The flatter the land, the harder the rock

April 3, 2005 at 11:16 pm 2 comments

I watched the Junos only because it was held here. I like the host, Brent Butt, comedian and star of Corner Gas , and who appeared first in a KISS-like outfit and played a double-necked guitar. He later changed to a tuxedo. And isn’t that cool to see the red carpet on Portage Avenue. I don’t usually watch the Junos. I am not familiar with Canadian artists except for a few such as Celine Dion, Diana Krall, Avril Lavigne, K.D. Lang, Alannis Morissette and Shania Twain. Two years ago, I only watched Shania’s opening number.

I enjoyed the performance of the barefoot K.D. Lang of “Hallelujah,” accompanied by the Symphony Orchestra. I was surprised that she wore a dress/skirt. She got a big applause from the audience and she said, “Thank you, thank you. Much too kind here in Winnipeg.” She then followed it with “Helpless,” which she dedicated to the absent Neil Young, who’s still in the hospital recovering from surgery.

It was also cool to see Kalen Porter, the current Canadian Idol, play the violin. Or is it the viola? The show ended with a tribute to Winnipeg with Randy Bachman and Burton Cummings (both from this city) performing “Taking Care of Business.”

Entry filed under: Books, movies, music, TV, Winnipeg. Tags: .

He touched lives Spring forward

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Downtown Winnipeg - Portage Avenue « Journey to Honeyville  |  September 27, 2006 at 12:31 am

    […] This is the MTS Centre.  Eaton’s Place, another old department store, used to occupy this place but it has been demolished in 2003, much to the dismay of many patrons, to give way to this new architectural delight as another step in giving downtown a more contemporary look.  Construction of the new building took at least about a year and MTS Centre opened its doors in November 2004.  Since then, it has been the host to many sports and entertainment events.  The first time I entered its arena was when my two younger boys and I watched the Toronto Raptors play against the Portland Trailblazers in October 2005.  The 2005 Juno Awards was also held here.  It’s the equivalent of the Grammy Awards in the U.S.  Some of the famous entertainers that had concerts here are Cher, Green Day, Black Eyed Peas, Avril Lavigne, BackStreet Boys, Paul Anka, Gwen Stefani, Bryan Adams, Crosby Stills Nash & Young.  And most recently, Mariah Carey and Red Hot Chili Peppers.  When I heard that James Blunt is coming on October 31, I almost bought a ticket, but it is on Halloween night and my kids, well at least my youngest one, needs me that night to go trick or treating.  So no can do.  Well, anyway, I only really like one of his songs, You’re Beautiful.  I just love his haunting voice.  […]

    Reply
  • 2. niceheart  |  February 6, 2007 at 10:54 pm

    I found a clip of KD Lang’s performance of Hallelujah posted in this Manitoban blogger’s site. It’s worth checking out.

    http://canadabonafide.blogspot.com/2007/01/kd-lang.html

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tweet!


