Winterpeg sights

February 15, 2006 at 11:31 pm 9 comments

Winnipeg has been nicknamed Winterpeg because of its cold and long winters. We are now in the deep freeze having temperatures of minus 28 C and windchill of minus 32. Brrr…. Here are some sights that are common here in the winter.

Plugs (and extension cords) sticking out of cars.

Mountains of snow.

Shoveled pathway walled by a pile of snow.

Drinks chilling on the snow.

Foggy eyeglasses. This happens when you’re outside in the frigid weather and then get inside a heated shelter. It’s such a hassle to wear glasses.

 

Entry filed under: Winnipeg, Winter, Winterpeg. Tags: .

Tagged Ryland’s Birthday Party

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. X-Pat Files  |  February 16, 2006 at 9:38 am

    What they say is true: It’s so cold in Canada. And you even live in “Winterpeg.”

    I like the photos you posted here, especially the last two. I like super cold drinks (you have an instand fridge there) and I wear eyeglasses so I know how your son feels, hehe.🙂

    Reply
  • 2. ren  |  February 16, 2006 at 10:33 am

    I spent my 2003-04 winter in Winnipeg, and I believe it was one of the coldest in 20 years. the below 50 temp experience is unforgettable.

    incidentally, we are experiencing the coldest day of the season right now here in edmonton. it was a nice +12 last weekend, but now it is a frigging -28, and a windchill of -42!

    Reply
  • 3. e*ember  |  February 16, 2006 at 12:48 pm

    -28 degrees C? Okay, I’d better not complain about my 3-5 degrees here. Haha.

    But the snow looks very inviting though.

    Reply
  • 4. Sidney  |  February 16, 2006 at 7:01 pm

    I don’t know how you guys are surviving those cold weather. I guess I would never go out of my house. I would stay the whole day near (or in ) the fireplace !🙂
    I send you a warm Manila breeze with this comment !🙂
    Take care !

    Reply
  • 5. BW  |  February 17, 2006 at 11:09 am

    I guess the warm wind found its way in Toronto this time around. We had the warmest January in 100 years! Global warming where are you?

    Reply
  • 6. bing  |  February 18, 2006 at 2:17 am

    wow, freezing cold! i cannot survive that. sobra akong maginawin.

    i once wore eyeglasses and i know the feeling…

    belated happy heart’s day to you!

    Reply
  • 7. Hsin  |  February 18, 2006 at 7:32 am

    Urgh, I feel cold just looking at your pictures. Guess I shouldn’t brag, but 20 plus deg celcius is really more my style. *grin* That said, I’m sure I get several times more pollution that you in Winterpeg!

    Reply
  • 8. Journey to Honeyville »  |  July 11, 2006 at 6:10 pm

    […] Canada is known to be one of the coldest country in the world.  A high school classmate asked me three years ago, in an email,  if we all live in igloos.  Of course, I said no.   In a guest appearance at The Ellen DeGeneres Show, Ray Romano explained to her that Canadian Idol is like American Idol with sweaters. Ha ha.  Please let me correct him.  Canadian Idol is on in the Summer.  So no sweaters. As much as Winnipeg is nicknamed Winterpeg because of its long and cold winters, it doesn’t mean that it’s winter here all year long.  We also have Spring and Summer and we experience warm temperatures.  Actually, we get extreme temperatures from both ends of the thermometer – minus 40C in the winter to plus 40C in the summer.   Last winter, I posted a few Winterpeg sights (or click here if you are unable to view the pics).  But all that snow melts, Spring comes and temperatures get warmer and flowers bloom. You know it’s summer in Winnipeg when:  […]

    Reply
  • 9. desiring to escape winterpeg  |  January 12, 2007 at 2:21 pm

    well today it was -38, -48 with the windchill. good lord that is uninhabitable for human beings. i’m also guessing winterpeg must have a high suicide rate. i know i want to slit my throat…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tweet!


