Unconditional love

June 19, 2005 at 11:37 pm 2 comments

I was very fond of my father when I was a little girl. I was “Papa’s girl.” I was devastated when my parents had to separate when I was the tender age of 12. I was torn when I was made to choose to live with only one parent. I chose to live with my mother and sister. I knew it was the right decision but I felt that I betrayed Papa. That decision haunted me during my teenage years. I was 17 when I wrote this letter. I am now 40 and sometimes I still weep when I read it. My heart still breaks for the 17-year-old me. This is the reason why I struggle everyday to keep my marriage work. I don’t want my kids to go through what I went through. This is the reason why, when my kids say, “I don’t like Daddy,” when he’s being unreasonable, that I quickly reply, “Of course you do (like Daddy).”

View the English version.

View the entire letter here.

Entry filed under: Memory Lane. Tags: .

Rainy days and mosquitoes Our small miracle

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Merve  |  June 20, 2005 at 12:54 am

    http://amerve.blogspot.com/

    Reply
  • 2. Journey to Honeyville » How I’m doing as a mother  |  June 13, 2006 at 10:43 pm

    […] There was also a time when I didn’t think that my mother was doing the right things in life – the right decisions, not just for herself but also for both my sister and me.  But she had it tough.  She was in a difficult position being a single parent. And I never really thought of it as her not being a good mother.  My mother was a very hardworking person.  She still is.  I have always held her in high regard although we had our misunderstandings and falling-apart especially when I was still a teen-ager.  […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tweet!


