:17:19 PM

    Hsin said…
    I converted as an adult, so my experiences are different. But I can say that I too remember my first confession as a harrowing experience. Somehow I couldn't remember the Act of Contrition either…

    5/15/2006 02:18:33 AM

    Reply
  • 2. Journey to Honeyville » The Price of my Vanity  |  May 18, 2006 at 9:13 am

    […] For ten days, I walked around with band-aids on my face.  There was a point when I asked myself, what have I gotten myself into?  My youngest son was going to be celebrating his First Communion and I might end up with these band-aids on my face on that special day. I wondered what people thought.  But nobody asked what happened to my face except for Wanda, the catechism coordinator.  I told her that I had my moles removed.  “This is the price of my vanity,” I said.  “No,” she said.  “It could be malignant you know.” […]

    Reply
  • 3. 38 Questions « Journey to Honeyville  |  November 2, 2007 at 11:13 pm

    […] What happened to you in 2006?  We have two special events in 2006.  My youngest son received his First Communion and my middle son received the sacrament of Confirmation. 5. What was the last thing you said out […]

    Reply
  • 4. Diane  |  April 8, 2011 at 8:43 pm

    did you get your First Communion invitations site free of charge? I am looking for free ones and cant find any online

    Reply
  • 5. terri  |  August 9, 2013 at 10:11 pm

    I made my first communion at age 8 and my parish required the whole nine yards for us girls.it was the poofy communion dress,veil gloves,tights and the mary janes.we had to wear a cloth diaper and rubber pants under our tights and thats the most painful memory i have of my first communion day.the diaper fit me comfortable but the rubber pants had to be toddler size and they fit me tight and the leg openings dug into my hip joints and caused me pain the whole time.when we got home,i went right to my room and took my tights off and the rubber pants and the diaper.i was so releived to be free of the pain! thats my memory of my first communion day!

    Reply
  • 6. paige D.  |  September 17, 2013 at 10:00 am

    To terri- I made my first communion at age 10 and had to wear the full outfit like you did only we didnt have to wear the cloth diaper,instead just the rubber pants under our tights.Since i was petite for my age,mom got toddler size rubber pants for me and they fit me fairly well and i wore the outfit the whole day and at bedtime when i took the outfit off,i was all broken out in a rash from the rubber pants.she went and calamine lotion and rubbed on me and that took care of the rash.

    Reply
  • 7. hannah  |  January 5, 2014 at 5:33 pm

    I made my first communion in 3rd grade and us girls had to wear the white dress,veil,lace socks and white “mary jane’ shoes.like Diane,we to had to wear a cloth diaper and rubber pants under our dresses.Our mom”s made the diaper for us and our parish sold the white youth size rubberpants and they had to be bought in i or two sizes bigger so as to fit us somewhat loose over our diaper.the rubberpants were just baby rubberpants only bigger.our diaper had to be pinned on us with regular baby diaper pins.

    Reply
  • 8. Holly M.  |  May 22, 2014 at 8:18 am

    I am 14 and in 8th grade.i made my fhc in 2nd grade and i too had to wear the communion dress,veil,gloves tights and mary jane shoes and we had to also wear the cloth diaper and rubberpants under our tights.I was just confirmed on may 4th and had to wear the same outfit only our dresses had to be ankle length and poofy.we had to again wear the diaper and rubberpants under our tights for the day.

    Reply
  • 9. katherine  |  January 20, 2016 at 11:34 am

    Our daughter is 14 and will finially be making her First holy communion on sunday May 1 this year with the class of 2016.She is going to wear the poofy communion dress and veil with tights and white mary jane shoes.The girls wear the traditional diaper and rubberpants under their tights,so the daughter is gong to wear a disposable diaper with the rubberpants over it,instead of the cloth diaper.Then,her eighth grade confirmation is on May 22 and she has to wear the outfit again per the parish dress code and will wear the disposable diaper and rubberpants again under the tights.All the confirmation girls have to wear the white dresses and veils with the tights and diaper and rubberpants.

    Reply
  • 10. Josey  |  February 18, 2016 at 11:53 am

    To katherine-Our daughter is 13 and will be making her First Communion on may 15 and we are going to do the cloth diaper and rubberpants on her when we dress her in her outfit.I have her diaper all ready made,it was made from a package of the gerber cloth diapers sewn together to make one diaper and will be pinned on her with diaper pins.her rubberpants we got from babypants.com in adult size and they will fit loose over the diaper.her communion dress is poofy and she will have the veil with the lace anklets and white shoes.The cloth diaper and rubberpants and white under shirt is the normal underwear worn by the girls under their communion dresses so she will be in them for her party also.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tweet!


