Let’s play ball

April 16, 2005 at 10:03 pm 2 comments

I have always talked about how Ryan is into basketball. He watches it on TV. He plays it outside in the backyard. He plays it inside the house. About a couple of months ago, he said, “I want to be a basketball player when I grow up.” Fearing that he was serious, I told him, “But basketball is just a hobby, Ryan.” He replied, “I could earn lots of money if I get drafted.” To which Reggie said, “But you have to be good. You’re not good.” I felt guilty after that conversation. I know that as a parent, I have to support whatever my child’s dreams are. Just as I am supporting Reggie with his music, which wouldn’t be my first choice if it was up to me.

I wanted Ryan to have an outlet for his passion. So when Spring Season opened, I signed him up for the Basketball League. “Me too, Mommy,” said Ryland. Yeah, I signed up Ryland as well. They started practice this week. I didn’t really know much about basketball but I have learned a lot this week while watching Ryan and Ryland practise. I learned about dribbling, passing, lay-ups and defense. I learned about the different positions – point guard, right and left wings, right and left posts. The dad who was sitting beside R and me on the bench during Ryan’s practice said, “Is that your son? He has smooth moves. He’s good.” I beamed.

Today was the first game of the season. Ryan’s and Ryland’s games were both at the same time at different schools. I wasn’t there at Ryan’s first game, but I asked Reggie to video-tape it. R went with them. I was at Ryland’s first game. It was very entertaining to watch 7- and 8-year olds play basketball. Most of them were inexperienced and they made a lot of mistakes such as shooting the ball in the wrong basket. But hey, that’s okay. It wasn’t really much as a competition but more of just having fun.

Entry filed under: Basketball, Life is a game, My guilt trip, Ryan in the middle. Tags: .

Sick and shut in My chocolate chip muffin

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Journey to Honeyville » How I’m doing as a mother  |  June 13, 2006 at 10:49 pm

    […] I let them join the different activities that they are interested in.  Like for instance, last year, my two younger boys signed up for the Spring Basketball League.  And Reggie is always joining different jazz and band camps and attending and performing in jazz concerts.  I want them to be happy, but at the same time, going to these activities can sometimes make me exhausted especially if they’re happening one after the other.     […]

    Reply
  • […] Well, anyway, I thought that there could be a chance that Brad would show up at the Raptors game last night. Although I’m not a fan, I thought it would have been cool to see a movie star in person. But he wasn’t there. And yes, the Toronto Raptors and Portland Trailblazers were also in town. My 11-year old son, Ryan, who is into basketball, and many other Winnipeggers had been anticipating for months in watching the only Canadian team in the NBA play at the MTS Centre. Ryland and I went with Ryan to watch the pre-season game. This was our first time to watch a live professional basketball game and our first time to be inside the MTS Centre arena. […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tweet!


