At seventeen

January 22, 2005 at 9:31 pm 1 comment

My niece A turned 17.

When A was born, I was jealous of sis. She was 2 ½ years younger than me and there she was married and a mother. When I first saw and held A, I thought, if I could have a baby even just as half as beautiful as her, I’d feel blessed. Seventeen years and three babies later, I feel more than blessed.

I learned the truth at 17…
…that love was not just for beauty queens
…that love hurts just as much as it excites
…that bad actions can have bad consequences

At 17, I ran away from my aunt’s house to reunite with my father. It had bad consequences but I didn’t regret it. I don’t recommend it though.

Entry filed under: Memory Lane. Tags: .

Ing Luxury or necessity? I say it’s an option

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Unconditional love « Journey to Honeyville  |  November 3, 2007 at 11:02 pm

    […] right decision but I felt that I betrayed Papa. That decision haunted me during my teenage years. I was 17 when I wrote this letter. I am now 40 and sometimes I still weep when I read it. My heart still […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tweet!


