A lesson in giving

December 16, 2004 at 9:35 pm Leave a comment

It was Blake’s turn to come over. He came at around 6:00 p.m. I let them play in my bedroom as Reggie was already practicing his flute in their bedroom. When we were all downstairs waiting for his mom, Ryland offered Blake the Pot of Gold chocolates. Blake picked the rectangular signature piece. That was Ryland’s favourite. The other day, I ate the other signature piece. Ooops! I told him that there was another one on the bottom layer and he could have that one. So when Blake took a bite of the chocolate, I watched for Ryland’s reaction. He didn’t react.

Blake’s mom came at around 7:30 p.m. When they were gone, Ryland started to cry.

Ryland: Blake ate my chocolate. Hoo hoo.

Mom: (Uh oh!) That’s okay. I’ll buy some more next week.

Ryland: But he ate my favourite.

Mom: That’s okay, because he’s your friend. Sometimes we give our friends our favourites.

Entry filed under: Raising the 3Rs. Tags: .

Of dark lines, languages and relating to boys He still needs me

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tweet!


