That’s too bad

December 9, 2004 at 9:30 pm Leave a comment

I came home and worked some more. The kids and I had to leave at 6:15 p.m. I made them eat supper at 5:30 p.m. They were all coming to watch the concert. R didn’t want to come. What else is new? When I was getting dressed, I heard Ryan and Ryland fighting. Ryland started to cry. I was already stressed as it was and I couldn’t take it. If we were not leaving, I would have let it go. But it was Ryland’s concert and I didn’t want him to have puffy eyes while performing. So I lost it. I shouted and made both of them come up. I tried to make Ryland stop crying. He said that Ryan was singing a song about him. So I reprimanded Ryan. Amica and Gaudie were also performing this night. A came with us, too. I videotaped the concert. Ryland looked so tired. It was a good concert, though.

When we were walking home…

Ryland: Gage wasn’t there.

Mom: Why?

Ryland: His mom is working.

Mom: What about his dad?

Ryland: I think he doesn’t have a dad.

Mom: Oh, that’s too bad.

Kids here in North America are exposed to different family arrangements, unlike when I was growing up in the Philippines. I couldn’t talk about my parents’ separation with my classmates because it was sort of taboo and it was hard to explain to people about our situation. But here, kids are able to talk freely about these issues with their friends.

Entry filed under: Raising the 3Rs. Tags: .

You can do anything My Sentiments

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tweet!


