Thank you God

December 6, 2004 at 11:17 pm 1 comment

Ryland was reading the Early Reader’s Bible. He likes to read so much that he’ll start reading anything. (Mana yan sa Mommy.)

Ryland: Long ago there was no world, no sun, no moon, no stars. I will make the world, God said. So God made the world. I will make the sun, God said. So God made the sun.

Mom: Did you understand what you read?

Ryland: God made the sun. Yey!

His bright eyes were wide open. He had that sweet open-mouthed smile on his face – that same smile when he tells me “You’re the best, Mommy.”

Ryland: Have you thanked God? What does that mean, Mommy?

Mom: Did you say thank you to God?

Ryland: Thank you, God. Yey!

Then he said that he’d make a present for me. He went to his bedroom so that I would not see it. It was a surprise. But I knew that he was cutting letters as he came back a couple of times. He asked me to cut a letter S and then a letter Z.

Ryland: What did you say, Mommy?

Mom: Zed

Ryland: It’s zee.

Mom: Sometimes we call it zed.

It’s so easy to teach RK to read. I remember when Ryan was just learning to read. He got frustrated easily. If I helped him sound out the words and said the words before he could, he would cry. When I let him figure it out on his own, he would also cry. Sometimes we wouldn’t finish reading a book. He would be crying and it would upset me. Then I’d feel guilty for not being patient enough. Those were difficult times for both of us. I am glad that those days were over. With Ryland, if I read a word before he did, he would just tell me, (sometimes a little bit upset) “Oh, I was gonna say that.” And he would continue reading. No tears. The next time we encountered that word, I would let him read it first. Or I would give him some time to figure out a word and I’d step right in if it took him longer than the others.

Entry filed under: Kids say the darndest things, Raising the 3Rs. Tags: .

What am I teaching him? Two more sick ones

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Journey to Honeyville » A time to reflect  |  June 4, 2006 at 10:33 pm

    […] My youngest son, Ryland, wrote this after he read the story of The Bronze Serpent (Numbers 21) in the Early Reader’s Bible last December. (Refer to December 6, 2004 entry Thank You God) […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tweet!


